12/2 Mary Grace AMPS 411 +1 350 +2 310

Status
Not open for further replies.

marygracemom

Member Since 2013
Good Monday Morning LL!

I haven't posted a new condo in the past couple of days but Mary Grace's ss is updated. Still seeing high pre shot numbers. This morning was the 7th cycle on dosecrease (3 units). I guess it is looking like it is time for yet another increase? C'mon Mary Grace.....

She seems to be doing well, except still heavy urination, not as heavy water consumption. But purring, playing, preening.

Hope everyone has a great day!
 
Seems like you're ready for an increase alright. If you want more expert eyes, be sure to put something like "dose ??" in your main header. Glad she's feeling good. It's pretty neat to watch them get back to being a happy cat as you progress through this crazy dance. I hope she starts spending more time on lower floors soon. Keep up the good work!
 
Hi Tara-
I am not getting why she is needing so much more insulin than the other cats here. I have been looking and studying her lab work from the dx to see if there is something else going on. I know every cat is different but looking at others ss, she seems way hard to regulate in comparison.
Hope you and Buster are having a good night.
 
Elizabeth! How have you been? So nice to hear Mary Grace is a happy wee girl :-D
I have looked at a lot of ss's in my quest to figure this crazy dance out, and noticed that some kitties just do need higher doses at the beginning to bring them down. Then the reductions start kicking in and less and less insulin is needed. Maybe if they have been diabetic for a long time before diagnosed? I'm not sure, but it is not abnormal that I have noticed. Some kitties are acrocats and they get higher doses. Some kitties are being over dosed. And some I noticed have underlying health issues. The list gets bigger with the longer I'm here to learn.
No matter what dose she needs to start regulating, YOU are doing an amazing job at keeping her happy and healthy :YMHUG: She really flattened out on the pink floor today. I'm thinking the peeps will let you know it's time for an increase. I would go ahead and post the question tonight so you know for morning...if that works for you.

Hope you're having a fabulous night with MG
 
Mary Grace is not on that big of a dose! The best dose for any cat is the dose that puts the nadir where you want it to be. I wouldn't get hung up on the number of units. What's important is how your cat feels. And I agree -- it's time to increase Mary Grace's dose.
 
we don't really think in terms of a cat being "high" dose until 6ish units per dose or more. 3units is common. when punkin was getting more than most of the other kitties and i felt discouraged about it, someone said to me that the numbers that are most important are the blood sugar numbers, not the size of the dose. i tried to take that to heart and not worry about the dose size (too much!) :lol: punkin got up to 15.5u, but he was the same sweet kitty he'd always been.

the point Sienne and Kim made is a good one - many cats have to go up in the dosing scale until they hit the just-right-dose. then things often "click" and they start going down.

i also agree that she needs more insulin - so up she goes! With nadirs consistently in the 200's you want to increase by 0.25u.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Thanks for the visits Julie, Sienne and Julie-
I just checked her at plus 5 and she is 171! That makes me feel like I should stay up for a couple more numbers? Maybe see is getting lower at night when I typically don't test her and bouncing? Then would that mean wait on the increase?
 
Yeah I'd get another test in tonight and see where she is then, but remember, it's the nadir's that are important, and Mary Grace's have been in the 200's mostly, so unless you get a really low number tonight, the increase is probably a good idea

Good luck...I'm increasing in the morning too :sad:
 
I would grab a nap and test in a couple hours and see if she is headed up. If this is as low as she gets tonight, I'd still increase her dose. You do have some nighttime tests and she was pretty flat.

Glad to see some blue. :-D
 
Okay Chris thanks, I will increase tomorrow unless I get a much lower number. It will be plus 6 in 15 mins. Should I stay up for plus 7 or set alarm for plus 8 or 9? What do you think?
China paws crossed to you pretty kitty!
 
I'd go ahead and get the +6 and see where she is or you can wait until +7 and get that last "before bed" test in

She seems to usually nadir around mid-cycle. She'd have to drop a lot to cause any worry though
 
Hey marge that's what I will do. Check in a few and then in a couple of hours..yawn...
Okay it was 183.
My Gracie was sleeping but sweetly let me test her.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top