12/2 Pumbaa AMPS/111 +3/129 +6/144 +9/207 PMPS/249

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
NOTE: Pumbaa's SS is in reverse order, with the most recent data at the top.

I am so glad that Pumbaa, so far *knock on wood* and insert
antijinx-emoticon.png
, has not bounced after his low of 68 last night.

Will he go green again tonight? Only time, and lack of sleep, will tell. :) If I go to bed at a normal time, I wouldn't be able to collect this pertinent data due to the later nadirs on Levemir, and would just be making assumptions later. If only Pumbaa would have his lowest numbers during the day, life would be so much easier! But that is something that neither he nor I can control. So, I will continue to become fast friends with the sofa. Unfortunately. On 11/28, Pumbaa went up consistently from his AMPS number to his PMPS number, but then dropped to greens at PM +6, so that is what I have to take into consideration.

Being a cause-and-effect, action/reaction type of person, it's hard for me to look at last night's green's without thinking they were caused by the dose increase to 2.75U, even though I know all about the shed and realize that Pumbaa most likely would have had the same numbers had I not increased his dose. That is just how my brain works. :roll:

Where did the weekend go? The only difference in my daily routine on weekends is that I try and jam in running errands on top of everything else, including doing paying work. Sleep late in the morning? *LMAO* With a diabetic cat?

Hope you all have wonderful Mondays!

Suze
 
I had the same thought earlier today ... wonder if he would have done that anyway if you hadn't increased. I think "yes".
Carl

ETA - I think "yes" because he hasn't shown an instant reaction to dose increases in the past. I think the green was coming anyway.
 
Carl, hindsight is so wonderful, isn't it, when you have data to back it up? *LOL* (i'm not making fun of you, I'm making fun of trying to predict what Pumbaa will do, since that has been nearly impossible for me.) :)

I increased Pumbaa last night because I didn't want him to go IR again at his 2.50U current dose.

We shall see what he does tonight, three cycles into the new dose. And just keep trying to predict the future, based on the past. :roll:

Suze
 
Increasing was the right move. But the data says "no dive on the day of an increase" until now. The data says it was against the odds. Which is probably why he did it. :-D
Carl
 
It's not uncommon to have a nice green nadir after a flat yellow surf.

What I'm not seeing is the expected NDW. So we will keep watching.

Actually it might be about time for some more green? :mrgreen:
 
Heather, thank you for the wishes! Unfortunately, Pumbaa's body decided to do something completely different.

(Reminds me of Monty Python, "And now for something completely different!" *LOL*)
 
Yo Pumbaa wrong way buddy....come on back down Autumn wants you to come play with her on the green and blue floors. While Yellow is pretty on a cold winter's day it isn't so pretty on a big handsome boy like you. You would look so much better in blues and greens.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Thank you, Mel. I keep telling Pumbaa what a sissy he looks like with his pink numbers! *LOL*

Autumn is doing simply awesome!!!!!

Suze
 
There's the New Dose Wonkiness I was looking for. :smile:

I think it's a good sign. If it goes on more than 30 hours, then that tell me the dose is still too low.

Either way (with the usual caveats) it goes up to 3.0U after 7 days (total) @ 2.75.
 
I think it's a good sign. If it goes on more than 30 hours, then that tell me the dose is still too low

Can you expand on that? Just never heard it before.
Thanks,
Carl
 
New Dose Wonkiness (NDW)

Supposed to clear in 24 hours or less. I believe that would be the pink/red/black portions. From blue to blue (yellow to yellow) I've seen it last up to 30 hours. The important point is it clears relatively fast. May also be (pink) ripples.
 
If you don't see any, it may mean your dose is way too low. Or your GT/IR is so high the dose isn't getting through. Same thing really.

When you see it, it likely means the insulin is actually working as expected with Tilly dosing.
 
Dale 'n' Chip said:
If you don't see any, it may mean your dose is way too low. Or your GT/IR is so high the dose isn't getting through. Same thing really.

When you see it, it likely means the insulin is actually working as expected with Tilly dosing.
I didn't think that all FD cats experienced NDW. I thought NDW was just something that we should be aware of, in case our FD cats experienced this. No?
 
I suspect many will if you are doing Tilly correctly. Chip always has and so has Pumbaa when he wasn't just drifting in stale doses. GT/IR can look the same only it may last forever until you up the dose in a timely manner for a breakthrough.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top