12/2 Nico amps-90,+2- 72,+4- 74,+8- 80, pmps- 59 ++12.5- 107, +13- 75, +15- 93

Tyleete

Member Since 2025
Yesterday
He woke me up around 1am hungry. So stumbling around, I gave him some fancy feast classic pate. Eww. He ate half a can.
So this morning I served the other half with an Ondansetron. Here's to hoping. He did eat the other half
I do NOT want him to get stuck on that crap. And anyone that says the worst wet food is better than the best dry food, has no clue. I feed Young Again Zero to most the others, and su long as my girls drink, it's exponentially better than the best wet food. Sorry. Touchy subject for me. I hands down, believe may of our cats problems and failures have to do with manufactured foods. Wet d dry.
So if he's not going to eat fresh meat, I'd rather him on that. Guess we'll see.
He definitely needs to eat today though, with an amps of 90.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20251130_164311561.jpg
    IMG_20251130_164311561.jpg
    2.5 MB · Views: 9
Last edited:
Do, he's at 72 and that's just at the onset. Not sure what I'm supposed to give him, but he's currently refusing all his regular food. So this is the 3rd time I'm giving him that FF pate junk food. Not impressed with him.
Anyone know how much wet food a 9lb cat should be eating?
 
Oh he is adorable. 😍

I'm not sure about the right amount, as Gen is a good deal bigger than Nico. I'm sorry you're not happy with his current preference, but as we say in some of my ADHD community: eating anything is better than not eating. Best of luck with that.
 
Can't wait for the alpha track. To see if my other is right and know when it's low compared to mine. Mine says he's high end of hypo. 😑
 
A formula suggested on catinfo.org as a starting point:
Required calories per day = [13.6 X optimal lean body weight in pounds] + 70
So if 9 lbs is his optimal lean body weight, that would put it at 192 calories per day. Plus or minus depending on metabolism and activity level.

Nice cycle today! Looks like some cat is trying hard to get regulated. That Relion check at +4 seems like the Relion is working just fine.
 
A formula suggested on catinfo.org as a starting point:

So if 9 lbs is his optimal lean body weight, that would put it at 192 calories per day. Plus or minus depending on metabolism and activity level.

Nice cycle today! Looks like some cat is trying hard to get regulated. That Relion check at +4 seems like the Relion is working just fine.
The other times, I couldn't get a reading. Many 'errors'.
Do you think I should test him again? He ate only a little today, not even 1- I oz can today. Since he was low end and not eating, I let him have about 1tsp of the mc gravy and he licked that up. I didn't want him to keep going any lower while he's refusing to eat. I've tried beef, pork, chicken, then baby food, toppers. He ate only a tiny bit (1/3?) of the FF around 9. Nothing since. That's really bugging me. I've also gotten both Ondansetron and Cerenia in him. The Cerenia crushed in that mc gravy.
He's also hiding. Normally he stays to himself for the first few hours, but then comes out to be silly all me company. Wondering if he should go to the vet. But can't imagine what she'd do it say. :(
 
Last edited:
Oh my gosh. At 3:30 (+8.5), he finally ate a little.
I took his test and it said 80 pet (mine's normal range is between 75-120), and human 51. So, I decided between those results and him not eating, I decided to try him on the hc food, to see if he'd eat that. Of course he did eat just a little, maybe tbsp?
He mostly licked that, but ate just a tiny bit.
He's going to be the death of me. Do I give him the regular 3 tonight? I don't know what else to do with him.😓
 
Last edited:
Easier said than done. Added a little karo to his liquid mix just now. But don't know how much is enough. No one's ever said and I don't remember reading how much. I was told not to syringe feed due to stress
 
How long does kibble with carbs take to give an effect. I laid some out and he seemed to be eating it. I was someone told me not to give that, but I am DESPERATE at this point.
Nevermind. Looks like he ate a few only
 
I'm supposed to be giving my shot right now.:/ I doubt it's even safe to give that 1u right now. He's refusing to eat AND hypo numbers.
Can I give him an appetite stimulant like Entyce? Or will that mess with everything else? Anybody? 😬
 
Repeat of a few nights ago. :banghead:. Don't shoot under 50 on a human meter. Hold off on feeding, test in 20-30 and see if he keeps dropping or starts heading up again. BTW, karo/syrup means a drop or two, depending on size of drops.
 
Do I not feed him at all? Until his numbers rise? I don't him just a little before this message. He ate about 1/18th cup kibble. I was thinking of giving him an appetite stimulant, but didn't know if it was safe for a diabetic.
 
Last edited:
Mirataz is safe for a diabetic if that is what you have.

Stop feeding for a bit, see if his numbers come up. If not above 50, then feed again.
 
Mirataz is safe for a diabetic if that is what you have.

Stop feeding for a bit, see if his numbers come up. If not above 50, then feed again.
Gave the Mirataz. I just checked and got this. But I had fed him hc before I read this from you. Is it safe to shoot? And if I do, the 3?
- BTW, I'm going over the last time he did this (as Wendy pointed out), and making notes for myself. So I won't have to drive everyone bonkers every time he does this. Which seems like a lot.😑 It's just very scary and I get so nervous and hectic. I completely blanked that we had this same problem just a few nights ago.
But I'm not sure if my feeding him and his numbers raising are good enough to shoot. Waiting till it's been 30min to test again. :/
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20251202_193249584_HDR.jpg
    IMG_20251202_193249584_HDR.jpg
    926.4 KB · Views: 2
Last edited:
You don't want to shoot a number influenced by HC. Check again in 1/2 hour and see if he's up some more. If so, and you haven't fed any more food, that's a sign he's coming up on his own.
 
You don't want to shoot a number influenced by HC. Check again in 1/2 hour and see if he's up some more. If so, and you haven't fed any more food, that's a sign he's coming up on his own.
I'm so sorry I fed. :(
This is just now.
So just barely over, and last I fed him was an hour ago
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20251202_201245478_HDR.jpg
    IMG_20251202_201245478_HDR.jpg
    814.5 KB · Views: 1
Do I have this right?
+12 46 (human meter) fed HC - amount?
+12.5 ish +73
+13 back down to 58
Yes. He ate no more than 1tsp hc plus the watery juice it came in + about 1/18th of a cup (taking 15 kibble pieces?) of same food but dry.
And now of course, he looks like he wants to eat.
@Bandit's Mom is it too early for you? I waiting on info to see if it's safe to shoot and feed.
I probably brought his numbers up falsely because I forgot not to feed
 
Last edited:
The fact that he dropped again after coming up, indicates he could drop more when the HC wears off. I think I'd skip tonight, unless you can wait even longer for shot time. If you shoot 1.5-2 hours later tonight, that means tomorrow AM is at the same time.
 
The fact that he dropped again after coming up, indicates he could drop more when the HC wears off. I think I'd skip tonight, unless you can wait even longer for shot time. If you shoot 1.5-2 hours later tonight, that means tomorrow AM is at the same time.
I can wait and check if necessary. But I think he's finally hungry after giving him the Mirataz. I was waiting to hear back if I can feed him regular or Mc. Whichever
 
He wouldn't eat any of his fresh food, but he ate half a can of FF. So a whopping 1.5oz for today.
What kind of bad stuff might we run into if I skip? I hate that thought, thinking it could cause extra mayhem with his system.:(
How long does it take for mc/hc to run through their system? So I'll know if it's out and his numbers are not food-induced numbers?
 
About a couple hours before HC wears off, but you've got some dry in there and that takes longer. Not sure how long. But if he starts really zooming up, then you know that it's not the food and just his normal numbers rise.
 
@Wendy&Neko So should I just skip then? If I don't know which numbers are real?
And if I wait till at least 10pm, that means I can't feed him&shoot (amps) till 10am?
If I skip, if you think that's best, what do you feel is best for testing tonight? To watch over him?
And do I restart at 3u in the morning? Thank you
 
Last edited:
I don't know what 10pm means in terms of your normal PS. Is that normal +2, +3?

I can't see anything on the spreadsheet past that 59. Have you tested again lately? It's OK to shoot if they are starting to zoom up.
 
I don't know what 10pm means in terms of your normal PS. Is that normal +2, +3?

I can't see anything on the spreadsheet past that 59. Have you tested again lately? It's OK to shoot if they are starting to zoom up.
+3 is 10pm for new. I can go check him now. I have other cats that get no attention since Nico was diagnosed. And was trying to spend a little time with 1. His normal feeding is 7am & 7pm
 
I don't know what 10pm means in terms of your normal PS. Is that normal +2, +3?

I can't see anything on the spreadsheet past that 59. Have you tested again lately? It's OK to shoot if they are starting to zoom up.
And I didn't know how to add so many numbers in. But I'll try in a sec
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20251202_215557716_HDR.jpg
    IMG_20251202_215557716_HDR.jpg
    948.1 KB · Views: 1
Ok, it seems he's starting to go up. But my concern is with tomorrow.
His normal feeding times for his big meals are 7am and 7pm.
If I give him a shot now, at +15.5, that means no shot till tomorrow at 10:30am? That's a long time. Especially since his siblings be shares a room with still need to eat at 7
 
Whoops! Nevermind that then.
I did copy the notes from last time so hopefully I won't act like a chicken with their head lopped off next time.
I only have one boxes and a quick playtime with one till I lay down then. Am I shooting 3 in the am then?
 
You can go back to your normal shot time in the AM. Since you skipped tonight, it just has to be at least 12 hours from the previous shot, and it'll be more like 24.
 
Back
Top