12/20 Max AMPS 358 +3 440

Max & Lori

Member Since 2021
Max had more diarrhea this morning. Gave Flagyl. S. Boulardii came so I started that this morning as well. If he’s no better today, I may try to see if I can get him in at the vet. I’m not sure if that will be possible or not though with the holiday and also I’m still staying home because of my husband. I’m just hoping and praying the diarrhea will stop. Also his BG is way up. Probably another bounce. Yesterday’s post https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-19-max-amps-307-3-251.256876/#post-2890999
 
Remember the Flagyl is not to be given intermittently. I think I said that before m, so forgive me. I’m sorry this has cone back.
Thanks Suzanne. I know that antibiotics are not to be used intermittently like that and the course should be completed. I’m a retired NP and used to prescribe Flagyl. I was a provider of people though, not animals… but I know the same goes for animals. Max has a long history of GI problems even before he was diagnosed with diabetes so he’s been on Flagyl many times. I normally would have continued the Flagyl but when I saw he had a large, very solid stool after just one dose, I suspected he didn’t need the Flagyl and that maybe the diarrhea came from all of the higher carb food and syrup he’d had in the days before. That tends to happen to him when something in his diet has changed. He has chronic pancreatitis also and already takes several medications so I didn’t want to give the Flagyl if he didn’t need it. The Flagyl was not prescribed by his vet for this occasion. I started it on my own because I cannot take him to the vet right now because of being quarantined. I have a supply of Flagyl that I keep on hand here at home because of his history of diarrhea. He hasn’t had diarrhea lately unless it was like I said, a diet change. He mostly stays very constipated and takes lactulose daily, which he also hasn’t had since he had diarrhea. He does have a history of alternating between constipation and diarrhea, thus the presumed diagnosis of IBD. He has not had a biopsy because I opted not to. Anyway, with all that being said, I did skip a couple of doses of Flagyl because I was under the impression that he didn’t need it this time, but now know that he does so he is getting it. Thank you for reminding me though and for all of your other advice. There certainly are a lot of other things about cats that I don’t know as much as I should, such as dosing his insulin. I rely on experts here to guide me on that as well as other issues. I have also learned so many other things here about cats and like to hear what works for other cats. That’s why I asked about probiotics and wanted to know which ones worked the best. I had been using Fortiflora but stopped it because I found out from another member that it contained animal digest and it could be harmful to cats. I learn as I go, but I think with every cat, things are different and sometimes you have to try different things to see what works for your cat. I just wanted to explain my reasoning about the Flagyl this time. I know now that he needs it. He seems a little better since last night. Thanks again for your encouragement and advice. You’re always so kind and I appreciate your friendship so much. We are just trying to get through all of this stuff going on at our house these days, but we will! Merry Christmas Suzanne.:bighug:
 
Thanks Suzanne. I know that antibiotics are not to be used intermittently like that and the course should be completed. I’m a retired NP and used to prescribe Flagyl. I was a provider of people though, not animals… but I know the same goes for animals. Max has a long history of GI problems even before he was diagnosed with diabetes so he’s been on Flagyl many times. I normally would have continued the Flagyl but when I saw he had a large, very solid stool after just one dose, I suspected he didn’t need the Flagyl and that maybe the diarrhea came from all of the higher carb food and syrup he’d had in the days before. That tends to happen to him when something in his diet has changed. He has chronic pancreatitis also and already takes several medications so I didn’t want to give the Flagyl if he didn’t need it. The Flagyl was not prescribed by his vet for this occasion. I started it on my own because I cannot take him to the vet right now because of being quarantined. I have a supply of Flagyl that I keep on hand here at home because of his history of diarrhea. He hasn’t had diarrhea lately unless it was like I said, a diet change. He mostly stays very constipated and takes lactulose daily, which he also hasn’t had since he had diarrhea. He does have a history of alternating between constipation and diarrhea, thus the presumed diagnosis of IBD. He has not had a biopsy because I opted not to. Anyway, with all that being said, I did skip a couple of doses of Flagyl because I was under the impression that he didn’t need it this time, but now know that he does so he is getting it. Thank you for reminding me though and for all of your other advice. There certainly are a lot of other things about cats that I don’t know as much as I should, such as dosing his insulin. I rely on experts here to guide me on that as well as other issues. I have also learned so many other things here about cats and like to hear what works for other cats. That’s why I asked about probiotics and wanted to know which ones worked the best. I had been using Fortiflora but stopped it because I found out from another member that it contained animal digest and it could be harmful to cats. I learn as I go, but I think with every cat, things are different and sometimes you have to try different things to see what works for your cat. I just wanted to explain my reasoning about the Flagyl this time. I know now that he needs it. He seems a little better since last night. Thanks again for your encouragement and advice. You’re always so kind and I appreciate your friendship so much. We are just trying to get through all of this stuff going on at our house these days, but we will! Merry Christmas Suzanne.:bighug:
Well, we can only hope that it will help. I know what you mean about upset tummies from high carb foods. A lot of kitties seem to have problems with gravy foods (probably the wheat?) You don’t have to justify yourself to me. I believe you are very intelligent and have been trying to manage Max - and are doing a good job. I hope I didn’t make you feel like I thought you were not. I get it! When we are in the thick of it with our cats, we have to mamage a lot of meds, supplements, symptoms, treatments, etc. We do our best in the moment. ❤️
 
I think I've told you about Visbiome as a probiotic - it's designed specially for IBD, humans and pets.

Neko objected to the gravy too. I've also seen a kitty allergic to corn react to karo, in which case honey or maple syrup might be better.

Paws crossed his GI system settles down now. :bighug:
 
I think I've told you about Visbiome as a probiotic - it's designed specially for IBD, humans and pets.

Neko objected to the gravy too. I've also seen a kitty allergic to corn react to karo, in which case honey or maple syrup might be better.

Paws crossed his GI system settles down now. :bighug:
Yes you did tell me about that Wendy and I’m so glad you did! I ordered the same as what you are using I think, the packets. He has done better today and not had anymore diarrhea so far. I messed him up by cutting the dose to 9 this morning but he started out with 113 and the way he dives sometimes…well I just didn’t know if that would happen and I didn’t want to overload him on those high carbs again because of his diarrhea. I really do think he’s allergic to wheat. I didn’t think about Karo being corn syrup. I will try the honey next time. Problem is he is so picky about foods it’s hard to find MC or HC that he will eat. He only will eat pate food. Tried the grandmas chicken soup and he just walked away from it. Ugh cats! You gotta love them lol.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top