12/20 Hogan AMPS 416, +3 311, +6 327

Hogan

Member Since 2018
I increased from 1.75 to 2.0 this morning. Was that the correct amount, or should I have increased .5 to 2.25? I know .25 is the usual increase but I thought I read that it also depends on the size of the dose.

His appetite is still poor, though he is eating but just a little bit here and a little bit there. I've bought one can each of a million different types of wet food, and tried sprinkling fortiflora on them, but he won't come near them.

I keep reading that the recipe for DKA is not enough food + not enough insulin + source of infection or inflammation, which worries me. He's only peeing once a day, late at night when I'm asleep, so I haven't been able to test for ketones. I tried putting plastic wrap in the litter, but he just buried it.
 
You increased right, we increase and decrease in increments of .25
Have your tried sprinkling Parmesan cheese on his food? Will he eat a scrambled egg? Tuna with juice?
Also 1/4 of 10mg Zyrtec is an appetite stimulate for cats, I give it to my hyper t cat
 
Last edited:
He loves parmesan cheese, all cheese really. But he must be very lactose intolerant as he throws up the entire contents of his stomach 15 minutes later. When I first put out the low carb dry food, I sprinkled some on, and he gobbled it all up and I thought - hey, this is going to be easy! But 15 minutes later, up and out and all around my house it went :)

I have never tried a scrambled egg, he may eat it, I will try. He's very interested in most people food, but he doesn't seem to be able to keep most of it down. So far, the only two things he can eat without later vomiting is raw ahi tuna and cooked shrimp. His biggest issue with the wet food seems to be the smell and the texture. He will 5 - 6 nuggets of Primal raw frozen turkey, but only if I hand feed it to him one at a time.
 
You were right to increase to 2.0 units, as per SLGS. Size of increase can vary on TR. Size of dose comes into play over 5 units.

If you are worried about ketones, you can buy blood ketone meters.
 
Back
Top