12/20 charlie pmps 80 +5.5 60 +6 74 +6.5 68 +7 75 +7.5 86

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 12/20 charlie amps 283 +3 190

Thanks Marilyn, I am surprised that charlie is getting back on track so quickly after being at a unit less then normal for 4 days and a skipped shot.
 
Re: 12/20 charlie amps 283 +3 190 +5 126

Charlie is looking great! Actually better than before you left. It will be interesting to see what he does once the increase settles in. Your reward for giving your dad such a great surprise.
 
Re: 12/20 charlie pmps 80

His +6 was 104
Had my gf add .5mc to his pmps meal I Dont get home from work till +2-+2.5, he is really really surprising me with his numbers
 
Re: 12/20 charlie pmps 80 +2 56

he was not nearly as interested in his food as he usually has had to run to the store to get gravy lovers contacted a 24 hour vet just in case he won't eat and I can't get them up I will also rub Carol on the gums when I get home about a minute and a half from home right now
 
Re: 12/20 charlie pmps 80 +2 56 +2.5 52

I rubbed karo on the gums, I was such a panic at the grocery store I bought the wrong Fancy Feast, if I can't keep him above 50 with the Karo I am going to head to the 24/vet. 53 before the Karo will retest in 15
 
Re: 12/20 charlie pmps 80 +2 56 +2.5 52 +2.75 57

as soon as he's over 60 I'm try the story again and get some gravy lovers
 
Re: 12/20 charlie pmps 80 +2 56 +2.5 52 +2.75 57

I've noticed since he's been home from being boarded that his crazy hunger appetite he had previous is no longer there and I know that once diabetics are getting close to being regulated that crazy hunger goes away but how do you make the decision if it's the crazy hunger going away or its a different situation.
 
Re: 12/20 charlie pmps 80 +2.5 52 +3 46heading to emergency

he was just taken back is there gonna start him on a glucose i v, wish us luck.
 
Re: 12/20 charlie pmps 80 +2.5 52 +3 46heading to emergency

I'm really not sure why his crazy hunger has diminished, I've had plenty of dealing with low numbers, but I figured I better get him to the vet before it was a crisis situation(it is a crisis situation in my head) but with the glucose iv he should be in good hands and out danger soon.
 
Re: 12/20 charlie pmps 80 +2.5 52 +3 46heading to emergency

He is at an 86 on animal meter. Vet is just finishing up with surgery, then going to give Charlie an exam and come talk to me.
 
Re: 12/20 charlie pmps 80 +2.5 52 +3 46heading to emergency

cats and their appetites are so unpredictable that I don't think there is a real answer to your question.

I just saw you have a at meter.
 
Re: 12/20 charlie pmps 80 +2.5 52 +3 46heading to emergency

Still at vet, not nervous about monitoring, nervous that I can't keep his numbers up, I have dealt with low numbers plenty of time and he had no problem eating gravy lovers to raise his sugar, but the appetite just was not there, the corn syrup bumbed him to 56, 15 min later 46, decided to get to the vet before I had to get to the vet.
In room waiting for vet to talk to me
 
Re: 12/20 charlie pmps 80 +2.5 52 +3 46heading to emergency

as I was talking with the vet at chin chilla came in that was not breathing so she had to rush off to the emergency I will update in a little bit
 
Re: 12/20 charlie pmps 80 +2.5 52 +3 46heading to emergency

Taking him home, going to try to get him to eat and use Karo on gums to keep him up. I will up date
 
Re: 12/20 charlie pmps 80 +2.5 52 +3 46heading to emergency

Those 40's can be scary, but usually we just say "Feed the 40's"....but if you didn't have the correct food or were just nervous, it's never a bad idea to run them to the vet

Charlie's earned himself another reduction too...but it'll be important for you to monitor carefully over the next few cycles....the depot could continue to effect his numbers for a few cycles before seeing what the reduction to 2.25 will really do.

The latest numbers say above 67 on the AlphaTrak is the same as our 50's on our human meters, so that 80 is good to see...Hopefully he'll continue to come up a little so you can bring him safely home!

Keep us informed on how he's doing! Come on now Charlie...you're worrying your bean!
 
Re: 12/20 charlie pmps 80 +2.5 52 +3 46heading to emergency

they wanted to hospitalize on and watch for ketones but I thought ketones we're only at low numbers I will update after I get him home
 
Re: 12/20 charlie pmps 80 +2.5 52 +3 46heading to emergency

Ketones are usually seen at high numbers, not low ones

Don't know why they'd be worried about ketones!

Now they can have ketones in their urine at any number, but highs are much more common.

I think he's just trying to tell you that he's on too much juice!!

Good luck with the reduction!!
 
Re: 12/20 charlie pmps 80 +2.5 52 +3 46heading to emergency

Darin,
Keep us updated. Praying for Charlie and you.
Paula
 
Re: 12/20 charlie pmps 80 +2.5 52 +3 46heading to emergency

He is holding at 80 on there animal meter, I went to the grocery store across the street from the vet and got gravy lovers we are driving home now and I am dipping my finger in the can and he's licking the gravy off my finger on your drive home, I will test in 10 minutes
 
Re: 12/20 charlie pmps 80 +2.5 52 +3 46heading to emergency

Maybe going back up to his old dose was too much for him after being on the reduced dose while you were gone??? Good luck with the reduction and I hope there is no more drama tonight.
 
Re: 12/20 charlie pmps 80 +2.5 52 +5 53

I am going to skip his morning shot because I have to leave for work between +2-+2.5
 
Re: 12/20 charlie pmps 80 +2.5 52 +5 53 +5.25 55

Elise, I am starting to think the samething. I think I will start at 2 units at tomorrow's pm cycle, its crazy, I have not been this panicked since my first under 50.

Thanks Paula
 
Re: 12/20 charlie pmps 80 +2.5 52 +5 53 +5.25 55

Oh geese what an afternoon! Sorry no one was around. It's always better to be safe. you never know he may be bouncing by morning, but he's definitely earned a reduction.
 
Re: 12/20 charlie pmps 80 +2.5 52 +5 53 +5.25 55 +5.5 60

Thanks Ann, I felt that since I was not able to get him to eat and he had bumped up to 56 from the corn syrup then 15 min dropped to 46, it was better to get to the vet just to make sure.
Should I have worked him up from his boarding dose of 1.5 by .25u to his preboarding dose of 2.5?
My heart is finally back in my chest, I can just imagine what my blood pressure was during all this.
 
Re: 12/20 charlie pmps 80 +2.5 52 +5 53 +5.25 55 +5.5 60 +6

He may bounce pretty high by morning, so I'd probably wait and see where he's at before deciding for sure to skip

Since he recently earned the reduction back to 2.5 (before boarding), it's possible that if not for the boarding change in dose, he would have earned this reduction sooner....I wouldn't worry about working him back up from his boarding dose...just keep working him down as he earns them

I think the vast majority of us would have returned to the last "good dose" after boarding, so starting back at the 2.5 is what most of us would have done
 
Re: 12/20 charlie pmps 80 +5.25 55 +5.5 60 +6 74 +6.5 68 +7

75 @+7 is 2 hrs since any food, I will get a +7.5 and +8 looking for rising numbers.
 
Re: 12/20 charlie pmps 80 +5.5 60 +6 74 +6.5 68 +7 75 +7.5 8

Looking good Charlie!!

If he's had no food for at least 2 hours and his numbers have stayed stable or continued to rise, I think you'd be good to go ahead and get some sleep...you could always go ahead and give him a little more food...even if it's the high carb gravy so you won't worry. He's made his point...there's nothing more to prove tonight

Surf safely Charlie!! Beans need sleep too!
 
Re: 12/20 charlie pmps 80 +5.5 60 +6 74 +6.5 68 +7 75 +7.5 8

I'm glad he is doing better. I think it is very scary when they drop and you fear that they won't eat. I had that happen one time. I think Max was close to going hypo and was growling and scaring me. He was in the sink for testing and I didn't know how I would get him out and then I was wondering if I would have to do what you did if he wouldn't eat. It's always best to err on the side of caution. I bet you will sleep well tonight. Take care.
 
Re: 12/20 charlie pmps 80 +5.5 60 +6 74 +6.5 68 +7 75 +7.5 8

So glad Charlie is doing better.Get some rest. Try to relax. (deep breaths) I know how hard that is, but you have to keep the BP in check. Your kitties need you.
Charlie surf well today. Your Daddy is really worried about you.
Paula :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top