12/21 Blaze AMPS/283, +2/250, +4/196, +6/153, +11.5/126, +11.75/140

Blaze and Paola

Member Since 2020
I tested again 20 minutes after the 126 reading, he is now at 140. Going up on his own. I am thinking he is probably gonna continue to go up. Still stalling though, I would really love to have someone's opinion before the shot. I had increased to 2U yesterday (PM cycle).
 
He ate (very well, he was starving), I am going to test him again in 7 minutes. My gut is telling me to give him 1U instead of 2 considering how much lower he is. But I am still hoping for somone to see this post for some guidance.
 
I tested again before the food gets into the blood stream he is still holding to 139. I am not feeling comfortable shooting at all at this point. I am going to skip. If I am making the wrong decision, I hope this is not going to affect him too much for the next cycles...I am too scared to give insulin right now.
 
With TR you shoot green as low as 68. That’s the only way to get him regulated. Sorry I was not home and nobody was around. Shooting 1.0 is better than a total skip but tge full dose would have been fine.

Just saw your post. Pretend it’s a fur shot then.
 
At +11.5 he was at 126 (he has never been that low before a shot). I stalled, tested again, he was 140. At that point i did feel like I could shoot maybe a lower dose. I stalled some more, tested and he was 139...which to me it meant he was going in the wrong direction again. I just didn't feel safe shooting. I read the yellow sticky...still didn't feel comfortable shooting.
 
Okay. When you stall too long the bg comes down from not eating. I would hav3 shot the 140 as long as you could monitor. 139 and 140 are the same so he wasn’t headed down. It’s fine you skipped. I just wanted to understand your decision. With long term diabetics the no shot number gets lower and lower as it does when headed toward remission.

Are you following TR or SLGS now? I know you have gone back and forth. I have lost track.
 
I have only followed TR, never SLGS. At least that's what I think I have been doing. I followed what I was told here the first time around and then when he came out of remission, I resumed from that.
 
I basically completely screwed up tonight, that's all and now Blaze is paying the price because I made him regress from his progress
 
You have not screwed up at all. He will be back in business in no time and you will have a many opportunities to shoot lower. Get some sleep.
 
I just get very discouraged when these things happen. Both my cats are my world. I love them very much. I try my best to keep them happy and keep them healthy as much as possible considering their serious conditions.
Since i started insulin and testing again it's been extremely difficult. Work started pretty much at the same time. I get up every morning at 4:55 am to do Blaze's morning routine. Every day for 4 straight months...then I go to to work in this pandemic reality which is very stressful. While all day I worry about Blaze. When I come back from work, I get the evening routine going again...
My life revolves around Blaze's diabetes. And when I have nights like this one when I am unsure of what to do....it kills me, I feel like an idiot and a failure. I feel that I let him down when all i want to do is help him.
Anyhow, time for bed, thank you for your help as always.
 
You are by no means a failure. You are exhausted. Taking care of two cats with issues is very difficult. I only asked you why you were not shooting so that I could help you understand if your reason was you were worried he would not be safe. The quicker we can get him regulated the easier it will be for you after winter break. We can’t rush the process though.If you said you were too exhausted I would have said skip. You need to stay healthy for all three of you.:bighug:
 
You are by no means a failure. You are exhausted. Taking care of two cats with issues is very difficult. I only asked you why you were not shooting so that I could help you understand if your reason was you were worried he would not be safe. The quicker we can get him regulated the easier it will be for you after winter break. We can’t rush the process though.If you said you were too exhausted I would have said skip. You need to stay healthy for all three of you.:bighug:
My reason was mainly because I thought he was not going to be safe...that was what my gut was saying to me. But I know now that shooting low is a reality and eventually going to happen more often. On the other end, I am also exhausted...but I know that if I had given him the shot, I would have been so worried and test frenzy that I wouldn't even have noticed the tiredness lol
I feel already better having the first few days off of work. I am starting to bounce back. Yes I need to stay healthy too...that's so true. They need me, but I also need myself to be well.
:bighug:
 
Back
Top