12/21 BuddyM AMPS 151, 139, +1 243, +2 286, +4 358. Shot lowest

Mariette

Member Since 2020
Buddy suddenly has a blue this morning and totally caught me by surprise. I haven't studied how to handle shooting with lower numbers... just how to handle hypo.
I got the 151 about 30 minutes before his shot time. He was crazy hungry so I gave his food. It looks like that was a mistake?
I measured now, directly after eating and he's 139.
Do I still shoot at his regular time? Delay a bit?
He's still hungry and asking for food. Can I give him some or stall food and keep measuring?
 
Was the retest less than 20 minutes after he ate? You can feed him a little more lc while I check your spreadsheet. Be right back.
 
Do you have plenty of test strips? Do you have syrup? Do you have hc food 20% and higher? Can you monitor as long as necessary?
 
He's 158 now.

I have test strips, I have syrup, I have some dry that's 34%, and I'm here all day.

But wondering if I should at least drop dose to 4?
 
Dropping the dose won’t change anything. You want to see green. With TR you shoot anything over 50 eventually. Shoot and get a +1 and +2.
 
You do need to get some canned hc soon now that you are seeing better numbers. What % mc do you have?
 
Gotcha. I'm going to have to stock up on medium and higher carb wet food. I gave it away when he was diagnosed. Ugh.
I have some Weruvia Mack, Jack and Sam... 18%
Also the Delectables Bisque Lickable treat. Not sure carb%.. going to look it up.

So I'm going to measure him again and then shoot. Eek.
 
We can use 18% and add honey if needed. We can use the dry if needed. Get a +1 and +2. Change your title to say something like shot lowest and include your tests. I will meet you back here in an hour.
 
Your welcome. How late is your shot? To get back on schedule you can shoot 15 minutes each cycle or 30 minutes every 24 hours. Depending how today goes you can decide how to do that.
 
Last edited:
The shot is 30 minutes late. So not too difficult to get back in schedule.
I'm going to order some FF gravy lovers to be delivered hopefully today
 
He’s bouncing from the blues. You won’t need to test a lot today. It can take 4 or more cycles to clear. You can get a mid cycle if you want but save the strips and no need for more than that until pmps.
 
Haha I'm so freaked out seeing that blue, I'll probably keep checking anyway. I have 150 strips. Will be hard not to use it all today ;)
I was planning on increasing his dose tomorrow but I think it's best to keep steady for a few more days right?
 
Yes, not time to increase. See what happens after the bounce clears. I’d print out the handling low numbers sticky. I used to read it over and over in the middle of the night when Max dropped under 50. I will never tell anyone not to test as it gives valuable info for the future.

Looking at your spreadsheet you need to set an alarm and get some tests between +4-7. He clearly went lower last night. Without finding the nadir at night you only have half of the picture. You might decide to increase when it’s not a good idea. Many cats drop lower at night. If I were you I would get a before bed test. If lower than you are used to set an alarm for later. Looks like you shoot at 7:00? Then a +5 might be a good on3 to start and not too late?

Now that you saw blue you want to hold for 8-10 cycles on this dose.
 
I shoot at 7:45. Buddy usually wakes me up for food between 5 and 6. But then he has to calm down a bit so I can test. He wants to go outside to check that everything's cool, and eat some grass. Sure it's because he's starving in the mornings. I used to leave dry food out at night before the diagnosis so he got used to that.

I wish I can leave some wet food out but he needs to lose weight and pretty much vacuums up all food immediately. I havent gotten a timed feeder yet. It's been on my mind and might be an answer for us.

I will start testing at night more. Buddy's been so high that I didn't think it was necessary. And I'm not getting enough sleep as it is since the diagnosis. So the +2, +3 is actually before bed! I get very groggy after that. But clearly it's important to get some mid tests now. I'll set an alarm tonight.
 
If he’s still bouncing which I suspect he will be there’s no need for an alarm or test tonight. We need to pick the times to disturb your sleep or you will burn out.
 
That blue was a sight for sore eyes. :cool: Nice to see Buddy has some blues in him.

First few times I shot blue, then green, Neko bounced right away. :rolleyes: Made it easier for me the next time. I think you can ease off the testing rest of today.
 
Yeah, the blue was a big surprise.
Of course I was hoping to see blue but I expected to see it at +6 the first time! I was not prepared for the shock this morning haha
 
Back
Top