12/20 KHAN Amps 335

Status
Not open for further replies.
SS updated.

FYI- Saturday Pmps & Sunday Amps- NO shots due to car trouble- could not get home. Lesson learned- NEED A BACK UP -- will be talking to my neighbor about this. Thank goodness Khan's numbers have been down. Probably only ended up at 411 due to Merrick's Cowboy Cookout- his body maybe wasn't use to it.. something new to eat. Just trying to find some foods he can handle that is NOT seafood- Fancy Feast beef & chicken he is scratching like crazy.. almost no hair on ears or front legs. Ears were burning red after eating the Merricks GF beef.. I shouldn't of ever given him that- know better that beef flares him up.. just needed to confirm it one last time. Ugghhh.. so now I'll try Chicken tonight.. and I have a few different EVO canned formulas to try.
 
Jenee, his shed is depleted from the skipped shots...it will be ok, he will get back on track soon. Life happens! If you can get a backup person trained to test and shoot for you that's good. I suggest leaving a sample syringe in your fridge filled with milk or juice so that the neighbor has it to compare to when s/he draws the insulin.

Good luck with the food, it's difficult when you have other cats with health issues AND an allergy problem to deal with. You might ask Marjorie and Gracie about foods, she has done a lot research into different foods so she might have the info you need...I'll PM her and ask her to look at your condo.
 
Thank you that would be fantastic. I could really use more help with his food.

Overall things aren't so bad with feeding since now I have low phophorus canned foods to try to get Grandma to eat.

Worst is Wisp- her cancer has progressed and I know it isn't long - next wk or so before I must say good-bye. breaks my heart but it isn't about me-- it is about her quality of life. I will do what is best for her regardless of how much it hurts me. I'm strong enough and have support here as well as my cat lover friends that live by me. Makes me cry every time. I tell my little boy it is the circle of life-- like the Lion King-Or Freddy the Leaf-- seems to work.
 
Jenee:

I got Laurie's PM. Sorry I haven't been to your condo lately. I'm also very sorry to hear about Wisp. It sounds like you have your hands full,too. Grandma has CKD?? We have two elderly civvies that we are giving squids, watching phosphorus, etc.

So...Khan can't eat beef? He may need a novel protein like lamb. I've called or emailed the following companies and gotten their "as feds" and plugged them into Janet's calculator. For Gracie, I limit her with fish, grains, and by products so she doesn't get Fancy Feast, Pro Plan, etc. Here are some foods I've researched....I did not include those with beef nor did I include those that were solely fish. Unfortunately, these are more expensive foods than FF; I buy WN and BG at PetCo; Nature's Variety I get at a local feed store.

Nature's Variety Instinct (canned): rabbit, duck, venison, chicken, lamb....all 3% calories from carbs; maybe you want to try him on the lamb, duck, and/or venison. Our kitten, Tobey, eats these like gang busters.

Wellness: chicken (4%), turkey (4%), turkey/salmon (6%), chicken/herring (6%)

Before Grain: chicken (2%), quail/chicken (1%), turkey (1%)

EVO: 95% chicken/turkey (2%)

Precise: Triple Delight (4%), Chicken 6%), MIxed Grill (6%), Turkey (8%)...note: I don't feed these to Gracie routinely because they do have brown rice in them but will use them to steer her; I feed them to my civvies and this is what Gracie ate before FD. It is a very good food.

Have you tried any of the above or is it possible one of those might work for him? I know it is trial and error. The other thing is you can have a food allergy profile run on him ....just requires a blood draw and I don't remember the cost..maybe around $100. Here is the info on the blood test: "Custom Allergy Profile" run by Spectrum Labs. The phone number for vets only is 800-553-1391.

I hope this helps. Let me know.
 
Just curious.. when giving sub Q fluids are you on a regular schedule in giving this? My vet will allow me to buy more and give as needed..but maybe it would benefit to be on a regular schedule of giving for Briquette's health?

Also have you ever heard of anyone giving SubQs to cat with crystals? I believe it would only make sense. especially my one cat that is so difficult to switch to canned.. still eating mostly dry.. UGGGhh.
 
Jenee...great on the foods....I really hope you find something that helps. Gracie has an issue with her eyelids getting inflamed and they think it is an allergy so recommend a novel protein like lamb so you might want to start there??

On the squids....are you giving them to a renal cat or FLUTD for crystals (see below)? My two elderly civvies have renal insufficiency at this time meaning their renal values have been or or now just outside of normal. My female, Teddi, was up as high as 3.5 for her creat when we started giving her squids and I gave her 75mls sid because she is very tiny; her creat has slowly come down and at her last test, was normal at 2.2; once her creat got below 2.9, I started giving her 75mls EOD and we've stayed there. Our vet said we can take her back to twice a week but I haven't yet as she seems to be doing so well and I don't want to change things....her BUN is still a little elevated and although her gums are nice and slick, I think she is still renal insufficient or heading that way. My other one, Gus, had a creat of 2.9 with an elevated BUN (43). Alot of recommendations are that you don't have to start squids until they are over 3 but 2.9 was close enough for me so vet recommended 100 mls EOD and his last test showed his creat had dropped to 2.7 and everything else was looking better (phosphorus, potassium, HCT, HGB, etc). I give them both methylcobalamine (B-12) and also a sprinkle from Jarrows B-Right capsule. Teddi gets a TINY sprinkle of aluminum hydroxide (phosphate binder) on her food as her phosphorus crept up to 5.2 (too high); now it is perfect. If your kitty is renal insufficient or is in a later stage, the CRF group recommends consistency. If she only needs a small amount, you might consider a higher amount EOD provided she doesn't have any heart issues. For instance, I could do Gus 50 ml sid but I don't want to poke him that often for that small amount and there will probably be time where I have to start doing it every day so for now, I give him more but less often (he's a very big cat). So it depends on the kitty but for renal issues, I, personally, wouldn't give it "as needed" ....how does your vet determine "as needed"? I think a regular schedule is better. Do you buy the LRS at Walgreens? I have a drug card there and get a case of 12 for $24. I also use tiny needles...Terumo ultra thin wall 21g because Teddi and Gus are really, really good getting their squids so I can take a little longer and use a smaller needle. The vet needles are usually Monoject 18g HARPOONS :lol: If you need a source for the Terumo needles, let me know and I'll send you the info.

Insofar as crystals, it does help cats with crystals to have more fluids but I have never had a vet recommend squids for crystals. You can overhydrate a cat so if the cat with crystals is not the renal cat and it's renal values are normal, I wouldn't do it. Gus had crystals at one point in time and so we have always added a couple tsps of water to each helping of food he gets and we feed NO DRY FOOD (very important for cats with bladder and/or kidney issues). We give him a supplement called "crystal stone" which we get through our holistic vet and he's been clear for quite a long time. The other herb that is good for crystals is Passwan; although you can order it online, you have to be really careful with herbs as to their purity so I always got it through my vet because she is really picky on her source. Also...do you have fountains? It's been shown that having water fountains for your cat increases the amount they drink on their own.

Sorry this is so long and OT for FD....sort of; I know we do have some FD with renal issues. A great resource is www.felinecrf.org for renal kitties.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top