Debra and Yoyo
Member Since 2018
Day 10 @.75Unit Lantus http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-208-8-264-amps-304-2-253-4-148-5-158.207298/
Good morning,Hi Debra It's looking like Yoyo could use a dose increase to bring down his overall numbers. If he were my kitty, I would increase tonight to 1 unit if you are able to monitor.

Thank you! Much appreciated!! Question for you....so if Yoyo stays about the same after day 7 of his 7 days, (and it would then be a total of 14 days at dose .75Unit), what happens then? Do I continue giving .75 Units or is there something else that you are looking for in his cycles?@Bobbie And Bubba
With SLGS you hold the dose if the nadirs are between 90 and 149. Every 7 days you evaluate the dose, unless a reduction is earned. Today is only day 3 of this 7 days.
- If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
- If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
- If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
Me too!Hope Yoyo spends more time in blue today![]()
Carla I just realized that and was coming to tag you as you know SLGL better . Thanks !@Bobbie And Bubba
With SLGS you hold the dose if the nadirs are between 90 and 149. Every 7 days you evaluate the dose, unless a reduction is earned. Today is only day 3 of this 7 days.
- If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
- If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
- If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
Yes. You continue with the current dose until he either earns a reduction or his nadirs go above 149. Then you increase the dose.Thank you! Much appreciated!! Question for you....so if Yoyo stays about the same after day 7 of his 7 days, (and it would then be a total of 14 days at dose .75Unit), what happens then? Do I continue giving .75 Units or is there something else that you are looking for in his cycles?
Sorry for the confusion Debra.Yes. You continue with the current dose until he either earns a reduction or his nadirs go above 149. Then you increase the dose.
Please, don't apologize. These things happen sometimes. I value all of your opinions and advise!Sorry for the confusion Debra.![]()

Please, don't apologize. These things happen sometimes. I value all of your opinions and advise!
Yoyo is doing good today. I am experimenting with his food. It seems and I don't know if this is always going to be the case, but by with-holding his food during +4 and +5 it gave Yoyo the chance to get even lower at +6. At +6 he was actually hungry and he ate his 1/6 portion of food all by himself. He usually That is great news! Experimenting with the food timing is the only way to see what works best and as you said, it might not always be the case because these cats have their own manual.
I did some experimenting today too with Bubba. I usually give him his second breakfast around +3 but today I gave at +4 and his numbers looked better than they have in a while. Some of the better numbers could be the absence of the steroid ointment but, I think I will continue this way for a bit and see if it continues to help him.
That's awesome! You're a great mama beanby with-holding his food during +4 and +5 it gave Yoyo the chance to get even lower at +6. At +6 he was actually hungry and he ate his 1/6 portion of food all by himself. He usually makes me hold his bowl while he eats...can we say spoiled![]()
I feel bad though, he is hungry. I just gave him his next 1/6 can at +7. He's going up now, but to be expected.That's awesome! You're a great mama bean![]()
Maybe I misunderstood. It seems like he really wasn't hungry @+4 and +5 so you were pressuring him to eat. Now you are letting him wait a little longer and he's actually wants to eat the food. I think that's ok.feel bad though, he is hungry. I just gave him his next 1/6 can at +7.
At +4 and +5 I didn't offer him food, that is why I feel bad. He probably was hungry but I was experimenting with the food to see if I withheld his food if his numbers would come down. It seems he surfed more with no food, but I don't know if I did right because he probably wanted some food.Maybe I misunderstood. It seems like he really wasn't hungry @+4 and +5 so you were pressuring him to eat. Now you are letting him wait a little longer and he's actually wants to eat the food. I think that's ok.
I always recommend feeding when he's hungry, unless it's within 2 hours of test time in which case that means he would need a snack to hold him over given maybe around +9.
OK, I get it. It makes sense that his numbers will be lower, but since you are trying to help him with weight gain, you may need to offer him something at those times. Is there any way you can offer 1/8 @+4 and 1/8@+6. Could be a good compromise?At +4 and +5 I didn't offer him food, that is why I feel bad.
I fed him at +6,+7 and +8 each time 1/6 can so he did get his total of 1.5 cans in for the morning/afternoon. I know, I don't like skipping his meal times but he usually isn't hungry because I offer him his food so close together in trying to get him to eat the bulk before +4. It's hard to get the weight back on I guess because he is not regulated and other members have told me it took them over a year to get the weight back on to their kittys.OK, I get it. It makes sense that his numbers will be lower, but since you are trying to help him with weight gain, you may need to offer him something at those times. Is there any way you can offer 1/8 @+4 and 1/8@+6. Could be a good compromise?
I fed him at +6,+7 and +8 each time 1/6 can so he did get his total of 1.5 cans in for the morning/afternoon. I know, I don't like skipping his meal times but he usually isn't hungry because I offer him his food so close together in trying to get him to eat the bulk before +4. It's hard to get the weight back on I guess because he is not regulated and other members have told me it took them over a year to get the weight back on to their kittys.
Wow....I just looked at Bailey's SS, .01...FANTASTIC....Congratulations! Looking really good!!! I don't know how you measure .01, good for you!OK, I get it. It makes sense that his numbers will be lower, but since you are trying to help him with weight gain, you may need to offer him something at those times. Is there any way you can offer 1/8 @+4 and 1/8@+6. Could be a good compromise?


