12/21 Ailish AMPS 232, +3 244, +11 139 PMPS: 122 +2 104 +3.5 139

Ailish’s Brother

Active Member
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-pmps-139-2-5-149-3-5-138-5-133-6-140.296771/

Well we surfed blue last night. :cool::cool::cool:

I think I’m starting to see what people mean when they say there is often less of a drop when shooting at lower numbers.

She’s up a little today, but that’s ok cause we have holiday errands to run!

upload_2024-12-21_9-52-25.jpeg

Old Girl Running Errands Last Spring
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-12-21_9-52-25.jpeg
    upload_2024-12-21_9-52-25.jpeg
    54.1 KB · Views: 63
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-pmps-139-2-5-149-3-5-138-5-133-6-140.296771/

Well we surfed blue last night. :cool::cool::cool:

I think I’m starting to see what people mean when they say there is often less of a drop when shooting at lower numbers.

She’s up a little today, but that’s ok cause we have holiday errands to run!

View attachment 71986
Old Girl Running Errands Last Spring
Have a safe day. Hope you get your errands done while Ailish is a bit higher.
Love the sweet pic of her sniffing while on a walk in the neighborhood :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
So Ailish had a low (for her) PMPS of 128, I’ve shot around that and been fine, but she ate slower at dinner and I have a busy night so I gave her half a dose, as the vet has advised. I know it’s less than ideal but wanted to keep her safe while feeding the depot more than a skip. She’s now at 104 at +2. I got her to finish dinner at +1, and gave her a snack of LC at +2, what I’m wondering is when do I switch to MC or HC food. @Bron and Sheba (GA), @Wendy&Neko if you are on and have thoughts I’d appreciate it
 
So Ailish had a low (for her) PMPS of 128, I’ve shot around that and been fine, but she ate slower at dinner and I have a busy night so I gave her half a dose, as the vet has advised. I know it’s less than ideal but wanted to keep her safe while feeding the depot more than a skip. She’s now at 104 at +2. I got her to finish dinner at +1, and gave her a snack of LC at +2, what I’m wondering is when do I switch to MC or HC food. @Bron and Sheba (GA), @Wendy&Neko if you are on and have thoughts I’d appreciate it
@Tim & Pookey id appreciate your thoughts too, just as you’ve been shooting numbers like this more recently and might have some insight!
 
I am not an experienced member, but I would guess that her BG will start rising without the need to resort to MC or HC food. The evening of 12/17 was another reduced dose and she ended higher. Are you able to get a +3 or +4 just to see if she start going up?
 
Is Ailish thinking about a green?? :D

I would stick to the normal food for now. Let’s see the trend at the next test, especially with the lower dose. When’s the +3?
 
It's trial and error.
Generally, and I will repeat that, Generally we save HC for under 50 on a human meter AND following TR.
Whether you feed MC or HC depends on several factors. One being knowing how carb sensitive kitty is. Catch 22 is you don't know how carb sensitive kitty is until you try different carbs. It's all sort of the learning process.
Another is where you are in the cycle. In the beginning of the cycle, right around onset might be better to feed a higher % carb to prop kitty up a bit when the insulin is at is strongest. We also generally not feeing after nadir (the lowest point of the cycle) and especially not HC because it may shorten the duration of the insulin.

We do suggest feeding a tsp or two of the regular LC food to keep kitty surfing a bit.
 
It's trial and error.
Generally, and I will repeat that, Generally we save HC for under 50 on a human meter AND following TR.
Whether you feed MC or HC depends on several factors. One being knowing how carb sensitive kitty is. Catch 22 is you don't know how carb sensitive kitty is until you try different carbs. It's all sort of the learning process.
Another is where you are in the cycle. In the beginning of the cycle, right around onset might be better to feed a higher % carb to prop kitty up a bit when the insulin is at is strongest. We also generally not feeing after nadir (the lowest point of the cycle) and especially not HC because it may shorten the duration of the insulin.

We do suggest feeding a tsp or two of the regular LC food to keep kitty surfing a bit.

thanks! I been doing a the kow carb snacks every hour. If she’s holding steady at +3 I’ll stick with the LC, if she’s falling all add some MC
 
When you shoot a reduced dose, the first part of the cycle can look like you shot full dose, due to the depot. Then she'll head up. Sounds like you've got a good plan for feeding.
 
Just seeing this. You’ve been getting good advice. I would stay with low carb too, unless she drops under 50 or dropping very quickly early in cycle. As Angela said, feeding low carb can help them surf in good numbers which is what you want.
 
Back
Top