12/20/18 Olive AMPS 224; +5=111; +9=155; PMPS 232; +4.5=113; +6.5=114

Olive & Paula

Member Since 2015
Yesterday caber 76

Not to bad a start today. She is alert this morning so it must be one of her good days.

I have an inservice this afternoon, it's mandatory so have to go. It's one thing I don't like about working. Having to go in and listen to a speech.

Hope everyone has a good day.
 
Paws crossed today is a good day. I read on Lou’s condo that you are worried about the amount of pain meds. With acromegaly and occasional p’titis in the pixture, I wouldn’t worry about it. It’s much better to stay ahead of the pain. Neko was on bupe, a slightly larger dose than Olive, for almost two years. Her QOL with it was much better. The only down side is that over time you might need to raise the dose a bitt, though indidn’t. Think of acro as chronic pain. Unfortunately with kitties,, there aren’t a lot of meds that we can use to help.
 
Paws crossed today is a good day. I read on Lou’s condo that you are worried about the amount of pain meds. With acromegaly and occasional p’titis in the pixture, I wouldn’t worry about it. It’s much better to stay ahead of the pain. Neko was on bupe, a slightly larger dose than Olive, for almost two years. Her QOL with it was much better. The only down side is that over time you might need to raise the dose a bitt, though indidn’t. Think of acro as chronic pain. Unfortunately with kitties,, there aren’t a lot of meds that we can use to help.

Thanks yet again Wendy. I think the gab does more for her acro than the bupe. I really don't think she has to much p'titis pain anymore maybe some residual discomfort. By the time she gets her 2nd dose of bupre she is just one big blob and then she's even more of a blob if that's possible. I

Here's a crazy thought. I stopped the zobaline because I ran out and she doesn't have neuropathy so why reorder it right. But then I notice I can't brush her and her walking is back to being very cautious like being on eggs. So I restart zob and she is sure footed and I can brush and comb her and she likes it. So now I'm out of it again and those two things return. So I'm wondering if the zob really makes a difference with the nerve pain alone.

ETA: I just went back to read on zob. Yes it can make a difference. Two of the symptoms listed was few steps then needing to rest, lack of endurance, she has both. Its probably safe to say she has nerve pain when using the box too. I always said early on there has to be some nerve damage in her back end because she would try to bite if you touched her. So back on zob we go.
 
Last edited:
Hi Paula,
You do what you have to do, and when Olive gives you such strong "advice", you follow it! I'm so sorry she is in pain, but if not for you she never would have had a chance at a reasonably good life. I remember how stoic and uncomplaining she was during our lap of the car relay that brought her to you. She knew she was going to someone who would help her and love her.
We hope that Olive's good days will occur more and more often in the New Year.
Wishing you all a Merry Christmas!
 
I don't mind juggling meds. It's the knowing if one works or not. If not helping, why give it and put her through it. But then again as long as it's in food or squirted in, she's pretty easy to med.I

She is a great traveler. Not a peep out of her and she doesn't relieve herself in the carrier. Not like my others who stink up the car.
 
I'm glad it's a good day for Olive.
I hate juggling meds but had to learn to live with it with Allen.
What's an inservice?

Inservice is a presentation on a particular topic related to the industry. Today was about an active shooter and what to do. In nursing or medical field you have to have so many continuing credits per year. These count as some of them. There is one a month.
 
Back
Top