12/20 Fred +10.5 53, +11.5 63, AMPS 70

Valerie & Fred

Member Since 2023
12/16

We’re coming up on a possible decrease this morning, Fred’s already low 50s a bit before shot time.

gonna keep an eye on his numbers but for future reference, if he still in low numbers (under 50) without food by AMPS do I skip his shot or would I feed him and see what happens and give his shot late…how does that work exactly ? Not sure what determines whether I should hold food and shot and recheck or skip it all together.

Also side note: Had another dog food incident before yesterday’s AMPS if your wondering about his SS numbers (getting a new gate asap so dog foods staying up at night until then)
 
Last edited:
12/16

We’re coming up on a possible decrease this morning, Fred’s already low 50s a bit before shot time.

gonna keep an eye on his numbers but for future reference, if he still in low numbers (under 50) without food by AMPS do I skip his shot or would I feed him and see what happens and give his shot late…how does that work exactly ? Not sure what determines whether I should hold food and shot and recheck or skip it all together.

Also side note: Had another dog food incident before yesterday’s AMPS if your wondering about his SS numbers (getting a new gate asap so dog foods staying up at night until then)
Tagging Bhooma
@Bandit's Mom
@Angela & Cleo
@tiffmaxee
 
Last edited:
Did you give him some food at +10.5? He might continue to drop without food. In such situations, you can always delay your shot by 30 mins to get a clear 2 hour "no food" window for the AMPS.
 
Did you give him some food at +10.5? He might continue to drop without food. In such situations, you can always delay your shot by 30 mins to get a clear 2 hour "no food" window for the AMPS.

I was debating at the time whether I should or not but ended up deciding against it. I for some reason like to go in with the idea of…”if I wasn’t around to give him the extra food during that time what will his glucose do?” So I tend to try and wait until he goes under 50 to step in.

good news is we’re on the rise a bit so I think we’ll be good to go for AMPS (64 @ 11.5 now)

I’m just always scared I’m gonna get that >50 AMPS check one day and not know how to react.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top