12/2 Zoot! AMPS 281 +6.5 82 +7.5 97 PMPS 134 question on skipping dose

Cinnie Cole

Member Since 2019
I am using the SLGS method but have just started this two days ago. Zoot!'s normal pre-shots are in the mid-200s and this evening's drop to 134 plus his nadir of 82 were very different from previous numbers. So I went to the SLGS sheet and what I read in the Sticky was with a pre-shot below 150 I should not give him is dose.

Was this the right instruction to follow since he has only been on this dosage for four days? And it seemed everything else above the instruction I followed had to do with longer term monitoring and basing the dosage off the nadir.

I will go back to his dose tomorrow AM, but I was worried that a low preshot would send him into hypo territory in the middle of the night tonight. Am I being overly cautious?

Thanks!
 
There are two parts to the SLGS part of the Sticky on shooting lower numbers. The first part is for new members, the part “with experience” is for when you have more data. Gradually you can reduce your number not to shoot below to 90. There are also other options like stalling to see if numbers come up to shootable numbers, and shooting less than full dose. Could you put the date of the diabetes diagnosis in your signature?

Looks like Zoot earned a reduction to 1.75 units today.:D Side note, since he was seeing high green on 1.5 units, you should not have increased to 2.0 units. Water under the bridge now. Let’s see how he does on 1.75.

One other thing, low preshots does not mean they dive low. Lantus is great at keeping lower numbers down. In other words, you get flatter cycles. But if you cannot monitor at night, you would not be able to see that. A before bed test last night would have been a good idea. We determine how to dose kitty based on how low the dose takes the cat, which usually isn’t the preshots. So we nee that mid cycle data.
 
There are two parts to the SLGS part of the Sticky on shooting lower numbers. The first part is for new members, the part “with experience” is for when you have more data. Gradually you can reduce your number not to shoot below to 90. There are also other options like stalling to see if numbers come up to shootable numbers, and shooting less than full dose. Could you put the date of the diabetes diagnosis in your signature?

Looks like Zoot earned a reduction to 1.75 units today.:D Side note, since he was seeing high green on 1.5 units, you should not have increased to 2.0 units. Water under the bridge now. Let’s see how he does on 1.75.

One other thing, low preshots does not mean they dive low. Lantus is great at keeping lower numbers down. In other words, you get flatter cycles. But if you cannot monitor at night, you would not be able to see that. A before bed test last night would have been a good idea. We determine how to dose kitty based on how low the dose takes the cat, which usually isn’t the preshots. So we nee that mid cycle data.

Thanks for the feedback - I don't think I can do this. My husband is not supportive of my following the group and only wants to rely on our Vet. Every crisis we have is a battle because it is always after hours or on a weekend and when I come here for help I get pushback from him. I am going to do the 2 U tomorrow AM and see what it looks like and deal with it tomorrow. I feel terrible for Zoot! I only want him to be better and I am just exhausted from fighting over every single thing.
 
Who shoots, you or your husband? Zoot has shown you 2.0 units is too much insulin for him. Safety first.
 
Back
Top