12/20 Webster AMPS=300 +2=364 +7=335

Status
Not open for further replies.

Websterthecat

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo

Webster's BG's seem to be coming down with the new dose. Hopefully this will keep his ketones at bay.

I'm waiting patiently to see how this new increase is going to settle. Meanwhile, I'm still on ketone alert. I would like to bump him up another .25u to drive him down a little further but I know that the .25u increase from 3 cycles back has not shown its true effect. It's hard to sit here and wait but I don't want to OD him.
 
Re: 12/20 Webster AMPS=300

Hi there ~O) :cool:

Let's see how this cycle, which is cycle 4 on this dose, plays out for both BGs and ketones.

Hang in there .You are doing great !
 
Marycatmom said:
How's he doing tonight, Mike? And how are you holding up?

Thanks for asking Mary.

Webster is doing better. His ketones are down to 1.2 from 3.4. :-D He seems to be responding somewhat to the increased dose but not enough as his numbers are still in the 300's during his AM cycle.

Moving forward, I'm going to take the advice of many on here and have his teeth examined by a specialist on Monday if possible. After listening to everyone on here and doing quite a bit of research online, I'm thinking that the redness on his gums is a likely suspect.

This seems to be the next logical step in diagnosing his problem.

It looks like Mikey is up to his usual diving shenanigans. WOW. Look at that drop on 12/18! While its hard to tell because your AM data is not complete (obviously because you are at work or elsewhere), it seems like his dives are happening mostly during his PM cycles? Is his feeding schedule/amounts identical in both the morning and evening?

Webster seems to have almost graduated from diving school. I'm beginning to think he's starting to show an interest in aviation with these sky high numbers. :lol:

As for me, well I'm hanging in there. We are going to try to get out of the house for a couple hours here shortly.
 
I see Webster slid into a PMPS of 238 :cool:

Get your +1 and +2 in case he is picking up too much steam.

I'm on my way out but will check on you two when I return.

Nice ketone reading this morning :-D
 
Mikey is skydiving then bouncing, as usual. As far as I know, he's limiting his dives to PM cycles, always when I have to work the next day, of course! Brat! I'm feeding him a bit more during the AM cycles, or at least I think I am. Today I discovered DK eating out of the timed feeder, which I thought he didn't realize was there. I also thought he didn't like Mikey's turkey flavored food, but apparently I was wrong. I'm not amused, because DK tends to be a bit, ahem, portly.

I'm glad you're getting out tonight. I hope you guys have a blast!
 
Sandy and Black Kitty said:
I see Webster slid into a PMPS of 238 :cool:

Get your +1 and +2 in case he is picking up too much steam.

I'm on my way out but will check on you two when I return.

Nice ketone reading this morning :-D

+2 looks pretty good to me. He's alert, eating and acting normal. I'll check him again later.
 
Marycatmom said:
Mikey is skydiving then bouncing, as usual. As far as I know, he's limiting his dives to PM cycles, always when I have to work the next day, of course! Brat! I'm feeding him a bit more during the AM cycles, or at least I think I am. Today I discovered DK eating out of the timed feeder, which I thought he didn't realize was there. I also thought he didn't like Mikey's turkey flavored food, but apparently I was wrong. I'm not amused, because DK tends to be a bit, ahem, portly.

I'm glad you're getting out tonight. I hope you guys have a blast!

We stopped back in to check on Web. He seems to be doing well so were headed back out for a couple hours.

I've heard on here that PM cycles often run lower than AM for some reason. I've also seen this with Webster.

I started weighing out his food a couple weeks ago to take away any guessing. I purchased this scale from amazon and it has proven to be a great investment so far.

http://www.amazon.com/Ozeri-Digital-Mul ... gant+Black
 
Thanks, Mike. I have a food scale. My problem is that DK is sneaking up and eating Mikey's food. Not good! Does the scale you sent a link to work to weigh Webster on? I tried to weigh Mikey on a plate on my food scale. Let's just say that was unsuccessful. :lol:

Have an awesome time out!
 
Marycatmom said:
Thanks, Mike. I have a food scale. My problem is that DK is sneaking up and eating Mikey's food. Not good! Does the scale you sent a link to work to weigh Webster on? I tried to weigh Mikey on a plate on my food scale. Let's just say that was unsuccessful. :lol:

Have an awesome time out!

I've had a digital scale that I've weighed myself on for years that is usually accurate within 1/2 a lb. I weigh myself holding Webster,weigh myself without holding him and subtract the difference.

While this is of course not the most accurate way, In my opinion it's very close if you have a decent scale with little variance. After all, he probably eats 1/2 a lb of food each day plus water so his weight is going to vary slightly from day to day.

As for using the scale that I referred to, it has a 11 lb max which may work for Mikey but will be a stretch. From what I remember, he weighs somewhere around 8-9 lbs?

I'm sure that you can find other scales online with a slightly higher weight limit.
 
Glad you all got out tonight, Mike. I hope Webster continues to glide down and we start to see some better numbers.

Very great on the ketones!!!
 
Marje and Gracie said:
Glad you all got out tonight, Mike. I hope Webster continues to glide down and we start to see some better numbers.

Very great on the ketones!!!

Thank you. He's coming down very nicely so far. Ideally, seeing him in the low 200's at AMPS tomorrow would be perfect. However, looking at his past history, he typically shoots back up into the 400's after spending a some time in the in the 100's-200's.

These lower ketones help me to sleep better at night although I'll continue to be vigilant when it comes to watching his levels. I really need more strips. It looks like Walmart doesn't carry the Novamax plus ketone strips so I'll have to hunt elsewhere locally because I online ordering is not a timely option at this point.
 
Marje and Gracie said:
I've gotten mine at ADW. Maybe get as few locally as you can and then order more. They are so pricey.

There's no cheap option when it comes to these strips. Any way that you look at it, they are $2+ each. I just ordered some directly from Novamax - 20 for $43 including shipping. I should have enough to get by for a few days while I'm waiting.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top