12/2 Rocket PMPS 110 +2.5 88 +3.5 77 +4.5 74 +5.25 74

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 12/2 Rocket AMPS 104 +1 77 +2 61 +2.5 58 +3 58

+2.5 57.6...fed a lil more
+3 57.6
at +3.15 fluids given...here he gets chicken dust....will test at +4

making more ~O) ~O)
 
Re: 12/2 Rocket AMPS 104 +1 77 +2 61 +2.5 58 +3 58

Great numbers Rocket.....can you surf 10 points higher though? :lol: Awesome job Claudia! :thumbup
 
Re: 12/2 Rocket AMPS 104 +1 77 +2 61 +2.5 58 +3 58

Doing great Claudia!
I am watching your "mad" skills!
Enjoy your jo! ~O)
 
Re: 12/2 Rocket AMPS 104 +1 77 +2 61 +2.5 58 +3 58 +4.5 72

he ate at +4 so i waited 1/2 hr to test....now at +4.5 72....heading out....hope he is ok...need to go get more strips and lancets....i figure with the testing that's he's making me do lately i'm almost run out....so need to stock up!!! will visit condos when i get back.... :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/2 Rocket AMPS 104 +1 77 +2 61 +2.5 58 +3 58 +4.5 72

He's doing amazing!!!!! I bet a few more days like this he'd earn that reduction the easy way instead of the rapid drop way. I'm still really confused about the reduction rules though.

High fives to Rocket!
 
Re: 12/2 Rocket AMPS 104 +1 77 +2 61 +2.5 58 +3 58 +4.5 72

Rocket,
WOW WOW, I see a reduction in your immediate future..... Look at those greens on your SS, great job.... Moma bean, will be busy today, but Im sure she is soooo happy...

Hugs w/catnip

Essi


Have a great Thursday guys ....
 
Re: 12/2 Rocket AMPS 104 +2.5 58 +3 58 +4.5 72 +8.5 90

ok got back at his +8...he ate then....so tested +8.5 90

i emailed the vet regarding his #s and she now wants me to stop giving insulin for a few days to see how he reacts without it......has anyone's vets suggested that before? won't that make matters worse for him?

also another thing i have to share with you guys....i have noticed that since Rocket came off remission and since he started insulin...his poops have become darker almost black....is that normal with insulin?
should i be worried further?....i emailed that info to the vet and she is asking if it's black....so i replied to her that almost not quite black...but she hasn't replied back now....

what do you guys think?
 
Re: 12/2 Rocket AMPS 104 +4.5 72 +8.5 90-have questions-help

I don't have the scoop on the poop for ya......and since this is Curry's first go around, I can't help ya on stopping the insulin.......

I'm sure one of the 'perts will step in and have good suggestions for ya.

Rocket is really taking off though...and doing a very nice job.
 
Re: 12/2 Rocket AMPS 104 +4.5 72 +8.5 90-have questions-help

Claudia a lot of vets think any number under 200 or 150 is good enough to be off insulin. I think for Lantus that is too high.
Rocket is on a low dose but the next dose he needs to earn would be .25. Although he is doing great he has not earned a dosecrease. Since he was already OTJ once before it can be a little harder to get him off the second time. You do not want to take him off too soon and undo everything you worked so hard to do.

His pre-shot number are good but generally for OTJ it is better if they are green. The best think for Rocket is to keep him on insulin for as long as he shows he needs it. Of course he is your cat and you need to decide if you would rather do what the vet thinks is best or what is advised here.

I am sure many others will offer their opinions. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/2 Rocket AMPS 104 +4.5 72 +8.5 90-have questions-help

Claudia...don't know about the poops but Rocket has been looking good. I am certain you will make the best decision for him..you are very smart and have danced this dance before.
 
Re: 12/2 Rocket AMPS 104 +4.5 72 +8.5 90-have questions-help

i won't take him off the insulin...he clearly needs it...even this low of a dose...why aren't vets more in tune with diabetes and the different types of insulin? i personally think his vet is crazy for asking me that...i clearly won't do it....she didn't seem too pleased when i told her i had reduced his dose to 0.5u! i had to explain in my email to her that i had purchased the half unit marking syringes....with that said this vet is not the same vet that treated Rocket with FD....i have not mentioned to this one that i belong to this group....she would think I'M crazy!

i was just wondering if others have had similar experience with their vets...especially those whose kitties are getting to be always on the greens and soon to be otj!
 
Re: 12/2 Rocket AMPS 104 +4.5 72 +8.5 90-have questions-help

I can't answer your question about poop! You could always take a stool sample to the vet. Has anything with Rocket's diet or other medications changed?
 
Re: 12/2 Rocket AMPS 104 +4.5 72 +8.5 90-have questions-help

Sienne and Gabby said:
I can't answer your question about poop! You could always take a stool sample to the vet. Has anything with Rocket's diet or other medications changed?

no nothing....i've noticed it a couple of weeks ago....they're good consistency and size...but the color has changed....i thought it was the insulin...and i decided to ask here today....today he had a good one....not dark (almost black like it has been)....so hopefully things are improving....whatever it is....hmmmm...still puzzled at it....sorry to gross you guys out... :o

PMPS 109.8...another blue!
 
Re: 12/2 Rocket AMPS 104 +4.5 72 +8.5 90-have questions-help

Claudia & Rocket said:
Sienne and Gabby said:
I can't answer your question about poop! You could always take a stool sample to the vet. Has anything with Rocket's diet or other medications changed?

no nothing....i've noticed it a couple of weeks ago....they're good consistency and size...but the color has changed....i thought it was the insulin...and i decided to ask here today....today he had a good one....not dark (almost black like it has been)....so hopefully things are improving....whatever it is....hmmmm...still puzzled at it....sorry to gross you guys out... :o

PMPS 109.8...another blue!

have you changed type of food for Rocket or anything like that? I agree taking a stool sample to the vet if it keeps up nice pmps tonight
 
Re: 12/2 Rocket PMPS 110

a stool which is black and tarry in appearance *could* mean there's blood in the stool.
i'd mention it to your vet...
 
Re: 12/2 Rocket PMPS 110

Jill & Alex said:
a stool which is black and tarry in appearance *could* mean there's blood in the stool.
i'd mention it to your vet...
i have mentioned it to her and all she asked was if he was eating fine and/or throwing up....which i said he was ok there....she dismissed it...so today he did a reg color poop...not dark as it has been....will keep an eye on that and if it continues i will gather a sample and take it to the vet....no diet changes either....he is eating less of the oceanfish so perhaps that's it??? hmmm...the puzzle continues....

+2.5 88.2

he is being more feisty today...alert and playful...though he gets tired easily....from his CRF he is tired lots....so the 5 mins he plays are so PRECIOUS to me...
 
Re: 12/2 Rocket PMPS 110 +1.15 117 +2.5 88

I love the WCR. There is nothing more beautiful than a feisty, playful kitty especially when they have chronic illnesses. I know those moments are so special. Just keep doing what you're doing. Rocket is doing so well.
 
Re: 12/2 Rocket PMPS 110 +1.15 117 +2.5 88 +3.5 77 +4.5 74

+4.5 73.8
slow descent tonight....oh i hope he doesn't go low later in the cycle....i've read some kitties have done that....hmmm
 
Re: 12/2 Rocket PMPS 110 +1.15 117 +2.5 88 +3.5 77 +4.5 74

It looks to me that Rocket nadirs pretty early in the cycle so he will probably surf from here.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top