12-20-17-Jones - AMPS 266, +3 196 + 6 225 PMPS 194 - Weirdest cycle ever! But he has gained!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracey&Jones (GA)

Member Since 2016
I am feeling like I am behind the eight ball here. Is it not enough insulin or bounce? Combination of the two?

I am going to take Wendy's advice and bump up the dose a little to .2 units. He eats most of his food from +3 to +6. I can't consistently get him a +9 though there is always a bit of food left in his bowl.

The pred is just a factor that keeps me on my toes.

:(:eek:
 
He still likes to Jonesy dive often by +3 which could be causing some bounces. Regardless, think if you bump him up a little and maybe use some higher %LC or MC food when needed, hopefully that'll help see more green and a bit flatter? I know with his tummy changing foods is not easy but it's been a while and not sure what he's eating at the moment. Just tossing it out there.
 
He is on the Rawz primarily, in general - pretty LC 0% based on the information they provided. He also get the Tiki Chicken Velvet Mousse every once in a while. So low carb.

I have tried that strategy before but I am not home during the week day to get that first meal in of MC then move on the LC. Not unless I find something that I can mix together with the Rawz. Hmmm. The hard part is finding something that doesn't upset the digestive system and he will eat. ;)

His favourite is the KD food of his civvie but that is like 23% carb and too high. Maybe something around 8-10%
 
I may just make this easier on myself. I have a ton of the dry EN food left. Maybe if I just ground it and put it on top of this Rawz in the morning....I wonder if that would do the trick. Not a lot just a small sprinkling.
 
He still likes to Jonesy dive often by +3 which could be causing some bounces

So in addition to the Whiskas treat he gets at testing time, I added ground up whiskas to his food bowl. I have sense dropped back the ground up whiskas to 1/2 a whiskas in the bowl. So he gets 1-1/2 whiskas treats both morning and night. I think we may have solved our +3 drop. May be a little too well.

So now the higher carbs are going in...dose needs to increase it looks like. I am working with drops here, so I have been a little aggressive in dose changes. Which makes me wonder if I should just jump to 0.25u or if I should hold the F.20 for a few more cycles. I always worry as I have that nasty pred pushing up his numbers. I would like to see them a little lower - like in the blue range. Would love greens but not sure we will get there.


Do you have any thoughts Karen?
 
As long as the pred dose isn't changing, that shouldn't have any impact on his numbers. What I'd be more worried about is glucose toxicity. It's been 10 days since he saw green, so he's "out of practice". I would do 0.2 again tonight, just so you have the full 6 cycles at what is around the same dose, then increase. Since all he's seeing are higher blues, I would go with a good sized increase next time. The amount would depend on how much you can monitor the next few days.
 
tutu of shame

It is always a guess with him. The change in prednisolone dose over the summer caused some upset. Then he does have IBD, so lots of food will aggravate that, so I needed to find something that didn't. I ended up in the ER in August - had a friend do the insulin shot, but DS forgot to give the pred. So he dropped dangerously low in August that seems to have made him really sensitive and bouncy. He gets flares now and again which he was in the ER for three days late September - with no insulin. So had to start over on the depot. They gave him high carb food which I had to wean him off. And here we sit....trying to get things to even out again.

All that said, he is happy, cuddles with me at night and purrs non-stop. So this is more of a I think I can do better by him if he allows me to.
 
With SLGS you should hold a week, then increase by 0.25 units, but I think you have your own tweaks on SLGS now?

Yeah, I have a 70 reduction point. Dealing with drops differences and doing the F vs. regular thing, so may not hold a dose a whole week. I was thinking of bumping up to .25 this weekend if I didn't see good movement on the F.20 - which means two more drops of insulin:smuggrin:
 
Last edited:
This is the weirdest cycle I have seen on him I think. Going with the flow, sticking with F0.2 and seeing where that takes him.

PLUS - he has gained weight again. The first time in over a year and half....he is over 5 kgs! 5.125 to be exact....I did a happy dance. DH thought I lost my mind!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top