12/21 Oscar 34, +7 103 skipped

josette

Member Since 2022
Oscar 34 this morning. Waited 20 min 33. Just gave him some gravy lovers. How long to wait to test again to see if it raises.

20 minutes after teaspoon he has risen to 43.
Waiting 15 minutes to test again
Now at 61
Do I continue to give gravy food?

gave another teaspoon and waited 15 minutes. New number is 49. So another teaspoon and will test in 15 minutes. How long do I do this and when can he have his regular food?

20 minutes after last test and teaspoon of food he is at 65.

how long to repeat this and can he have his regular food?
 
Last edited:
Oscar 34 this morning. Waited 20 min 33. Just gave him some gravy lovers. How long to wait to test again to see if it raises.

20 minutes after teaspoon he has risen to 43.
Waiting 15 minutes to test again
Now at 61
Do I continue to give gravy food?
Did you give insulin?
 
Just to make sure I understand correctly,
AMBG 34
+12 and 20 mins BG 33 fed gravy lovers
+12 and 40 mins BG 43
+13 BG 61

Is this correct?
 
Congrats on the reduction! Any time there is a BG in the 30s it is an immediate dose decrease. HIs new dose should be 5.5. Tagging @Bandit's Mom to confirm.
Will you be around to monitor today should you give insulin? How's his appetite? If so, lets see where Oscar is two hours after giving the high carb food. If you can't be off your schedule, then maybe skip and you can shoot at your regular time tonight.

ETA - can you update your spreadsheet with today's numbers?
 
This is a post on handling low numbers.

The issue with Lantus is that if you stall and wait for numbers to rise, you will be off schedule. Most people don't have a great deal of flexibility to have their cat's shot schedule move by even an hour. In addition, with numbers below 50, you have to give high carb to get the numbers back into a safer range. You did everything right!! Just keep in mind that the numbers are coming up courtesy of high carb food. There's good chance they may begin to drop as the high carb wears off. Please monitor to keep your cat safe.
 
Congrats on the reduction! Any time there is a BG in the 30s it is an immediate dose decrease. HIs new dose should be 5.5. Tagging @Bandit's Mom to confirm.
Will you be around to monitor today should you give insulin? How's his appetite? If so, lets see where Oscar is two hours after giving the high carb food. If you can't be off your schedule, then maybe skip and you can shoot at your regular time tonight.

ETA - can you update your spreadsheet with today's numbers?

he is gobbling up those teaspoons of gravy lovers.
His next test was 49 so will continue with teaspoon of gravy food and test again in 15

How do I put all those numbers in the spreadsheet?
 
Congrats on the reduction! Any time there is a BG in the 30s it is an immediate dose decrease. HIs new dose should be 5.5. Tagging @Bandit's Mom to confirm.
Will you be around to monitor today should you give insulin? How's his appetite? If so, lets see where Oscar is two hours after giving the high carb food. If you can't be off your schedule, then maybe skip and you can shoot at your regular time tonight.

ETA - can you update your spreadsheet with today's numbers?


How do I put all those numbers in ?
 
Congrats on the reduction! Any time there is a BG in the 30s it is an immediate dose decrease. HIs new dose should be 5.5. Tagging @Bandit's Mom to confirm.
Will you be around to monitor today should you give insulin? How's his appetite? If so, lets see where Oscar is two hours after giving the high carb food. If you can't be off your schedule, then maybe skip and you can shoot at your regular time tonight.

ETA - can you update your spreadsheet with today's numbers?


I have no idea how to put those numbers in.
 
At what point can he have his regular food?

20 minutes after the 49 and a teaspoon of gravy food he is 65.

how many times do I repeat this process?
 
Do you intend on giving insulin this cycle if he get high enough or will you just skip?
If you choose to skip, I'd feed a little less than normal of his regular meal and check again in 30 minutes.
 
So he was 65 thirty minutes ago. Just tested and presently at 73. Do I continue with the gravy food?
Looks like he's flat. Did you feed his normal food in addition to the gravy teaspoons? Since you're skipping Feed as you normally would and test again in 30-40 minutes. If the number is stable and/or rising then test again after 1 hour.
You're looking for two or more tests over th enext couple of hours where the BGs are stable or rising.
 
Looks like he's flat. Did you feed his normal food in addition to the gravy teaspoons? Since you're skipping Feed as you normally would and test again in 30-40 minutes. If the number is stable and/or rising then test again after 1 hour.
You're looking for two or more tests over th enext couple of hours where the BGs are stable or rising.

yes he has had 1/2 can of FF pate total during the last two tests with the gravy food on top. In it I just put his 1/4 teaspoon of RenaPlus potassium gluconate.


Should I continue adding gravy to his food?
 
yes he has had 1/2 can of FF pate total during the last two tests with the gravy food on top. In it I just put his 1/4 teaspoon of RenaPlus potassium gluconate.


Should I continue adding gravy to his food?
I would hold off on the gravy and see if he can coast the greens without it. Lets see where he is at the next test :cat:
 
How is Oscar feeling today? He over the pancreatitis? Good job handling those low numbers today. He's definitely earned a reduction down to 5.5 units and he's shown you the value of those mid cycle tests, or at least before be tests.

Could you update your subject line with the latest numbers to show he's safe. So change it to something like "12/21 Oscar +12 34 +15 105 skipped". So we know he's safe now.
 
How is Oscar feeling today? He over the pancreatitis? Good job handling those low numbers today. He's definitely earned a reduction down to 5.5 units and he's shown you the value of those mid cycle tests, or at least before be tests.

Could you update your subject line with the latest numbers to show he's safe. So change it to something like "12/21 Oscar +12 34 +15 105 skipped". So we know he's safe now.


Soon as I get home. Went to buy more gravy

He is doing well since his hospital stay. Came out of hiding. Eating well. Taking his meds well. Have to give sun fluids for dehydration and electrolytes. Every2-3days
 
Last edited:
@josette, I re-did your spreadsheet for today to show you how to "stack" tests and make it as easy to read as possible (he sure has been keeping you jumping!)

It's probably pretty tricky if you're using a phone. It can be done though! I've seen others do it so hopefully you can figure it out. Maybe do some "test" numbers in a cell you won't be using (I added a couple of lines after 12/31/23 so you could try it without worrying about messing up any of your current data.

I'm also going to set you up with a tab for 2024.
 
@josette, I re-did your spreadsheet for today to show you how to "stack" tests and make it as easy to read as possible (he sure has been keeping you jumping!)

It's probably pretty tricky if you're using a phone. It can be done though! I've seen others do it so hopefully you can figure it out. Maybe do some "test" numbers in a cell you won't be using (I added a couple of lines after 12/31/23 so you could try it without worrying about messing up any of your current data.

I'm also going to set you up with a tab for 2024.

thank you so much.
And when should I test again today? At +3 ?


You should see all the hypos at the hospital. I made them print me out all his numbers while on the monitor.
 
He was 103 at 1 o’clock eastern time. What I meant to say was should I test at 3:00 and put +3 by mistake.
I have so many numbers in my head I can’t count anymore.

No worries! It was the same for all of us when we first started. So many things to do, so many things to record, so many supplies to buy. Don't worry though! Eventually it becomes routine and it's no more disruptive to your life than brushing your teeth.

After China passed, it was months before I could look at a clock and see "2 o'clock" instead of "+8". Her shots were at 6am/6pm. You just get used to looking at clocks and instead of seeing the time, you see how long since the last shot!

It's already past 3 if you're eastern time so if you haven't gotten a test yet, do it at 4
 
No worries! It was the same for all of us when we first started. So many things to do, so many things to record, so many supplies to buy. Don't worry though! Eventually it becomes routine and it's no more disruptive to your life than brushing your teeth.

After China passed, it was months before I could look at a clock and see "2 o'clock" instead of "+8". Her shots were at 6am/6pm. You just get used to looking at clocks and instead of seeing the time, you see how long since the last shot!

It's already past 3 if you're eastern time so if you haven't gotten a test yet, do it at 4


So I emailed the numbers from earlier to his internist who just called. She wanted to know his clinical signs…was he seizing. No. So she says he is not hypo since no other signs and his pancreas working overtime and I need to give 8 U. I told her I could not do that and have this happen again tomorrow morning .

she got his GI panel back and the inflammation. In his pancreas has increased dramatically. Lower GI inflammation too.

shall I pull my hair out now or later..

just checked at. 4 o’clock and he is at 150

at what testing number over 200 should I give a shot and how much.

Vet now says 7 since I refused 8.
 
Last edited:
at what testing number over 200 should I give a shot and how much.

There are still 3 hours before PMPS so let's see where he's at then. You might want to get a +11.5 so you have 30 minutes to get some advice from here.

Vet now says 7 since I refused 8.

One good thing about it....your vet isn't holding the syringe, you are!

I'm wondering if he hasn't been overdosed for a long time, especially since you only recently started getting mid-cycle tests.

Has anybody suggested having him tested for acromegaly and IAA? I haven't gone back and looked through all your posts.
 
One good thing about it....your vet isn't holding the syringe, you are!

I'm wondering if he hasn't been overdosed for a long time, especially since you only recently started getting mid-cycle tests.

Has anybody suggested having him tested for acromegaly and IAA? I haven't gone back and looked through all your posts.

He was tested back in April. She said he wasn’t.. didn’t meet whatever. Could be now….do you want to test again, do a biopsy’s, endoscopy, etc, etc. I just told her tonight no more . Could be Conns , Addison, Cushings, cancer, you name it ….
V
 
One good thing about it....your vet isn't holding the syringe, you are!

I'm wondering if he hasn't been overdosed for a long time, especially since you only recently started getting mid-cycle tests.

Has anybody suggested having him tested for acromegaly and IAA? I haven't gone back and looked through all your posts.



his pm number was just 247. How much insulin should I give him. I decided on 4U to be on the safe side
 
Last edited:
Back
Top