12/20 Ivana AMPS=329 dose increase, +4=272, +7=326, PMPS=326, +2=346, +4=313

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara & Ivana (GA)

Member Since 2015
Yesterday's post

I've been itching to increase Ivana's dose, because I knew the 0.5u just wouldn't cut it. Needed to wait for 6 cycles after the missed shot though, so as of this morning I increased to 0.75u. I'm not convinced even that will be enough, but she might just surprise me (again!) It's going to be another stinking hot day today, though I still haven't figured out how that affects Ivana, or if it does at all. She'll be in aircon all day anyway.

Question regarding shooting and monitoring: As of this morning, we are on a 6am/6pm cycle (pet-sitter got a little off track but we are now back to normal). Our family dinner is on Xmas Eve, and it's a 2hr drive away. If I bring Ivana's shot forward 15min every shot between now and then, it means on Xmas Eve her shot will be at 3.45pm I think, if I've worked that out right. Is it safe for us to shoot then leave? Can we leave her out some MC or HC just incase? She has tended to nadir quite late in the cycle lately, so it's likely we'll be arriving back home at or around her nadir, and of course can test her then. Other options are to skip that shot (don't want to do that if we can help it), 2 x 18hr cycles (which would mean getting up regularly in the early hours of the morning during onset), or hubby missing out on the xmas dinner (last resort!)
 
Good luck with the increase. Ivana missed that 1.0 unit dose in there, so it could be she'll have to go up again, but paws crossed here.

For Xmas dinner, another possible option, is to take kitty with you. Does your family have a spare room, even a bathroom or other single room that Ivana could camp in? Neko gets to go over to my parents place and hang out in the bedroom above the kitchen. My brother brings his dog, so she'll get to roam the whole house until they show up.

Looking at Ivana's SS, she has occasionally given you lows early in the cycle, especially when breaking a bounce, so hard to say whether being back for normal nadir time would work. It's fine to shoot and leave nothing but MC or HC for her to eat to keep her safe. It's a better option than skipping. But I might wait to see what her cycle looks like before hand and what her PMPS is. If she's breaking a bounce and gives you a blue preshot I'd be more concerned.
 
One other thought, on the two 18 hours things, you could start the first one on Christmas Eve, then shoot 18 hours, so afternoon before you go. You'd still be away but with food left out she's less likely to go crazy on an 18 hour cycle.
 
another possible option, is to take kitty with you
We did consider taking her, but the thought didn't last long. My parents have four cats and a dog, and there will also be a houseful of noisy people, Ivana would have an absolute freak-attack. Although it's still a better option than hubby missing the dinner.

on the two 18 hours things, you could start the first one on Christmas Eve, then shoot 18 hours, so afternoon before you go
Is this what you mean?
23rd - 6pm
24th - 12noon
25th - 6am then back on track

Yes, that would work!! That's better than the way I had it in my head.
 
Yes on the 18 hour option. You'll get to see her through onset and figure out if you need to stuff her face with HC before you go.
 
Excellent, I will put it to hubby.
I had it worked out to start the 1st 18 hr cycle one cycle later than that, didn't occur to me to move it forward to be out during the second cycle. Thankyou Wendy for your brilliance :woot:
 
Could you take her with you and leave her in your car.....parking in a shady spot of course. It is only going to be 24c Christmas Eve in Sydney...assuming you are coming down here.....so if you found a shady spot and it would be evening, right? So may be even cooler. Just a thought, knowing how Ivana can drop. Maybe they would let you have the garage.
 
Yes Bron, heading to Sydney - Campbelltown, actually. I still like the 2 x 18hr cycles option better, less stressful for Ivana than taking her with us. It's tricky trying to work out a way to both keep her safe, and still go out and have a life. But as it's xmas, I'm going to try my hardest to balance it and make it work! If worst comes to worst, Darryn said he will stay home to be with her, but I think he will like the 18 hr option.
 
Yes Bron, heading to Sydney - Campbelltown, actually. I still like the 2 x 18hr cycles option better, less stressful for Ivana than taking her with us. It's tricky trying to work out a way to both keep her safe, and still go out and have a life. But as it's xmas, I'm going to try my hardest to balance it and make it work! If worst comes to worst, Darryn said he will stay home to be with her, but I think he will like the 18 hr option.

I think you are doing a great job Tara balancing all those competing needs. Paws crossed the 18 hour cycles mean you can relax while you are attending the family dinner :)
 
Your Darryn is such a keeper :)

While Purrdy was here I had to cart him off to work once. I had a spot in the secure car park under the building so no worries there - except that non-human animals aren't supposed to be in the building. As I wandered off upstairs the first time I could hear him screeching all the way to the lift so I thought I was going to get busted and kicked out pretty quickly but after that first time he was right. I came I tested I went (lather rinse repeat) and no further screeching he was quite settled and comfortable.

Good luck with whatever you decide - and with today's increase - work that juice Ivana!
 
Your Darryn is such a keeper :)
Indeed :-) I am incredibly grateful that he is also willing to do whatever Ivana needs, and that it's not all left to me. I know there's quite a few sugarcat mums who do it all themselves, and I tip my hat to them for being able to do everything on their own without losing their sanity.
 
So it turns out that hubby will be staying home with Ivana on Xmas Eve after all, due to his kids coming to visit (which we just found out about) and the timing of their arrival doesn't work to allow them to come to the dinner as well. So Little Miss Ivana will be on her regular schedule with the usual monitoring after all. I'm bummed that they can't come to the dinner, but also pleased that Ivana will have no interruptions, so I guess it's not so bad.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top