12/2 Chico AMPS 407; +5 86 +5.6 81 +6 90 +7 88

Marina & Chico

Member Since 2021
That would still be low carb, but at the higher end.
(anything under 10% is low carb)
So if someone were to advise MC that would be low, they would be expecting you to use between 10an 16 % . It's always good to note what % carb you are giving. I would record that on the SS.

I had LC food in the below 5% range and LC food in the 8-10% range I would use the higher LC often in Georges more active cycles. So if he was starting of with a low PS i usually fed him his normal meal which was under 5% but then for his +1 +2 snack he would get a higher LC. If at +1/+2 he had dropped from lets say mid blue to the 60s I might have used MC. however if he went from mid blue to 80's lets say then I would start of with higher LC and see if that had the desired effect.
But George was not very sensitive to carb, it didn't bump his numbers up, or stop him from dropping easily. I learnt that I had to keep ontop of his numbers early in his cycle, using higher LC or MC when I figured out what worked for George, that's when I started seeing a change in his cycles, and we slowly lost the bounces (he wasn't very bouncy), I think the managing the curve with food helped with that.
All our cats are different, so we have to try and figure out what works for our guy.
If you record what %carb you used along with the feed times, it will make it easier for you to figure out and for us to help you figure it out. You can look back at the previous weeks cycle and analyse what you fed when and what seemed to get the desired effect, usually what we want is to slow them down but not stall the cycle altogether by feeding too much carb.

Though it is not always as simple as just looking at the numbers. Other factors might prompt me to be more cautious or not, for example. Lets say I had increased his dose to 2u, and two or 3 cycles in I had seen him drop into a nice nadir of 70, then he bounced a bit, and started to clear that bounce a couple of cycles later, I would be thinking,
  • depot is fuller( I will be seeing the true effect of the dose as the depot fills)(
  • May go lower than 70 this time.
So I might be more 'aggressive' with my choice of carb when he was 5 cycles in than when he was 2 cycles into that 2u dose.

With some cats will get an initial strong reaction when you increase, but hey don't sustain that. George rarely showed a strong reaction to a dose increase, it was usually around cycle 3 where I would start to see the effect of the dose change.

Last night was an interesting cycle for chico, I think the early feeding helped, cycle 2 since the FS we may see this dose take him a little lower than that once the depot builds and we get this dose working to it's full potential



I used an old big soup spoon which I would scoot under Georges bottom when he was going for a pee. George rides low when he pees.

How is he feeling with his tummy today?
I would continue to avoid using the gourmet food at least for now, and if you need to just add honey to his regular food to increase the ccarb content of any snack. Once you get his tummy all settled down, you may be able to use them, but while he is being quite sensitive maybe best not to rock the boat.
Is he a bit more active?

Thank you Gill for the thorough answer, i will take my time later today to reread it. Today Chico nadirs lower, we didn't manage to give him food at +1 though. i will start a new thread for today after work.
 
That's his bounce clearing he may not have a clear nadir in this cycle and continue to drop, I would make sure you get a +5
 
He keeps on dropping, i know i should make a new thread for today but i don't really have the time now :(

he is at 81 at +5.5 we gave him more food and honey... hopefully it will slow him, should we expect a long drop still?
 
he is at 81 at +5.5 we gave him more food and honey... hopefully it will slow him, should we expect a long drop still?
that's flat,

He may have slowed for you.
don't really have the time now :(
don't worry about that now I can get a mod to fix it later for you

I see you have given him a bit more LC with honey.
see where he is in the next 30min i

If he is still in the 80's try giving him just some LC without the honey.
 
get a test after that 90 make sure he is still flat.

If he is high 8o's or more give a litttle more of the LC and check him again in an hour.
If he has dropped try the LC and honey and check in 30
 
get a test after that 90 make sure he is still flat.

If he is high 8o's or more give a litttle more of the LC and check him again in an hour.
If he has dropped try the LC and honey and check in 30
Thanks for your help, really, really really appreciate it

i gave him 20g but want to check again in half an hour, he was 88 now
 
Excellent saw the 86, at +6.5 he is flat still, with that 88 at +7 looking good
I would still get a +7.5 (you don't need any more food if you think he has eaten enough today.
The Higher carb you gave him (LC with honey) can wear off after two hours and can dip, so we like to make a check two hours after the last HC/MC?honey meal. to make sure that doesn't happen.

Good job
No problem.
As you are working with you updating the ss is enough I don't need you to message I can see you are doing the feeding and testing that's all I need to follow along and support you.
 
Nice 88, he is surfing.

No Honey since +5 (2 hours ago).

He is OK now.
If you are home and not too busy with work grab a +9 /+10, just to see where he is at.
If +9/+10 are still green, or blue get a +11, it would be good to see what direction his numbers are heading at preshot if he were to have a lower than usual pmps (in the blue)
Don't worry if you are to busy, it is just what I would do if I was home and able to.
 
Nice 88, he is surfing.

No Honey since +5 (2 hours ago).

He is OK now.
If you are home and not too busy with work grab a +9 /+10, just to see where he is at.
If +9/+10 are still green, or blue get a +11, it would be good to see what direction his numbers are heading at preshot if he were to have a lower than usual pmps (in the blue)
Don't worry if you are to busy, it is just what I would do if I was home and able to.
We should be able to do that
thanks
 
Back
Top