One option is to shoot a one time reduced dose (say 1.5u) to let the depot drain and then go back to 2.25u. The other option is to reduce to 1.75u and see how he does.
Wendy and I were discussing it and she mentioned she’s seen a few cats she worked with who had really built up some glucose toxicity start racing down the dosing scale fast. I also wonder if he could have had IAA that is breaking.
Hi Robert,
just responding here to the PM you sent.
So the
BCS is the term we use for a one time reduction, we do this for a number of reason;
So Marje was suggesting two options
- We have to shoot and cannot monitor, and kitty is low at PS we are concerned they might go too low.
- We need to sleep, can't monitor,
- maybe we need to drain the depot a bit to give us some breathing space.
It's a balancing act, we don't want to go down the dosing scale too quickly, because that can see us get ahead of our selves, see high numbers returning and glucose toxicity setting in again, which will see the kitty climb back up the dosing scale, (We've all seen that happen) conversely, if kitty has got IAA we also do not want the depot to get over full as they break through the IAA we can see the required dose drop in significant steps.
- Do a one time significantly reduced dose, (reduce by 1/2 perhaps) in the morning and then go back to the 2.25u in the pm shot. In this case perhaps take him back to 1u for the morning shot. Then resume the normal dose tonight. Even though you shoot a reduced dose, the early part of the cycle will still be greatly impacted by the depot, and you may still see him go into green, the effect of the BCS will likely not be seen till the latter part of the cycle.
- The other option is to take a bigger 'permanent' reduction of 0.50u and see how he does with that, so that would mean taking his dose to 1.75u and you would attempt to stick with that for the next 6 cycles, BG numbers will dictate whether we need to revise that
Looking a Henry's numbers, something does seem to be going on, whether that is glucose toxicity breaking or IAA we do not know, but both those suggestions from @Marje and Gracie are intended to give you some breathing space and to try to avoid getting into a situation where you are going to be fighting those lime greens consistently over long periods.
Does that answer your question?
OK, no probs.Yes 100% I'm good now
I chose the 1.75 units option
OK, no probs.
Again for the next few cycles the depot from the 2.25u will still likely be driving the dose, so you may not see any significant change immediately, and may continue to see low greens, and by the same token, taking a larger than usual reduction might 'catch up with him' you will have to watch out for a failed reduction (watch for the nadir's rising, that should tell you if the reduction has failed/ of course we can help you with assessing that)
- BG Reading @ AMPS +5.5 is (118)
I know you are tired and it’s hard to remember everything but we’ve discussed it before as an option when the PS is lower. I also posted on your thread last night but used “reduced dose” instead of BCS. Apologies if I confused you. It was late and I was about to turn the lights off and thought to check in once more.Marje
I had no idea what BCS meant I know now what it means
Do you want this 1.75 be that BCS?
I know you are tired and it’s hard to remember everything but we’ve discussed it before as an option when the PS is lower. I also posted on your thread last night but used “reduced dose” instead of BCS. Apologies if I confused you. It was late and I was about to turn the lights off and thought to check in once more.
I was going to give more detail this morning but @Gill & George did a great job of explaining this before I was up.
Let’s see how he does today before we decide on whether this should be the new dose or whether we are getting enough depot drain to go back up and treat this as a BCS.
I just realized I won’t be available for his shot time. I’d suggest you get a +10 so you can plan ahead.
I just realized I won’t be available for his shot time. I’d suggest you get a +10 so you can plan ahead.
If he has a blue PS, and if he were my cat, I’d go back to 2.25u or at least go up to 2u if 2.25u worries you. If he’s green, you might try the 1.75u another cycle. I’d play it by ear and as soon as you start seeing a cycle that trends out of green, don’t sit on that dose.
im sorry my response has to be abbreviated but that should help you for PMPS. I’ll also ask for some other eyes on a out then.
For other members: This advice is for Henry only. Please do not copy this dosing.
Hey Gill what does (GA) mean?We have our peepers on you if you need them
It's a prefix we use to let folk know that the kitty has passed.Hey Gill what does (GA) mean?
Wondering though if the contraband was the reason for the 118 at +5.5? ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
And you shot....? (dose?)
- BG Reading @ PMPS is (97)
- Fed 1.6oz of 7%
- Next Reading +2
And you shot....? (dose?)
I just realized I won’t be available for his shot time. I’d suggest you get a +10 so you can plan ahead.
If he has a blue PS, and if he were my cat, I’d go back to 2.25u or at least go up to 2u if 2.25u worries you. If he’s green, you might try the 1.75u another cycle. I’d play it by ear and as soon as you start seeing a cycle that trends out of green, don’t sit on that dose.
im sorry my response has to be abbreviated but that should help you for PMPS. I’ll also ask for some other eyes on a out then.
For other members: This advice is for Henry only. Please do not copy this dosing.