12/21: Harry AMPS 374, +6 279 (Question!!!!!)

Status
Not open for further replies.

chatcat24

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=32494

happy holidays everyone!!!

So we went out of town (with the cat...and thankfully he stayed hidden in my lap in a blanket the whole time without peeing or barfing on me...phew) last two days, although he was SO freaked out when we got there (never travelled more than 10 mins. in a car, ever) he hid immediately in spots we couldn't get to, and wouldn't eat, drink or use the litterbox for about 6 hours or so. FINALLY he used the box, ate a little food, but drank no water at all unless I put my hands in it and he licked up the few drops on my fingers. So he barely ate at all thru the night, as his mid day check was 112, and pm check 133, he was not eating or drinking so I made the choice (while he was still unable to be grabbed or even touched, he was hidden so well!) to not give the insulin as I was worried he'd go deep in the green with the pre-numbers being low and more insulin given.

But by today he was ok, exploring thru the night, and ate today, used the box again and was VERY vocal when he heard us talking downstairs but didn't want to "venture" downstairs where there were noises he wasn't used to.

So.
Question: What do you do with a cat when he's not regulated, and you have to go out of town for 10-11 days and your family doesn't know the first thing about diabetic cats or doing the BG testing? Considering the vet isn't open in the evening, he wouldn't be able to get his BG shots there (at 9pm) and I wouldn't prefer to have him locked in a cage for a week. (talk about punishment.)

....Is there someone available in the Kelowna, Bc area that would be able to take a cat which KNOWS the ins & outs of diabetes for cats, and would be able to take him for this time span? Preferably in a month or so?

Hope this gets out there..... :-D
 
I'm not sure I understand. Are you currently on the trip you have questions about? We've only traveled once so far with Johnny, but plan to do so in the next couple of days. Our new plan (first time didn't work out as planned) is that we will take care of his needs and not answer to anyone as to why we need to do things a certain way.
 
if you're not going out of town for a month or so, there's plenty of time to teach someone at home to test and shoot. ideally, that's your best option. as an alternative, many caregivers have hired pet sitters or vet techs to test and shoot. i have a good friend who has done the honors when both my husband and i have gone out-of-town. we usually recommend reducing the dose while you're gone.
 
Sorry, Helena! I missed that part about it being in a month or so. We had a good experience by calling our vet and getting a vet tech to pet sit. It was a pricey ($25 per visit, but in Chicago), but worth it as we don't have family nearby. Our other wonderful pet sitter, a good friend, was more than happy to learn how to do the testing/shots and did fine during another trip (she wasn't available the first time). It's nerve-wracking. Find someone you trust so you can relax on your trip.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top