12/20 Pimp AMPS 221; +2 185; +4.5 122; +7.5 171; PMPS 274

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andy & Pimp

Member Since 2015
yesterday he tried to dive but I said stop!:stop:

After seeing pink last night and almost back to blues this morning, I wonder what he has planned today.

Guess we will have to see. If he goes up and stays up (doesn't head back down after onset), it's a bounce.

Come on, Pimp!!!!

Soo....fast bounce? He did continue to go up after onset. This is where I start getting confused!
Shooting in 10 minutes
 
Didn't mean to confuse you. This looks like a bounce to me. If he had come back down last night on onset, then it wouldn't have been a bounce.

I wouldn't get too wrapped up in which it is because you can't control either one .....if he's running low and you need to give him carbs, so be it. My whole point yesterday was that sometimes members are perhaps testing a little too often and not giving the carbs time to work for cats where there is data and the cat is not low. You needed to get him out of the 40s yesterday and did what made you comfortable to be sure he was safe.
 
Didn't mean to confuse you. This looks like a bounce to me. If he had come back down last night on onset, then it wouldn't have been a bounce.

I wouldn't get too wrapped up in which it is because you can't control either one .....if he's running low and you need to give him carbs, so be it. My whole point yesterday was that sometimes members are perhaps testing a little too often and not giving the carbs time to work for cats where there is data and the cat is not low. You needed to get him out of the 40s yesterday and did what made you comfortable to be sure he was safe.

Ok, thanks Marje.
I know I can't control either one, unfortunately I'm the personality type that likes to know why things happen. The whole FD dance is teaching me some extra patience and acceptance of things I can't control.
Just trying to figure out if it's a duration issue what I could do differently (as far as feeding). It makes sense to be a bounce last night since he didn't go back down after onset. But he is coming down this morning so that means bounces are shorter, and that's good, right?:)
 
yesterday he tried to dive but I said stop!:stop:

After seeing pink last night and almost back to blues this morning, I wonder what he has planned today.



Soo....fast bounce? He did continue to go up after onset. This is where I start getting confused!
Shooting in 10 minutes
Pimp sure keep us guessing! Fingers crossed for a nice safe day:cat:
 
Didn't mean to confuse you. This looks like a bounce to me. If he had come back down last night on onset, then it wouldn't have been a bounce.

I wouldn't get too wrapped up in which it is because you can't control either one .....if he's running low and you need to give him carbs, so be it. My whole point yesterday was that sometimes members are perhaps testing a little too often and not giving the carbs time to work for cats where there is data and the cat is not low. You needed to get him out of the 40s yesterday and did what made you comfortable to be sure he was safe.
I am so glad to read this--I have been thinking along these lines wondering if I am being too obsessive with the testing -- I have slowed some because I think this is a really valid point (of course if you have increased or changed dose for any reason I think more testing is warranted) But if you already know your cat cycles and the normal behaviors I agree we should let it ride out …. that being said I am glad I was obsessive when I caught a 41 on AT-and the low 60s…. it is a tight line to walk. I guess know thy cat is the bottom line--I am glad I was obsessive to get a baseline on how he responds to insulin and food-
 
I know I can't control either one, unfortunately I'm the personality type that likes to know why things happen. The whole FD dance is teaching me some extra patience and acceptance of things I can't control.
You sound soooo much like me. I almost drove Sienne crazy when we were new because I had to know why, how, what, and can I control it. I finally decided I just needed to learn the lessons FD was trying to teach me and you are already going down that path with recognizing that patience, acceptance, and knowing you aren't always in control is a huge part of this. And yes, clearing bounces faster is always a good sign!
 
Last edited:
I am so glad to read this--I have been thinking along these lines wondering if I am being too obsessive with the testing -- I have slowed some because I think this is a really valid point (of course if you have increased or changed dose for any reason I think more testing is warranted) But if you already know your cat cycles and the normal behaviors I agree we should let it ride out …. that being said I am glad I was obsessive when I caught a 41 on AT-and the low 60s…. it is a tight line to walk. I guess know thy cat is the bottom line--I am glad I was obsessive to get a baseline on how he responds to insulin and food-
I think testing a bit extra after an earned reduction is a good idea, too. You never really know what's going to happen in those cycles.
 
I am so glad to read this--I have been thinking along these lines wondering if I am being too obsessive with the testing -- I have slowed some because I think this is a really valid point (of course if you have increased or changed dose for any reason I think more testing is warranted) But if you already know your cat cycles and the normal behaviors I agree we should let it ride out …. that being said I am glad I was obsessive when I caught a 41 on AT-and the low 60s…. it is a tight line to walk. I guess know thy cat is the bottom line--I am glad I was obsessive to get a baseline on how he responds to insulin and food-

We were testaholics because Gracie liked to throw us curve balls but we learned when we needed to test every 30 mins and when we could let it go an hour and everyone also has to learn that about their kitty. For a 41 on an AT...yes you needed to be all over that with some karo and testing every 20 mins...that's a good example of when you need to up the testing. Anything below a 58 on my AT got my attention.
 
There should be a sticky about "know thy cat".
yes there is but Drevon refuses to read it-LOL
He is actually doing very well on this lower dose--just got a 93 @+3:D (he typically has nadir at +3-4)
First green on reduced dose-very happy it is not 41:eek:….
I am wondering if the glandular he is on is kicking in--he was on 1.75BID when he hit those scary lows then I skipped a few shots to lower depot and started back with 1 unitBID/almost 1/2 of what he was getting and he has hit a green.
 
Ok, thanks Marje.
I know I can't control either one, unfortunately I'm the personality type that likes to know why things happen. The whole FD dance is teaching me some extra patience and acceptance of things I can't control.
Just trying to figure out if it's a duration issue what I could do differently (as far as feeding). It makes sense to be a bounce last night since he didn't go back down after onset. But he is coming down this morning so that means bounces are shorter, and that's good, right?:)
I resemble this remark! :)
 
I may have this cat figured out.
I think today he was still on a bounce. He'll go back up tonight, and be over the bounce tomorrow.
Stay tuned to find out.:cool::cool::cool:
 
I may have this cat figured out.
I think today he was still on a bounce. He'll go back up tonight, and be over the bounce tomorrow.
Stay tuned to find out.:cool::cool::cool:
Good observation. I thought he might be trying to clear it with that 122 but heading back up might mean he’s not quite done with the bounce. But he’s making progress.
 
You know that as soon as you think you have him figured out he'll up and change things on you don't you ;)

I'm also a why person and a bit of a control freak - FD has a lot to teach us types, it has definitely helped me be a bit more relaxed about the other things in my life I can't control and to be more accepting when there is no answer to the why :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top