12/21 charlie bg 80 vet update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Darin & Charlie

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=130137
I am not really sure what charlie is trying to tell me.
So the last reading I got last night was 86@ +7.5, my gf tested at +8 and it was 148, when I took his amps this morning I was unaware that my gf got the 148, but I was going to first see how his appy was before I gave shot, as I was getting his food ready I noticed a note my gf left for about the 148. I fed charlie his 1oz of food, he only at about .5. Now knowing about the 148 I tested charlie again thinking the 80 was false, 15 min had past since amps and BG was 67, he has had no food intervention since +3.75.
And he probably only ate 1/2 of what his total meals would have been last night.

I did skip his shot this morning.
 
Re: 12/21 charlie bg 80

Tried to get charlie to eat more all I could get him to eat was some ff gravy chicken, I put .4oz and he ate .2
 
Re: 12/21 charlie bg 80

Have you tried giving him his regular low carb food? Maybe he doesn't like the gravy lovers. If you are skipping the shot this morning, his numbers should go up on their own because of the lack of insulin (although he still has some in the depot), so he probably will not need the HC.
Even if his numbers are high tonight because of the skipped shot and HC, I think I would reduce the dose to 2.25.

ETA: Can you update his spreadsheet with the numbers from last night?
 
Re: 12/21 charlie bg 80 +1 60

Darin & Charlie said:
I am really surprised the a bounce has not presented itself

I didn't see this.
You have to leave at +2 +14 to go to work, is that right?
I would try a different food and see if he will eat that. Just a little to see if he will eat it.
 
Re: 12/21 charlie bg 80 +1 60

They didn't feed him dry food at the boarding facility and now that's what he wants, did they? I hope not. Has he been eating regularly at all since he's been home?

When kitties are in normal BG numbers, they do eat less. I'm sure you know that.
 
Re: 12/21 charlie bg 80 +1 60

Thanks Dana, that was my plan, to offer different foods every so often, I will probably bring to the vet after work
 
Re: 12/21 charlie bg 80 +1 60

Do you have to leave in an hour?
Please let us know what his +2 +14 is. If it's lower than 60, then I would leave out lots of food and try to get home to check him, or call in late to work.
 
Re: 12/21 charlie bg 80 +1 60

Darin & Charlie said:
Actually in all the kaos last night I forget what day it was, I leave at +4.25
Oh, I missed this post. That's good you have more time. The Subject Line in your first post should say AMBG 80 +13 60.

The +2 I talked about is actually a +14, and you will leave at +16.25 ;-)
 
Re: 12/21 charlie bg 80 +1 60

sent him with lc as main meal and some mc, he came home Thurs around +11, my gf fed him his normal meal, and again @+2, we skipped the shot, I arrived home at what would have been +8.5 and gave shot he ate normal, he also ate normal at +2 also @+4, I gave him a snack .5 at what would be his normal +9, he ate normal then and the rest of day.
12/20 am cycle I woke back up at +2 and he still had food on his plate about .2oz, he ate his +2 and +4 good, it was not till last nights cycle did his appy really start to change, my gf gave shot and fed him, I had her add .5mc to his pmps of 1oz since he was at 80, she said he left about, she had to leave for work at +.75, I had her put him in bathroom with another .5 of mc cause I would not have been home till +2.5, but at +1.5 I had this feeling like I needed to get home and check on him, he was 56
 
Re: 12/21 charlie AMBG 80 +13 60

I had this feeling like I needed to get home and check on him, he was 56
You have good instincts. I would always try to follow what your gut says.
 
Re: 12/21 charlie bg 80 +1 60

I could not get him to eat after the 56@+2, only gravy when we returned from the vet, I am going to test and try to feed him now
 
Re: 12/21 charlie bg 80 +1 60

Is he staying this low cause he has not really eaten? His normal diet is raw, I wonder if him eating canned for 3.5 days messed with he insides?
 
Re: 12/21 charlie bg 80 +1 60

His numbers have been coming down since +12, maybe I should take him back to the emergency vet for the day since I have some time prior to work
 
Re: 12/21 charlie AMBG 80 +13 60, +13.75 57

Darin & Charlie said:
All P's in place
Good.

I think you can keep the stay at the ER in the back of your mind for now. Maybe he will be coming up soon.

Come on Charlie, lets get up to the 70s next, and then the 80s.
 
Re: 12/21 charlie bg 80 +13 60 +13.75 57

Will he eat some of that food you sent him to the boarding facility with?
 
Re: 12/21 charlie bg 80 +13 60 +14.75 57

Better on the Subject Line. Isn't the +14.75 a +13.75? We use the rainbow icon when the kitty has passed on. Please change the icon to the ? or the green smilie or something. Sorry, to be such a pain. I know you've got other things on your mind.
 
Re: 12/21 charlie bg 80 +13 60 +14.75 57

I home from work @ +25.5, at +17 I can call his normal vet and get him in at +26, my gf is home all day and will have her test and try to feed while I am at work.
 
Re: 12/21 charlie bg 80 +13 60 +14.75 57

Never mind about the 148@+8, reread her text, it said goodnight 148, but I think she was referring to her tips she made at work.
 
Re: 12/21 charlie AMBG 80 +13 60 +13.75 57, +14.10 54

Darin & Charlie said:
Going to test now, 54 @ 14.10

I'm glad your gf will be home to test and feed. Can she access FDMB if she has a need or a question?
 
Re: 12/21 charlie bg 80 +13 60 +14.75 57

Darin & Charlie said:
Never mind about the 148@+8, reread her text, it said goodnight 148, but I think she was referring to her tips she made at work.
You can check your meter for past numbers. Otherwise, good for your gf :thumbup
 
Re: 12/21 charlie bg 80 +13 60 +14.75 57

Darin & Charlie said:
I crushed some freeze dried turkey on .5raw/.5mc he is eating
smiley-eatdrink022.gif
Come on up, now Charlie.
 
Re: 12/21 charlie bg 80 +13 60 +14.75 57 +15.25 55

I just went through my meter and out of the 14 test I had the do only 6 are logged in my meter
 
Re: 12/21 charlie bg 80 +13 60 +14.75 57 +15.25 55

That's weird. What kind of meter are you using?

I guess you have to leave in an hour. Your gf is up for the testing? Can she post on FDMB?
 
Re: 12/21 charlie bg 80 +13 60 +14.75 57 +15.25 55

Hi. I'm wondering if the ff gravy lovers didn't agree with him but usually you would get diarrhea if that were the case. I know you say all 5 P's in place also so he isn't acting sick in any way. Did the ER run fPL? Sometimes when Max has had a low grade case of it he acts fine but is just inappetent. I also find sometimes when his BG is low for a long time he isn't too hungry. I'm glad that your gf will be home with him while you are at work. I don't think the ER could do anything for him that you aren't doing right now since he is acting fine.
 
Re: 12/21 charlie bg 80 +13 60 +14.75 57 +15.25 55

Relion, he just ate .5 going to test then work, he had a lager then normal stool at around the end was runny, in last 30 min diarrhea.
Elise, all they did at the vet was BG reading and monitor him, he was holding 80 on animal meter, so I took him home.
 
Re: 12/21 charlie bg 80 +13 60 +14.75 57 +15.25 55

He could have gotten the runs from the HC and any syrup you gave him. If it continues, you can try some FortiFlora, which is for diarrhea and is also many of us use to get cats to eat their food, as it must be really tasty to them.

Have a good day at work. Let us know what the next test is please.
And when you get home, please update your spreadsheet, if you haven't already.
 
Re: 12/21 charlie bg 80 +13 60 +14.75 57 +15.25 55

Will update SS, been having problems with my phone, house internet is down till tonight
 
Re: 12/21 charlie bg 80 +13 60 +14.75 57 +15.25 55

FortiFlora is like a topping. It comes in a pouch and you sprinkle it over the food, and most cats LOVE it.

Please have your gf test again in 30 minutes. Can she post to FDMB for help? If not, I would have a plan ready to take him to the ER if he goes below a certain number and she can't get him up.
 
Re: 12/21 charlie bg 80 +13 60 +14.75 57 +15.25 55

I would have brought him home as well. I think the change in food might not be agreeing with him and he has intestinal upset. If I am right he should start to recover from it today and next time you need to get him up with HC you will need to try a different food or add karo to his regular food. I wouldn't go gack to the vet as long as he's stable and wait it out to see if I am right. I hope I am.
 
Re: 12/21 charlie bg 80 +13 60 +14.75 57 +15.25 55

Today is the only time I can go to vet, otherwise it would not be till Tuesday, I am going to have them do the bw they were suppose to do while he was boarded, has not had one since DX 11/15/13
 
Re: 12/21 charlie bg 80 +13 60 +14.75 57 +15.25 55

In that case I'm glad you are taking him to the vet. I hope it's your regular one and the news is good.
 
Re: 12/21 charlie bg 80 +13 60 +14.75 57 +15.25 55

Good luck at the vet. I hope the blood work comes back normal. I agree the low numbers are probably from not eating and the not eating from tummy upset due to different foods.

Those numbers from 60 to 55 are really a surf and since you didn't shoot this morning you don't need to worry about onset and nadir. Now that he has eaten some you should see a steady rise. You did great, but remember to breathe.
 
Re: 12/21 charlie bg 80 +13 60 +14.75 57 +15.25 55 +22 157

Darin,
Glad he is eating and his bg is 157. Charlie you are dashing in blue ;-)
Keep us posted.
Thinking of Charlie & you.

Paula :smile:
 
Re: 12/21 charlie bg 80 +13 60 +14.75 57 +15.25 55 +22 157

Skipping pm cycle cause he is not back to eating normal, only about half of normal, going to vet at +26
 
Re: 12/21 charlie bg 80 +13 60 +14.75 57 +15.25 55 +22 157

I am still surprised the a bounce had not showed up yet.
Just now +24, have not had a BG update, I am off work in 1 hr
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top