12/20 Todd AMPS 167. PMPS 244

Status
Not open for further replies.

ToddyTiger

Member Since 2010
I checked on Todd once during the night, around 3am. Had him eat a little and then I went to bed. His BG was in a good place this morning, and since he ate for me, I gave him 1.5u. I'll check again in 2-3 hours and see where it's at.

I am concerned for tomorrow, because by tonight, his Mirtazapine should be wearing off and it'll make it tough to get him to eat. He isn't due for another pill until Wed. I can already tell it's starting to wear off, because he's not as chatty thing morning. At least he hasn't thrown up yet. I wish I could find a good alternative for the Mirtazapine, or perhaps maybe give him smaller doses every other day, rather than 1/4 a pill every 72 hours. hmm...

Sarah
 
Re: 12/20 Todd AMPS 169

Have you tried "chicken dust" or many folks here have great success using Fortiflora which is an OTC item. A good portion of cats find fortiflora very enticing. I know even for Attie if he hears me tearing the package open he comes running...

Fortiflora has probiotics in it so it won't hurt Todd to have it and if you're just using it as an appetite stimulent...even expired it still works.
 
Re: 12/20 Todd AMPS 167

Chicken dust does wonders for Maverick. You get the pure freeze dried chicken. I put some in the magic bullet blender so it goes a bit further. And its all natural.

Do you know why his appetite is down? Did you change foods on him? Any signs of nausea - like lip licking or showing a lot of interest in food but sniffing or licking and walking away?

You could syringe feed to help keep his weight up. Also I've found through assisting people with assist feeding their cats the past two and a half years often syringing a bit of food is in itself an appetite stimulant. Just one syringe and they'll eat the rest on their own.

We had to switch Maverick from 100% dry kibble grazer after 13 years to wet food. It was not an easy transition and I had to syringe feed him again while he learned to like wet food. There are some tips of things you can do to help them switch to wet food if this is something you are in the process of doing.
 
About 40 minutes early for his shot, but I need to get to bed. His BG is 244 right now, so I'll shoot the 1.5u. I hope 40 minutes early is ok.. :/

Karrie- We think it's down due to his kidney disease. He just doesn't want to eat like he used to. He's been eating very small nibbles throughout the day, which I suppose isn't bad. At least he is eating some. I have tried syringe feeding him and it upsets him so, so much. I think if we ever got to the point where he just flat out will not eat, we would probably have to do a feeding tube for him. He does sometimes do that whole.. omg I want food, looks at it and then walks away, but still begs for something. He is getting Pepcid incase he has tummy upset, but what I think is happening, is he is trying to tell me he wants some tuna, which he can't have anymore. Poor fella
 
Hi, you had asked a question yesterday & with you being on the West Coast, I did not think my reply would have been in a time for you to see, so I waited to post now...
Oh hey.. just curious, does anyone have a cat or has had a cat in the past, that will only eat if you pet it, or are within 2 feet of it? Todd has started doing this, which of course, makes it very hard to leave for more than an hour or so.
I don't have to pet Baby or Sadi while they eat, but they both are in a bad habit of only eating when I am home, so I do come home from work to find their food untouched & then them hungry, hungry lil hippos when I come home - both seem to eat all night..because they have not eaten while I am at work. Sadi even sometimes (most of the time) requires I walk her to her plate, even though it is full of food :YMSIGH:
 
ToddyTiger said:
About 40 minutes early for his shot, but I need to get to bed. His BG is 244 right now, so I'll shoot the 1.5u. I hope 40 minutes early is ok.. :/

An early shot is like giving a dose increase! Now if you give the shot at the normal time this morning it will be like a dose decrease. Try and find a time that works for you and your schedule, that way there will be very little variance. 15 minutes might not be a big deal, but 40-60 minutes is as Lantus has the overlap of the storage shed. You have to keep that in mind when decided to shoot especially early.

I know no one was around last night at about 1am. I stopped in for a quick check-in last night, but wasn't feeling real well and left right after I posted.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top