12/21 Musette - Ok I'm convinced it was the chicken

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
After suspecting it might be the boiled chicken that started her sky rocketing on her PS and then not coming back down I stopped the treats this am....and at +10 we have GREEN I haven't seen green since I started giving her chicken instead of turkey for her testing treats.

I still have no clue why chicken would shoot her up and turkey doesn't but since DH still isn't home so if it was the stress of the change in routine that hasn't gone away, in fact she should have been more stressed than normal today as I started working with her to intergrate her into the rest of the Fur Gang now that I know she will come when I call her for testing and shots. Although her visits out into the fray were brief (15-20 minutes in the carrier) she still had all 11 civies ganging up to check out the new kid. She handled herself very well on those visits we had a few hisses but no slaps or growls, more just subtle "Back off buddy you are crowding me" type hisses and all from her.

So the tale of the tape today

AMPS#1=398
AMPS#2=354
+4=281
+6=188
+8=130
+10= 87
+11= 96
PMPS#1 =99 no first shot thinking of giving .75 if high enough to shot at pmps#2
PMPS#2 =277 .75 given
I'm almost excited to see where she tests out at what should be her first pmps, I have a feeling I will be stalling her shot tonight.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
I seem to think that it's the chicken, too. Blackie's on 0.40 oz. (I removed 0.10 oz. 2.5 days ago), and her BG's are still up there. My DH bought a Honeysuckle yesterday, turkey breast that's boneless, and I'm concerned because the packaging says that it has preservatives in it.

However, he was kind enough to buy it for me, and I'll throw it in the oven, cut it up, and see if that helps any. If anything, I love turkey. :lol:
 
Yeah after Musette's stunning run of numbers yesterday and we are back into the yellows again at amps 290 okay barely in the yellows but I will definitely take it after yesterday's 398 :-D I'm thinking chicken may be at least part of it, of course I got a good look at her mouth last night too and she is so going to need a dental after we get past the Holidays...her front teeth look really good, but her back ones are a mess, she is probably gonna loose a few when she goes to see the Dentist Vetty Bean.

I wouldn't be too worried about the presevatives because I'm sure things like Friskies and Fancy Feast have them too, but since they are pet food they aren't required to announce it to the world on the label other than in the ingredients list.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Unless you buy organic free fed chicken and pay a bundle for it, the chicken, by 'law', can have as much as 15% 'water solution' added. Most of the time, this 'added water' also has a sugar substance in it. It's all thru the chicken... :? Can't cook it out...

I agree - I think it raises KTs too.,..
 
fwiw,
We do buy locally raised organic, free range chickens (sometimes they are not even frozen because the farmer is a friend of a friend) and this is what spiked Duncan, so I can safely say that IMO chicken in general must some how be more carby than other meats.
 
SaraM2261 said:
fwiw,
We do buy locally raised organic, free range chickens (sometimes they are not even frozen because the farmer is a friend of a friend) and this is what spiked Duncan, so I can safely say that IMO chicken in general must some how be more carby than other meats.

Interesting!
 
Now see Musette did fine on the organic free range chicken that I had given her earlier it was the store bought stuff that spiked her, or at least I think she did fine on the free-range stuff...but then again it would be hard to tellback then because she was still bouncing all over the place normally back then, it wasnt until I started split-dosing her and getting those long runs of beautiful numbers that those spikes became so obvious. I was getting real use to those blues and greens and I want them back again! So more chicken for her.

We did get an added surprise last night, thanks to a snowstorm....Daddy is home 2 days earlier! Now all is right in the kitties world!

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
It is very interesting. I would love to know if certain chicken is processed in a manner that would cause this. After all we beans eat it too!!

I should say that Fancy Feast makes these "appetizers" and Duncan does fine on the chicken one, which is just shredded chicken (processed some how?) in a very light gravy.
 
Kind of makes me want to raise my own chickens if I hadn't spent summers growing up on my grandparent's farm cleaning out the chicken coop...lol. Well that and if I had to kill my own meat I would end up a vegetarian... :lol: I can't even bait my own hook, let alone clean a fish :o

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top