12/21- BEAR- amps 333

Yogi_Bear

Member Since 2025
Thread '12/20- BEAR- amps 124

Last night we shot a new pm low 137.. so i left out some kibble, i should mention its for my other cats so it is hc.. anyways Bear shot up this morning 311, 333 and i feel really awful because hes been having such good days with blues/greens and really smooth surfs lately..

I dont know if it was the kibble or a bounce because we just lowered his dose and is getting more regulated? Anyways, i feel like i shouldn’t have left the kibble out and now hes being set back 😓 I was just worried not knowing how low hed go over night with the lower pmps
 
Cats don’t bounce because of reduced doses, they bounce because the cat’s BG dropped too quickly or they hit a lower BG number than they are used to. I suspect the stinky pinkies are because of the kibble. A couple things maybe to keep in mind. While yesterday’s PMPS was lower than you have seen in pm preshots in the past, what Bear did there was a Lantus double dip. He went down to nadir earlier in the am cycle, went up at +11, then dipped back down into preshot, but just not as low as nadir. I do understand that in the past he has come down a little over night into am preshot, but remember, often when kitties break a bounce they will have a later nadir.

Don’t worry too much, he’ll get back to business. Maybe next time, if you aren’t sure what he might do later in the pm cycle, try a bit of a higher LC before you go to bed.
 
Cats don’t bounce because of reduced doses, they bounce because the cat’s BG dropped too quickly or they hit a lower BG number than they are used to. I suspect the stinky pinkies are because of the kibble. A couple things maybe to keep in mind. While yesterday’s PMPS was lower than you have seen in pm preshots in the past, what Bear did there was a Lantus double dip. He went down to nadir earlier in the am cycle, went up at +11, then dipped back down into preshot, but just not as low as nadir. I do understand that in the past he has come down a little over night into am preshot, but remember, often when kitties break a bounce they will have a later nadir.

Don’t worry too much, he’ll get back to business. Maybe next time, if you aren’t sure what he might do later in the pm cycle, try a bit of a higher LC before you go to bed.
Oh cheeky sneaky bear! Lol but it was my fault this time, not his lol he did enjoy the contraband though!
Im still struggling to find food options, the list feels v overwhelming to me lol especially in Canada when all of the options aren’t available..
Is there a quick cheat, say for when im looking at a can at the store to indicate carb %?
I was at the store today trying to go off the list and use the calculator, and look for what they had and what was on the sheet.. it was quite deregulating haha
 
If you give me the names of the food, I can help you, I’ve gone through a lot of looking at foods . You’re right, some on the food chart aren’t available here. We had a Canadian food chart, but it is quite outdated. And unfortunately, because canned food doesn’t typically show carbs, you have to calculate it.
 
Ahh yes..
One day when i get my crap together, maybe il try and make one for the Canadians! I wonder if there is a way we could do it collectively.. say have a sheet where people just add what they use and the carb count.. that way it becomes a compiled list.. idk speaking from frustration lol

I posted on the fb group a few days ago and a lot of other canucks chimed in with similar struggles lol
 
Ahh yes..
One day when i get my crap together, maybe il try and make one for the Canadians! I wonder if there is a way we could do it collectively.. say have a sheet where people just add what they use and the carb count.. that way it becomes a compiled list.. idk speaking from frustration lol

I posted on the fb group a few days ago and a lot of other canucks chimed in with similar struggles lol
Yup, I think too the issue is that even with US food, the manufacturers keep changing the formulas. Which leads to outdated info.
 
wow a much smaller list for us eh!

I will send the ones i picked up today over later :) i guess i just want to be sure that im feeding a mc or hc when i need it right, dont want to be giving a lc when you think youre giving a mc/hc lol
 
Plus, what manufacturers put on the can is Guaranteed Analysis, and we actually want to see % calories from carbs which needs to be calculated for, either as-fed or dry matter basis, which means calling manufacturers to get that data.
 
wow a much smaller list for us eh!

I will send the ones i picked up today over later :) i guess i just want to be sure that im feeding a mc or hc when i need it right, dont want to be giving a lc when you think youre giving a mc/hc lol
I already went grocery shopping so I have time to spare..:) I can crunch some numbers for you on % calories from carbs, depending on food if I can see on their website as fed or dry matter basis. FYI, I use this calculator. Info - Calculating % Calories from Carbohydrates
 
This was our haul today
assuming the hills is hc and the rest mc
 

Attachments

  • IMG_3245.jpeg
    IMG_3245.jpeg
    1.6 MB · Views: 23
  • IMG_3246.jpeg
    IMG_3246.jpeg
    2.5 MB · Views: 18
  • IMG_3247.jpeg
    IMG_3247.jpeg
    2.5 MB · Views: 20
  • IMG_3248.jpeg
    IMG_3248.jpeg
    2.7 MB · Views: 27
  • IMG_3249.jpeg
    IMG_3249.jpeg
    2.8 MB · Views: 18
  • IMG_3250.jpeg
    IMG_3250.jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 19
Good haul! Yup, you’re right, the Hill’s SD all comes in at 20-30% carb, so HC. The FF are all MC, Tuna florentine looks to be 14%, FF grilled Chicken 12%, Tuna 14% and salmon 13%. I used to write on the lid with a marker the % so I could see easily when I needed to grab a can, and not have to waste time looking it up. Of course over the years I had it mentally imprinted lol
 
Ugh, when they move it makes it difficult to know what got in. It’s still possible shot was good, did you smell insulin on his fur or feel any wetness? You’d definitely recognize the smell, it’s like bandaids. Maybe fewer pokies for Bear and worry-free sleep tonight for you isn’t a bad thing? 😀
 
I do think he got it as i did not smell any on him, but we shall have to wait and see..
what gives with these double dips lately? 🤷‍♀️
 
Back
Top