12/20 Casanova PMPS 343 +4 301

Status
Not open for further replies.

casanovasmom

Member Since 2010
Well, once again he gave me too good of a number after a dose increase! Last night his numbers were still on the high side after bumping his dose up to 4.75 in the PM but this morning tested first and got 65 then right after got 76. I just gave him some food and will test again in about 30 minutes. What numbers am I looking for and what sort of dose should I give? Thanks for the help.

Yesterdays link viewtopic.php?f=9&t=32433
Laura
 
Re: 12/20 Casanova AMPS 65/76 !! HELP with next dose

oops...already feed. Let me go get it. He didn't eat much just a couple bites. I can stall for a while-atleast an hour.
 
Re: 12/20 Casanova AMPS 65/76 !! HELP with next dose

Retest 30 minutes from your last test to see which way he is going.
Tell Casanova I am sorry about taking the food away. :sad:
 
Re: 12/20 Casanova AMPS 65/76 NO SHOT HOUR LATER 50

You have to leave soon right?
Do you want to shoot a BCS dose? You have to be comfortable though. How long are you gone today?
 
Re: 12/20 Casanova AMPS 65/76 NO SHOT HOUR LATER 50

I'm off today so I can wait awile. Most mornings I have to leave home around 9 so I don't want to push it past that buy anything before would be okay. What is the best thing to do? Wait or shoot a lower dose? I'll trust your judgement.
 
Re: 12/20 Casanova AMPS 65/76 NO SHOT HOUR LATER 50

It looks like he is still dropping so......how long past your regular shot time are you?
No AMPS yet...only when you shoot is it AMPS. Your 65/76 was +12.
 
Re: 12/20 Casanova +12 65/76 NO SHOT HOUR LATER 50

Usually shoot at 6:30 so I'm about 1 hour and 15minutes past regular time.
 
Re: 12/20 Casanova +12 65/76 NO SHOT HOUR LATER 50

Since he is still dropping and you are already 1 and 1/2 hours past shot time I think I would skip. I usually do not like to see anyone skip a shot and I like to shoot low myself but even I would not shoot a number in the 40's especially when still dropping.
You can feed poor starving Casanova now. :-D

He will be high I am sure later.....from bouncing and lack of shot. Not sure yet about pm dose......post number one hour before regular shot time. The good thing about skipping is you will be able to get right back on schedule with pm shot.
 
Re: 12/20 Casanova +12 65/76 NO SHOT HOUR LATER 50

Okay. I'm assuming that you didn't want me to feed so that we could see what his true numbers were before food, is that right? Even if I test after he eats and the number is higher I shouldn't shoot because that would have only been because of the food. Is that right?

Thanks for your help!
 
Re: 12/20 Casanova +16 65 No Shot AM

Yes, you don't want to feed when you are stalling, because the number you get will be food influenced, you want to see if he is rising naturally. If you feed, you get a food spike...if you shoot based on the food spike, the spike will wear off and the insulin will kick in at about the same time, possibly causing a big drop in numbers. So, if you are stalling, don't feed.

When you start seeing dropping 40s, you could feed a tsp of LC if you want to continue to stall, but then it gets tricky to judge if the number is rising naturally, so you need to stall long enough after that to be able to judge that...which would have been a problem for you this morning.

As Miriam said, I would not shoot a 40 something number no matter what (and I shoot low too), and since that 45 was a dropping number, it wasn't likely to rise enough to shoot by +14....it's just too low, not enough room for safety. Skipping was the best option IMO.

You should take a look at the Data Ready Sticky, and this post by Libby about Dealing with Low Preshots.
 
Re: 12/20 Casanova +21 244 Back from vet No Shot AM

We had a scheduled check up today from three weeks ago when Casanova had started to urinate and drink more than usual. She wanted to test fructosamine again, yes...eventhough I home test. His number was a little high when we got home and we'll see at +22 if it was high because of the stress or if it was just naturally going back up. Not bad since he had his last dose almost 24 hours ago at this point. I showed my vet his ss and told her how I had weaned him off of all dry to a completely wet low carb diet. She was nonplussed which just cements my opinion that most vets, at least in my town, don't really have a clue in terms of feline diabetes. I half expected a lecture but nope. I told her where I was getting my support and that I felt Casanova was in good hands. Will be curious to see what his fructosamine level is. Anyway, I'll check again at 5:30 and then will need some help with dose suggestions depending on the number we get. Oh yea, he has lost almost a pound in the last three weeks. He is at 20.4 :razz:
 
Re: 12/20 Casanova +21 244 Back from vet No Shot AM

Good job!!! The IM vet I met with last week also wanted to do a fructosamine on Gracie. I refused because (1) Gracie does not need the stress of a vetty visit when my hometesting tells a WHOLE lot more than a fruc test (because we test alot) and (2) I disagreed with the vet's approach to FD. Just something to keep in mind....if you do alot of hometesting, you can save $$ as the fruc test is just going to give you a number based on what has been going on for the last couple of weeks....which you already know from looking at your SS. :-D
 
Re: 12/20 Casanova +23 333 4.75 Units Again??

Just tested and at +23 got 333. The shot from last night must be finally wearing off. Should I shoot the 4.75 again? I'll test again at 6:30 right before I give him his shot.

Thanks,
Laura
 
Re: 12/20 Casanova +23 333 4.75 Units Again?HELP!

Laura, I am thinking that the low this morning was related to a bounce clearing, not so much the increase. I would be tempted to hold the 4.75u dose, even though he technically earned a decrease with the 45 this morning. What do you think?

Hopefully others will chime in too.
 
Re: 12/20 Casanova +23 333 4.75 Units Again?HELP!

I think that sounds okay. I know that those little increments, .25, .50, and .75 do make a difference, but it is such an tiny amount. I was so surprised this morning at the low numbers but I guess Lantus is strong stuff.
 
Re: 12/20 Casanova +23 333 4.75 Units Again?HELP!

Looking at the SS, at 4.5 you had some nice blue numbers. Then a bounce, but increased the dose before the 72 hours were to clear it. To me, it looks like you increased the dose just when the bounce from blue numbers was clearing. You only held that 4.5u for 5 cycles instead of 6. I would do 4.5u.
 
Re: 12/20 Casanova PMPS 343

I split the difference and did a smidge less than 4.75. Can someone paste the link to the photos of the syringe being filled .25,.50 etc.? I found it the other day but now can't find it to save my life!

Thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top