12/20 GuMung AMPS 580

Dkshin89

Member Since 2022
Yesterday
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-amps-412-3-439-6-420-10-400-pmps-448.284734/

Good morning everyone. I don’t know what’s going on with his number. He doesn’t seem to have that thirst when his number got high few weeks sago. He is having constant hunger. Acting normal as usual. His gum is less swollen than before.

12/03, right before the dental cleaning, he was on unit 1.5 and he had blue. After then dental cleaning, both of my cat was stressed with the scent and his number been up in the air from then.

:arghh:
 
His gum is less swollen than before.

12/03, right before the dental cleaning, he was on unit 1.5 and he had blue. After then dental cleaning, both of my cat was stressed with the scent and his number been up in the air from then.
It's normal for numbers to be elevated for a few days after a dental due to inflammation/pain/soreness. Did he go for a check-up after the dental to see if everything is okay?

Could new lantus pen get bad this quick? Feel like it’s not working well.. I have new un-open pens, so I don’t know if I should try use new pen tomorrow.
I don't think it's the pen but a matter of getting to the right dose. The last time also he went up all the way to 6U before turning around and racing down in dosing. You could always try a new pen, but don't throw away this one.
 
Hello Bhooma!
Yes, he went back for checkup and went well. Yes remember going all the way up to 6 Unit was prepared for that. But just wasn’t sure why he had blue on 1.5 unit and not with 3 unit. He’s well fed and litter activity’s are also normal.
So.. I guess finding the right dosage is my task for now. Will try starting new pen from tomorrow morning.
 
It's not uncommon for cats to have better numbers when they first start on insulin, then have those good numbers fade away. As Bhooma said, most kitties coming out of remission end up around their max dose the first time.

If you are interested, and since you monitor closely and he's all above 300 now, you might be able to fast track his dose up. You can read the protocol section on the German Diabetes Katzen forum. They were the ones that started the TR protocol for Lantus and worked with Dr. Rand to document it. What this would mean is increasing by 0.5 units every 2 days/4 cycles, as long as he's still seeing nothing but pink. To give him a bit of a break, you can alternate increasing by 2 days for one dose, the 3 days for the next, to get the depot stabilized.

Note for any lurkers, this suggestion is only for Erin and GuMung. GuMung needs more insulin and has just come out of remission. The sooner we get him to a good dose, the better chances of remission. Erin also does a great job monitoring. What do you think Erin? Interested?
 
It's not uncommon for cats to have better numbers when they first start on insulin, then have those good numbers fade away. As Bhooma said, most kitties coming out of remission end up around their max dose the first time.

If you are interested, and since you monitor closely and he's all above 300 now, you might be able to fast track his dose up. You can read the protocol section on the German Diabetes Katzen forum. They were the ones that started the TR protocol for Lantus and worked with Dr. Rand to document it. What this would mean is increasing by 0.5 units every 2 days/4 cycles, as long as he's still seeing nothing but pink. To give him a bit of a break, you can alternate increasing by 2 days for one dose, the 3 days for the next, to get the depot stabilized.

Note for any lurkers, this suggestion is only for Erin and GuMung. GuMung needs more insulin and has just come out of remission. The sooner we get him to a good dose, the better chances of remission. Erin also does a great job monitoring. What do you think Erin? Interested?

Yes! It looks more aggressive than the regular TR, but as long as I can get him back on track. I didn’t know I had message but I already gave today morning dose to 3.5. I will start from tomorrow morning. So while on this 2 day /3 day cycle, he will earn reduction when he had light green & hold dose for 8-10 cycle when seeing under 100 right?
 
Back
Top