12/21 Leo AMPS 75 PMPS 320

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Leo

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo

Yesterday's Summary
AMPS 431
+3 353
+6 363
PMPS 301 <--- should have kept my eyes open, knowing this was a slide, but I didn't realize storm was coming so didn't check +2/3. MY BAD!
+5 56 <--- won't eat, finally got bit of honey and gravy in him at +5.5 (ate only #1 dinner, not #2 or #3 from feeder)
+5.8 98 <--- won't eat
+6.3 102 <--- a little Friskies gravy
+7 (nt) <--- tad of 4%
+7.4 59 <--- forced gravy on gums
+8 62 <--- forced honey on gums
+9.5 41 <--- syringed 0.15ml honey
+10.25 50 <--- 1 tsp chicken & liver
+11 46 <--- 2 tsp chicken & liver
+12 48 <--- syringed 0.20ml honey
+13 57 <--- no food
+13.5 57 <--- think he snuck tsp of LC
+14 74 <--- no food
+14.5 75 <--- shoot


Is there any chance of an AM shot here? Stalled how much? Depends on the duration of the storm I suppose. Sigh.

Good Morning LL! BEGGING Mannie for 3 specials!!! ~O) ~O) ~O)

Countdown to Christmas, and I finished my shopping today (well, yesterday)! Thank you Amazon and Walmart (yes, I'm using the links from here and bringing the affiliate money back to FMDB! I've gotten family and friends to use the link, and my wonderful aunt donated $50 to the board! I am so glad I know about the links now. I did all my Amazon shopping, Leo's strips and lancets, and I just created an account at wag.com and am ordering all Leo's food from there.)

I am writing this at 4:30 am 6:30am... I've been up for 3 6 hours with Leo dragging in and out of the 50's. We have a rainy noisy storm and he HATES storms, so he only ate his first dinner and didn't touch #2 and #3 ... so he tanked. I've been managing him with honey and gravy with gentle force syringing. He does NOT want to eat. He BGs slid all day yesterday so this isn't a normal cycle ... not sure how far the slide will go. I have to get up at 5:45 ... crap, in 45 minutes. Laid down for 30 minutes ... 41 ... syringed honey. Ok, still up. Gonna be a LONG DAY working/errands and we have an End of the World as We Know It party tonight!!!
 
Re: 12/21 Leo PS 48

Hi guys .. uh, leo? care to explain what you're doing way down there? Come on now, bring it back up .. not too much, just a few more points and then you can surf all day! That's great you did all your shopping through the site .. this site means so much, it would be awful to see it not continue .. Have a great day guys, and since I won't be here most of next week, Merry Christmas!
 
Re: 12/21 Leo PS 48

OH Lisa, Bless your heart. And Leo's too. I hope you get some time for ZZZZZZZZZZZZZ today. It'd be awful to sleep through the end of the world party. Leo, sweetie, surf safe today.
take good care
mary and oliver
 
Re: 12/21 Leo AMBG 48

:shock: :shock: :mrgreen: Lisa, now I know why you've been up since 1:30 am!! Is this a non work day for you I hope! Come on Leo, up, up, k!!
 
Re: 12/21 Leo AMBG 48

Hi Devon - yeah. Rotten cat. But poor boy, I feel so bad when he's scared during storms! I'd love to see him surf, but not sure if I can shoot him this morning. It may be a significant stall. He got honey an hour ago, so maybe a 2 hour delay. We'll see! Merry Christmas!

Hi Mary - thank you :smile: I have to get some ZZZZs today if I have any hope of going to this party tonight! What if the world ends without me knowing?!? Have a good day!

HI Ann :-) I am working from home a half day, if I can get my darned work computer to connect to the internet. I've rebooted everything twice and it was FINE yesterday. But I have reading to do so I hope I can stay awake! Leo says Ok Aunt Ann, the storm is passing. I try to be good boy.
 
Re: 12/21 Leo AMBG 48

I wouldn't shoot this number, so good call.

I find it easier to steer the curve if I'm testing more often (i.e., every 30 min.). I have more control over the cycle. It has the added bonus of keeping you awake!

At this point, Leo's numbers warrant a reduction. If you want to give him carbs, it's fine. You want to feed the 40s even at pre-shot time.
 
Re: 12/21 Leo AMBG 48 +13 57

Hi Sienne - this was a tough cycle because he wouldn't eat. I usually test more, but didn't for a couple periods there because I knew about what the honey would do, and I didn't want him to blast off. The sun has come out so maybe he will calm down.

I honestly don't understand these reductions. He rarely hits greens, it seems, without triggering a reduction. I just don't understand this at all.

I still want to shoot this morning sometime if he decides to eat. I did not feed the +13 57.
 
Re: 12/21 Leo AMBG 48 +13 57

Holy Smokes Leo! You must've scared your bean last night! That's quite a drop! Fingers crossed that you're on the way to lower doses and eventually OTJ. (edited to add, that's not a recommendation...just a hope....we're new to this, so no qualifications for dose recommendations!)

Have a good day and hope you both get some rest. That must've been a nerve wracking evening...... :shock:
 
Re: 12/21 Leo AMBG 48 +13 57 +13.5 57 Shoot advice?

I'd like to shoot something this morning. He got a reduction. I can BCS him. We're currently 2 hours past shot time. He's had no food except an accidental tsp of low carb he snuck about 30 minutes ago. I can deal with the delay obligation.

Thoughts?
 
Re: 12/21 Leo AMBG 48 +13 57 +13.5 57 +14 74 Shoot advice?

+14 74.

Drat, I saw him sneak a bit of LC food and this may be a little spike. I'll wait another 30 minutes and if he goes up, I will shoot something.
 
Re: 12/21 Leo AMBG 48 +13 57 +13.5 57 +14 74 Shoot advice?

Leo! ZOIKES! You are one. crazy. cat!! What a long night for you both! Good work with the honey and gravy. I kinda wondered what to do if kitty got full or didn't want to eat. Learn something new every day. Hope your day goes great and have a fun time at the party!!
 
Re: 12/21 Leo AMPS 75

+14.5, just shot a full reduction 1.5u ---> 1.25u.

I had started going down by half reductions, but will take a full reduction due to his numbers and how late we are. I just hate to miss a shot. Maybe I should have, but after all of last night I know he's going to bounce through the roof, and I'd like some insulin there when that happens.

He ate all of breakfast #1 and cried to get his BG test, so his behavior is closer to normal. He's looking at the back door and active, so fingers crossed. I'll feed some higher carb food for his +1 breakfast.
 
Re: 12/21 Leo AMPS 75

Congratulations on the dose reduction. I guess you'll be able to do his PMPS tonight after The Party, now.
 
Re: 12/21 Leo AMPS 75

Wow what a morning I missed when I went btb! Congrats on the reducie and congrats on shooting! Glad you are home to monitor this morning. Hope Leo returns to "normal" for you soon!! Have a great day and hope Leo surfs nice greens for you today!
 
Re: 12/21 Leo AMPS 75

Dyana said:
Congratulations on the dose reduction. I guess you'll be able to do his PMPS tonight after The Party, now.

And THAT was part of my justification for shooting! LOL!

Thanks Michelle - I need to do a btb...but I just committed to being up all day too! I am hoping DH comes home early and I can nap before the party. Or, when Leo takes off for the stratosphere :-)
 
Re: 12/21 Leo AMPS 75 +1 105

+1 105 ... going up a little, good. Whew.

... so I bought like $200 worth of food from wag.com the other day. I randomly ordered Fancy Feasts that looked to be high carbs. I just opened this case of delicious-looking Tuscany Tuna with Rice and Beans to give Leo a carb boost just in case. I gave him some for his +1 breakfast and then read Dr. Lisa's chart ... 25% carbs!!! :oops: Not quite what I intended!
 
Re: 12/21 Leo AMPS 75 +1 105

:shock: :shock: :shock: What a night! Leo has his own way of readjusting the shot schedule, but it sounds like it worked out in the end.

OMG on the 25% food. You can mix it w/ low carb food to bring it down to a better range. There is a tab on Tess's SS where you can put in the food, amount of food, carbs, phos and calories per oz. and it will calculate the carbs, phos and calories for the mix for proportions you chose. You are welcome to down load it. Just be sure not to delete the formulas if you get rid of the foods I use. You can't just add two foods together unless they have the same kcal/oz because the % is based on calories.

i hope you can get a few little naps in.
 
Re: 12/21 Leo AMPS 75 +1 105

Wow, what a night/morning for Leo (and you, Lisa!). Congrats on the reducie. I hope that Leo will hold it and stay at or near the lagoon for a while.

Enjoy the day and the party tonight.

Ella & Rusty

Hey Leo, I've got a special surfboard all picked out for you. See ya later, man!
Rusty (LagoonMeister)
 
Re: 12/21 Leo AMPS 75 +1 105 +2.5 114

Hi Lisa, Wow quite a marathon last night and this morning! Congratulations on the reducie, hope Leo gives you some easy numbers rest of the day and you can catch up and rest up before your party.
 
Re: 12/21 Leo AMPS 75 +1 105 +2.5 114 +5 99 +7 176

HI All - I finally got my BTB at 3 this afternoon! Probably 3 hours total with 1 test in the middle.

Hi Ann and Tess - Yeah, Leo likes to stop and start on a dime. I was waiting for him to go green-BLACK but he's actually wandering through some blues first. But I'm sure I speak too soon! I did the math for someone at some point for the carb math, don't remember who, but I didn't do it for phos and the like. I kind of do a rough average in my head based on what I know he eats ... ferinstence .. the 25% ... he didn't eat any of the chunks. So it was technically higher, but less food overall, so he got some protein snax at testing (shrimp)! Thanks for the reference.

HI Ella - thanks on the reducie - I just don't understand RED-RED-PINK-RED-GREEN-REDUCIE. He dive bombs his way into reductions and then we just end up going back up. Sigh. Thanks on the party - we are getting ready now!

Rusty - lovin' the board and Hanging 10 tails! Whoooosh! Funs! ~Leo

Hi Leslie - boy, I've never run a marathon, but I ran a half marathon, and that's about what I felt before I could get some sleep this afternoon!!!
 
Re: 12/21 Leo AMPS 75 +1 105 +2.5 114 +5 99 +7 176

What a crazy night and morning for you and Leo. I hope he settles into the reduction and you don't have to go back up. Maybe he's getting used to the lower numbers since he hasn't bounced (antijinx). Have fun at the party.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top