12/21 Mikey PMPS 221 +1 209 +2 154 +4 143 Pretty blue!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 12/21 Mikey AMPS 242

These nice yellows have been a good starting point for Mikey lately, so I hope he gives a repeat of the last couple of days.
 
Re: 12/21 Mikey AMPS 242

+2 250 BUT...when i first tested at +1 I got 327! That seemed high as breakfast was 3% and I cut the HC I added to just maybe a teaspoon from a half tablespoon. So, I tested again a few minutes later (less than five, not time enough for a significant change) and got the 250. I went with that because, based on Mikey's usual data, it seems much more reasonable.

My question is, when you get a weird number and retest right away, how do you decide which number to take as the accurate one? Should I have done a third test (and Mikey had had ENOUGH at two; he's awful about testing, even with snuggles and treats!), averaged the two (or three?) I think I generally trust my meter (Relion Micro), but It does make me wonder if other results are funky...
 
Re: 12/21 Mikey AMPS 242 +1 250 ...BUT- ?

I'd tend to go with the one that was more consistent but it's true, unless you do a 3rd test, you won't know for sure.

What do you think about holding off on the HC at PS? You can always add some if the numbers are dropping at +1.

BTW, Gabby doing it "Mikey's way..." Gabby gives diving lessons. She's quite good at it.
 
Re: 12/21 Mikey AMPS 242 +1 250 ...BUT- ?

+3 252 It seems like for every couple of good curves, Mikey has a mini-bounce to a flat yellow. I didn't think his numbers were low enough yesterday to bounce from...rats.

I've been weaning off the HC at PS. I'll cut it back a little more tonight. Mikey hasn't had a nadir below 122 since Sunday...should I be thinking about an increase?
 
Re: 12/21 Mikey AMPS 242 +1 250 +3 252 ...BUT- ?

Hi guys .. no dosing advice from us .. We always used the relion meter as well and if we ever got a number that totally threw us, we retested .. if one checked out closer to where we thought she would be, we would use that one .. on a rare occasion we would test three times .. if two were very close we'd go with those .. if they were all over the place, we'd average .. but that was just what we did ... hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 12/21 Mikey AMPS 242 +1 250 +3 252 ...BUT- ?

+5 257 Flat and yellow...par for the course every 3rd or 4th cycle. If these flat cycles are indeed mild bounces from the good cycles before, can I expect them to diminish over time as Mikey gets used to better numbers?
 
Re: 12/21 Mikey AMPS 242 +1 250 +3 252 +5 257 Mikey has a fl

Flat yellow has a reputation of preceding some nice action. On the retesting, some have found that if you retest too soon the meter doesn't have time to reset. you need to wait a couple of minutes
 
Re: 12/21 Mikey AMPS 242 +1 250 +3 252 +5 257 Mikey has a fl

I might be inclined to increase the dose. I'd probably add just a drop, though.
 
Re: 12/21 Mikey AMPS 242 +1 250 +3 252 +5 257 Mikey has a fl

That was my thought as well. I've increased his food a lot in the last couple of days in an effort to get more calories in. After preshot, his meals are generally <3% carbs, but it is more food. I'll wean him off the HC with preshot and maybe just give a 5-7% then instead of the super low, and see it that makes a difference. If I do increase, I will go to like .15-.2 Instead of two tiny drops, more like three tiny drops, or two mediums.
 
Re: 12/21 Mikey AMPS 242 +1 250 +3 252 +5 257 Mikey has a fl

+10 208 Not a bad second dip today! My vet is happy with Mikey's progress and likes his numbers pretty well after we talked today. I agree, but still hope for better! I'm going to cut out the rest of the gravy at PS over the next couple of days and see what that does. If his numbers don't improve, I'll shave his dose up to like .15 or something. I don't want to do anything drastic over a holiday weekend when the closest e-vet is 30 minutes away! I started feeding him more over the past few days, and even though everything after PS is as low-carb as possible, he still has to work on it.
 
Re: 12/21 Mikey PMPS 221 +1 209

+2 154 Pretty, pretty blue! It looks like the bounce every few days is normal for Mikey...amybe once he gets used to lower numbers, it will even out?
 
Re: 12/21 Mikey PMPS 221 +1 209 +2 154 Pretty blue!

+4 143 Not green, but not bad...I'm feeding him more, so maybe I will shave the dose up half a drop and see what we get...
 
Thanks! I think tonight's cycle was pretty good, and my vet was really pleased with his numbers over the last week. He's fitting the definition of "regulated" pretty well lately, and for that I am grateful! I just want to hit the "well regulated" and see some more green. I have to get used to the idea that a mid-blue day is NOT a bad thing, even though he's not in normal numbers for a non-diabetic. I feel like it's a bad day if we don't hit green, and that's not necessarily true. I need to accept that, even though I'm shooting for better...for now, his body is getting used to things and perhaps the blue curves will become more normal to him and not cause a bounce, and THEN we can go for more greens?

He was yawning in that photo, but I love it because he looks like something is hilarious! You need a sense of humor to live with Mikey; he's like six regular cats and in EVERYTHING at once!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top