12/2 MR. Pants amps 268 +2.5 262 arggggg

Zach Pool

Member Since 2021
Bumped Mr. Pants back up to .5U last night. Went to bed at +5 @101 woke up to puking at +11 with 240 mg/dl. Don't understand. I was seeing a clear downtrend.
 
You are seeing a bounce from the 101. Responding from questions you sent me in a PM:

There is a difference between the depot and duration of one shot. It isn’t correct that the insulin is out of their system in 24 hours but a 0.5u depot is much smaller than a 2u depot and will affect less than 6 subsequent cycles.

You were taking reductions we would never take under TR. You are also missing that an increase often results in an increase in the BG over 24 hours which we call “new dose wonkiness”.

I was thinking last night that I needed to take off my TR hat, step back, look at it from your perspective. Your cat is 15 and has been diabetic 5 years. He isn’t going into remission and you have a lot of demands. Perhaps TR isn’t the best for you all and SLGS might be better but you would hold doses longer. I think it’s realistic for where he and you are that trying to keep him in the 120-180 range is good enough although you will see some pops up above 200 occasionally and you should learn to live with that.

You must stop dose hopping. That is not how this insulin works. It works best with consistent dosing with changes only when a reduction is earned or the BG is just too high. By changing his dose as you are, you are working against the insulin and yet you want me to convince you your method is better. You have to learn some patience. I know it’s difficult; I had to learn a lot of patience with this dance.

Please read through the SLGS post because the method will help you hold the dose especially when he’s getting into some good numbers in that blue range. But please stop dose hopping and increasing based on the PS. If you want to do that, you should switch to ProZinc insulin.
 
You are seeing a bounce from the 101. Responding from questions you sent me in a PM:

There is a difference between the depot and duration of one shot. It isn’t correct that the insulin is out of their system in 24 hours but a 0.5u depot is much smaller than a 2u depot and will affect less than 6 subsequent cycles.

You were taking reductions we would never take under TR. You are also missing that an increase often results in an increase in the BG over 24 hours which we call “new dose wonkiness”.

I was thinking last night that I needed to take off my TR hat, step back, look at it from your perspective. Your cat is 15 and has been diabetic 5 years. He isn’t going into remission and you have a lot of demands. Perhaps TR isn’t the best for you all and SLGS might be better but you would hold doses longer. I think it’s realistic for where he and you are that trying to keep him in the 120-180 range is good enough although you will see some pops up above 200 occasionally and you should learn to live with that.

You must stop dose hopping. That is not how this insulin works. It works best with consistent dosing with changes only when a reduction is earned or the BG is just too high. By changing his dose as you are, you are working against the insulin and yet you want me to convince you your method is better. You have to learn some patience. I know it’s difficult; I had to learn a lot of patience with this dance.

Please read through the SLGS post because the method will help you hold the dose especially when he’s getting into some good numbers in that blue range. But please stop dose hopping and increasing based on the PS. If you want to do that, you should switch to ProZinc insulin.

No more dose hopping....I am now delaying the shot until I see him come up to 180 or 190. I think this is going to be the clutch move. It was actually a part of my old regulation method. It may have been one of the most valuable gems in that particular protocol. If I keep the dose the same and give it to him immediately, he drops too low for his body to be comfortable and bounces....If I reduce it he will trend upward....If I wait....BOOM! Perfect numbers. Perfect for Mr. Pants anyway lol. He's clinically an amazing cat in this range. I'm gonna celebrate tonight and call it a win. We haven't felt this good in weeks!!!
 
No more dose hopping....I am now delaying the shot until I see him come up to 180 or 190. I think this is going to be the clutch move. It was actually a part of my old regulation method. It may have been one of the most valuable gems in that particular protocol. If I keep the dose the same and give it to him immediately, he drops too low for his body to be comfortable and bounces....If I reduce it he will trend upward....If I wait....BOOM! Perfect numbers. Perfect for Mr. Pants anyway lol. He's clinically an amazing cat in this range. I'm gonna celebrate tonight and call it a win. We haven't felt this good in weeks!!!
**Sigh**. But I will be very happy if you stop dose hopping.

—there is no difference between the 170 you got at +12 and the 181 you shot at +12.5 due to 20% meter variance; I can’t tell if you also stalled at that 147 this morning and then shot 190 or if the 190 was a retest but 147 is just barely less than 20% of 190 so, again, you pretty much would have been shooting the same number
—there is no reason to stall for BGs that high; stalling, unless it is for a newly diagnosed cat or because the BG is below 50, is for the CG and not for the cat
—we usually say stalling acts as a dose reduction and that might be why you think it’s worked in the past but I found shooting within 30 minutes of regular shot time (eg if I needed to shoot a bit early or late for my schedule) didn't affect my cat.

While I do believe it’s important to “know thy cat”, in all the years I’ve been here and thousands of SSs I’ve looked at, stalling at these high numbers is not a “clutch move” or a “valuable gem” even for those doing SLGS who are fine with their cat running in mid-blues. I still feel you aren’t grasping the way the depot works and I also think you might be hard-pressed to be able to tell me his onset, nadir, and duration. For us, here, that is basic to understanding how the insulin works, in general, and how it helps the CG “know thy cat”.

More likely what you are seeing is just that 0.5u is just the right amount to keep him where you want him and it’s not due to anything else. He might be able to do ok long term there, or you might find his BG creeps up or down. With Lantus, shots are cumulative so one builds on top of the previous. While some cats can stay at very low doses a long time, the cumulative nature of Lantus might result in the need for a reduction in the future or he could just fizzle out at this dose and need more based on his physiological needs (eg pancreatitis flare).
 
Back
Top