12/2 Emmett AMPS 104

You gave 2.5 to lower numbers (which also impresses me so much) when his dose was higher—you’ve got this! Good luck , his numbers look amazing!
 
  • Like
Reactions: KLD
Great job shooting! Remember since you are there to monitor closely by testing and feeding MC or HC if necessary you can handle it :). If he drops in the 60s might be worth seeing what that is on the handheld and then decide whether you want to take a reduction. But let’s see how the cycle goes first, good luck. He really is looking very good.
 
  • Like
Reactions: KLD
+8 68 on the AT3 and 43 on the FSL. I gave him some medium carb food.

Should I reduce his dose to 1 unit?
 
You have to kind of look back the last several days and take it all in though, you are doing a great job keeping up with his shenanigans :bighug:
 
Did Emmett hear you say that or watch you type it? :cat:

What is the last time before PMPS that he got some food?
I know I cursed myself as soon as I said it lol.

The last proper meal he had was +8. I offered him a snack later but he refused it and went to sleep.
 
I was wondering if his pancreas was starting to respond to the stimulation of food. Normally thats on much smaller doses. But the PMPS drop could also have bounce breaking action.
 
I was wondering if his pancreas was starting to respond to the stimulation of food. Normally thats on much smaller doses. But the PMPS drop could also have bounce breaking action.
Wait, sorry, do you mind explaining the first half a bit more for me? Do you mean like releasing insulin in response to food?
 
When a cat is getting on much smaller doses, like 0.1 units, possibly 0.25 units, then the pancreas is starting to sputter to life. Giving food can cause it to create it's own insulin. Neko did this sometimes, even when her dose wasn't tiny. That's because she had acromegaly which is a pituitary tumour that caused her diabetes. Her pancreas still worked occasionally, giving me surprises. Completely different case than Emmett. The previous of Emmett's lower preshots can be explained as a Lantus double dip. Cats will sometimes do a smaller dip at the end of the cycle, but not as low as the main nadir earlier on. This dip was just "different". Could have been the bounce break.
 
When a cat is getting on much smaller doses, like 0.1 units, possibly 0.25 units, then the pancreas is starting to sputter to life. Giving food can cause it to create it's own insulin. Neko did this sometimes, even when her dose wasn't tiny. That's because she had acromegaly which is a pituitary tumour that caused her diabetes. Her pancreas still worked occasionally, giving me surprises. Completely different case than Emmett. The previous of Emmett's lower preshots can be explained as a Lantus double dip. Cats will sometimes do a smaller dip at the end of the cycle, but not as low as the main nadir earlier on. This dip was just "different". Could have been the bounce break.
Interesting, thanks!

I’ve got a lot of human T1 diabetics in my life and a lot of them are convinced Emmett is making some of his own insulin now and I’m like, I think he’s just getting too much insulin right now haha. He’s got a lot of people rooting for him though.
 
Fans who peek in spreadsheets :p, nice AMBG this morning.
Haha :)

i honestly debated trying insulin this morning but decided against it. I have to drop off my cats with my mom this afternoon, and I’ll be gone until after midnight, and I didn’t want my mom to have to deal with him potentially going low. Better just to let him maybe have high blood sugar for a bit.
 
Haha :)

i honestly debated trying insulin this morning but decided against it. I have to drop off my cats with my mom this afternoon, and I’ll be gone until after midnight, and I didn’t want my mom to have to deal with him potentially going low. Better just to let him maybe have high blood sugar for a bit.
I would have done the same, better to just skip, it's not like he's been doing terrible lately after skips anyway.
 
and a lot of them are convinced Emmett is making some of his own insulin now
I’m not the expert the others here are but I’ve wondered about that…just afraid to say it out loud. I wonder how many cats that “go into remission bc of TR” are actually cats getting over pancreatitis and would cure themselves regardless. But that’s just me wondering. Ignore me and carry on bc his numbers look amazing
 
  • Like
Reactions: KLD
I tested him at +7 and he was at something like 5.1 or 5.2, I can’t remember. I’m not home now, but my mom is going to attempt to test him at insulin time tonight, and if she’s successful, and he’s at a high enough number, she will give him 1 unit
 
Back
Top