12/2 Lilly PMPS 64, +0.5 = 51 on AT meter, stalled and shot 73, +1 = 44

Kelsey & Lilly

Member Since 2019
I'm always coming here with dose questions: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...what-to-do-with-dose-now.221938/#post-2480986

So today evidently Lilly cleared her bounce super quick! She had a beautiful day of surf yesterday on a reduced dose because I didn't feel comfortable giving a full one, but I think it worked out? But she surprised us tonight. What should I give tonight? (need to know soon!) I wasn't comfortable with her dropping in hypo range numbers so I went ahead and fed her, for better or worse. but no shot yet

Her PMPS numbers have earned her another reduction, I guess, beyond what I decide to shoot tonight? Is it common to need to change the dose this often with TR?

I should note, with the thanksgiving holiday, me being on call at work, and having family in town, her shot times have been a little out of wack. I'm trying my best.
 
I see you fed a little LC with the 51, that was a good idea, 51 is too low on the AT2. Just a comment on your dose, you shouldn't have gone up to 2.5u last night, and continue on with that dose today, it is obviously too much insulin. You should have held to 2u, remember we dose based on how low the dose is is taking the cat, and last night she was bouncing from the lower cycle earlier on Dec 1st.

Please check again in 20-30 minutes to see that her numbers are rising. Normally I would say either the 64 or 51 lows earn a 0.25u reduction, but she shouldn't have been at 2.5u, so if you shoot tonight, I'd go back to 2u. Let's see where she is at if you can get another test, that would help. I'm not comfortable suggesting you dose anything tonight without seeing another test.

ETA I was I a rush when I posted, I see now what you did yesterday am. So with an earned reduction, new dose is 2.25u...I'd still like to see another test:)
 
Last edited:
I couldn't stall anymore since we are getting so far off her schedule. I decided to give her just 1 unit tonight.
 
Okay, please still continue testing, this is your lowest preshot, so I'd suggest +1 and +2 and go from there. She may start bouncing but she also may surprise you. Post if you need help, I'll try and watch for you this evening. With seeing numbers under 68 on AT2 that earned a reduction... tomorrow's dose is 2.25u. Hopefully she will behave tonight, and you can get back to where you can shoot the same dose both in the am and pm :)
 
Please get tests tonight. You shot low numbers. You need to be absolutely sure that Lily is in safe number and stable in safe numbers before you go to sleep.

If you are still using Freestyle strips in an AlphaTrack2 meter, I would encourage you to not do so. The manufacturer does not consider the strips to be interchangeable. I'd encourage you to switch to a Freestyle meter.
 
I agree with Sienne on the Freestyle strips. Especially when you get low numbers are we aren't certain what numbers she really is because the manufacturer says the AT strips are actually tested and coded for the AT, but the Freestyle are not. In that case, I would either test with the AT and an AT strip, or the Freestyle meter and Freestyle strip.
 
I have to leave now but I have asked other experienced people to look in and help you. In the meantime keep testing and feeding as necessary. Don’t feed too much though as we don’t want to fill her up as she may need to eat later in the cycle
 
I'm going to have to go to bed myself. I have to be up at her +8. My fiance is staying up with her and knows what to do. I'm leaving this thread open for him in case he needs to post, but he will also be waking me up if he needs to.
 
Please get him to keep posting please. Because she has dropped so low very early in the cycle you will have to make sure she is high enough when the insulin kicks in around +2 or +3 and the BG then drops.
Please keep testing frequently and ask him to post results. Thanks Kelsey
 
Back
Top