? 12/21 Henry (Tooth Extraction) AMPS 83 PMPS 279 +3.5 227 +5.5 203

Golf2015

Member Since 2020
Henry had both Dental Cleaning and Tooth Extraction today @11:00am

Will posts several Cycles of BG readings

Vet recommended Insulin doses for today is 1/2 his usual dose (1.00 units) both AMPS & PMPS

Henry has not eaten any food as of AMPS + ==> Statement time 6:06pm

Last meal was @ PMPS +5.5 last night 12/20/2021

Still has not ate any - Statement time 7:00pm

@PMPS I gave him 2.000 units

I will be checking his BG levels @ PMPS +3.5 & +5.5

If Henry's BG levels remain high thru tomorrow @ AMPS should I increase his dose?

I also have (3) tablets of Onsior (NSAID) for pain, three is the max for a cat (1) per 24 hours
The Vet said do you want pain pills of course I said YES, I thought about giving his first one @ PMPS +5.5 which would be good for 24 hours. I worry about putting it down his mouth due to his tooth extraction. Should I do it or not???

Henry did eat a very small amount of pate (0.20oz) @ PMPS +3.5

I need you folks to watch this closely

Any thoughts welcome?

Previous Thread
 
Last edited:
I would see how he does over the next day or so before increasing, Robert. I know it's super upsetting to see the yellows, but it could also be from the reduced dose this morning and the pain and stress of the extraction. I'm not experienced when it comes to dentals and what to do with dosing in the aftermath, but I'm concerned that if you increase him too soon and he starts to feel better his BGs might plummet. You watch him carefully though so it's your call. If you do increase, I'd go no higher than to 2.25.

Once the Onsior kicks in he might feel better. I would not hesitate to give him the Onsior unless you know he has kidney disease. When I pill my cats, they swallow without chewing so it should not hurt him much. What would be better is a liquid painkiller like buprenorphine that gets absorbed in the lining of the mouth.
 
I would see how he does over the next day or so before increasing, Robert. I know it's super upsetting to see the yellows, but it could also be from the reduced dose this morning and the pain and stress of the extraction. I'm not experienced when it comes to dentals and what to do with dosing in the aftermath, but I'm concerned that if you increase him too soon and he starts to feel better his BGs might plummet. You watch him carefully though so it's your call. If you do increase, I'd go no higher than to 2.25.

Once the Onsior kicks in he might feel better. I would not hesitate to give him the Onsior unless you know he has kidney disease. When I pill my cats, they swallow without chewing so it should not hurt him much. What would be better is a liquid painkiller like buprenorphine that gets absorbed in the lining of the mouth.

Buprenorphine is a controlled drug (Opioid)

If Henry has numbers near 300 tomorrow amps I might give him 2.25 units (just this one time) but if others who are following this thread think otherwise chime in

I will give Henry the pain pill @PMPS +5.5 and do it gently

I will say he has improved ever so slightly (10%) since coming home @ 4:00pm today

Thank You Katherine for responding it's a little tense right now

It's always nice to have support from all you folks (brings down the anxiety a bit)
 
The pain and inflammation are causing the higher BGs. He will need the painkiller after an extraction. He might need it for more than one day though. Buprenorphine is the go-to painkiller here for cats since NSAIDs can be hard for the kidneys. A lot of information here:
http://felinecrf.org/treatments_antibiotics_painkillers.htm#painkillers

He will be woozy after the anesthesia and in pain and both will affect his numbers and his appetite.

The dental might actually improve his numbers over a period of time. If he stays in high numbers, no harm in taking his dose up temporarily. At some point his insulin needs will reduce so be watchful for that.
 
Oh I should mention with the exception of this one tooth extraction his teeth look exceptionally well no gum disease and pink color gum line

Henry has no kidney disease
 
The pain and inflammation are causing the higher BGs. He will need the painkiller after an extraction. He might need it for more than one day though. Buprenorphine is the go-to painkiller here for cats since NSAIDs can be hard for the kidneys. A lot of information here:
http://felinecrf.org/treatments_antibiotics_painkillers.htm#painkillers

He will be woozy after the anesthesia and in pain and both will affect his numbers and his appetite.

The dental might actually improve his numbers over a period of time. If he stays in high numbers, no harm in taking his dose up temporarily. At some point his insulin needs will reduce so be watchful for that.

Thank You Bhooma for checking in

Will take your advice with respect to an increase
 
Henry had both Dental Cleaning and Tooth Extraction today @11:00am

Will posts several Cycles of BG readings

Vet recommended Insulin doses for today is 1/2 his usual dose (1.00 units) both AMPS & PMPS

Henry has not eaten any food as of AMPS + ==> Statement time 6:06pm

Last meal was @ PMPS +5.5 last night 12/20/2021

Still has not ate any - Statement time 7:00pm

@PMPS I gave him 2.000 units

I will be checking his BG levels @ PMPS +3.5 & +5.5

If Henry's BG levels remain high thru tomorrow @ AMPS should I increase his dose?

I also have (3) tablets of Onsior (NSAID) for pain, three is the max for a cat (1) per 24 hours
The Vet said do you want pain pills of course I said YES, I thought about giving his first one @ PMPS +5.5 which would be good for 24 hours. I worry about putting it down his mouth due to his tooth extraction. Should I do it or not???

Henry did eat a very small amount of pate (0.20oz)

I need you folks to watch this closely

Any thoughts welcome?

Previous Thread
My civvie just had some dental work and extractions done a couple months ago. Given onsior in pill for and it didnt affect her mouth at all. I was worried about that too
 
Has Henry been drinking? He might enjoy a tuna water (low sodium if you've got it) chaser.

Our local Walmart has this tuna available I will purchase it tomorrow as a back up for Henry
Low Sodium Tuna.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • Low Sodium Tuna.jpeg
    Low Sodium Tuna.jpeg
    44.1 KB · Views: 88
Back
Top