12/20 Sunny AMPS 239 - dose increase +2 150 +3 126 +4 108 +7 180 acting strange....PMPS 318

Holly and Sunny Bear

Member Since 2021
12/19 Sunny AMPS 191, +4.5 187 +6 236 PMPS 289

Increased Sunny's dose today to 1.25U. Afterwards I revisited the sticky re: TR and realized I'm supposed to be waiting 5 to 7 days to increase since we just started back up on insulin -- but I think it's ok in this case to have increased at this point -- as 1U was probably a low dose to start with anyways. I'll keep a close eye on his BGs.
 
I had reduced Monster's dose and it took her a few days to settle into it. At first, she was going higher and I started to think, maybe she won't hold the reduction, then all the sudden yesterday, she got comfy with and is now going lower.

So, yes indeed, it does take them a few days to settle in. I was of course reminded, to put on my patient pants again.

Good luck with the increase!!!
 
I had reduced Monster's dose and it took her a few days to settle into it. At first, she was going higher and I started to think, maybe she won't hold the reduction, then all the sudden yesterday, she got comfy with and is now going lower.

So, yes indeed, it does take them a few days to settle in. I was of course reminded, to put on my patient pants again.

Good luck with the increase!!!
Yes -- I have to practice a bit more patience too :p
 
Just now I watched Sunny in the litter box and he peed and then circled around in the box several times and appeared to be straining. He did poop this morning, and peed just now - so I don't think there's any blockage. But after straining a few times - he got on my bed an stared at me with his mouth open and drooled briefly. I took his BG (180) - and checked ketones which was .2 - so those are not the issue. I wonder if this is a triaditis/pancreatitis flare? He did vomit sometime overnight last night. He's eating fine and otherwise acting normally. He had 8mg cerenia this morning. Not sure if I should give another 8mg now....or wait until bedtime -- and if I should do anything more than monitor. I also have gabapentin available. He's 15lbs for reference.
 
I agree you were OK to increase. Today is day 6. Sunny came out remission and you do want to be a bit more aggressive getting him back regulated again. Plus, it's not like you are new at the FD dance.

Dosing of oral Cerenia can be 1 mg/lb of cat. Have you seen the Feline Pain Scale. That might help you decide if he needs gabapentin.
 
I agree you were OK to increase. Today is day 6. Sunny came out remission and you do want to be a bit more aggressive getting him back regulated again. Plus, it's not like you are new at the FD dance.

Dosing of oral Cerenia can be 1 mg/lb of cat. Have you seen the Feline Pain Scale. That might help you decide if he needs gabapentin.
Thank you @Wendy&Neko He seems fine at the moment on his perch relaxing thank goodness. He was acting odd only for a couple of minutes. Thanks for the pain scale. That is helpful. I'll watch him close for now and this week is when he's due for repeat bloodwork so I'll get him checked over at the same time. Hopefully this was just a blip. We have been watching his liver, pancreas and kidney values. Thanks for helping so quickly! I'm on edge. 😵‍💫
 
Back
Top