12/21 Duncan AMPS 118 gave .25u, +4 109, PMPS 122

Status
Not open for further replies.

SaraM2261

Member Since 2011
7am:
:mrgreen: Tested blue for AMPS yesterday and then stayed in the greens the rest of the day and night. Keeping me up half the night testing as well!!! We are probably going to be heading to a .25 dose and contacting the vet if his AMPS today is that low again. No more shooting greens overnight for me. If it's that low I need to skip it and get my rest. I am shot today and I have a ton to do to get ready for Christmas!

Happy problems! :RAHCAT

10:45am
With an AMPS of 118 I only gave him .25u. (very close to the first line of the syringe, but not touching it, still barely touching the .5 mark on the low side. Thinking this is about 2-3 drops of insulin. We'll see how he does on this! I would like to find a dose to be consistent with, and every time I think we found it he goes lower on me. Nice and steady though. No dives or bounces, thank goodness!

Wishing all you beans and kitties the very best this day. Greens and blues all around!

10:15 pm - much more manageable numbers tonight. He is holding the dose reduction, but he is holding it higher than the other reductions. This is more of a reduction than I have done at once in the past before. Less of a sneak and more of a reduction. Happy to be able to sleep and not worry about hypo. I love the greens but I don't *LOVE* the greens that much. :) PS: I think Duncan got a few bites of dry HC today too which could contribute to the slightly higher numbers I am seeing right now. I am secretly converting the other cats to more wet food. :) Tossing out some science diet and feeding them a mixture of Duncan's wet and just a little of the HC dry. DH is not a 100% believer but i am... :mrgreen:

Nighty night everyone! We are just about ready for Christmas here. Tons going on in and outside of the house. Looking forward to that major sluggish slow down after xmas and before new years eve.
 
Re: 12/21 Duncan Staying in the green all night

Woohoo! Looks like Mr. Duncan is trotting out the holiday colors for you...I agree I would so go to .25u if his amps this am are low again and try holding that for a few days to see if he continues to stay low...Perhaps he is planning on start off the New Year with a trip to the Falls party_cat ....Oh how I wish I had your kind of problems. ohmygod_smile

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 12/21 Duncan Staying in the green all night

If Duncan were my cat, I would drop his dose, even though he hadn't "hit" the 50 and under mark. Heck, with those numbers I don't shoot Ennis--and it's been no shots for Ennis for several months now.

12 tests during the day and into the night isn't all that "relaxed."
 
Re: 12/21 Duncan Staying in the green all night

Yes, definitely. For Duncan personally I look for the absence of food spikes, which he definitely did not have at PM shot/meal time last night. I really do not like hanging out in the green that long. It's a good thing, but at the same time if he were to puke or if I were to have to leave the house I would really worry.

Yesterday started out as just a day I wanted to find his nadir and see how low it was and turned into 2 full curves because he was so low. I honestly thought he had starved himself because of our visitors yesterday, but then no food spike after a LOT of food at PM meal time. So we shall see in about 30 mins here what we are doing.

I definitely think he is a cat that could go OTJ for many reasons. Just want to come down very slowly and not take any chances. We have a vacation in February and it would be lovely to get a timed feeder and have a friend come tend to the cats and keep him in a separate room than pay for a vet tech to come and test and shoot. And honestly at this point they wouldn't be shooting much and I might just take it as a OTJ trial instead.

Thanks for the support. I never would have thought this was a possibility until I came to this board and I would not be able to to this well monitoring and caring for Duncan if it weren't for this board. He'd still be on dry Science Diet with numbers all over the place, or switched to wet with no monitoring and possibly hypo. I love this board and everyone here. Wishing you all the best!!! Talk to you after the AMBG/meal and shot (?) :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top