12/2 Blitzen AMPS 65 +12, 91 +12

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kitty mom

Member Since 2014
So Blitzen is 3 point lower than Dasher this morning. I was under the impression Lantus didn't work so quickly or is it just my cats. Once again I'm scratching my head , I can't shoot this number can I ?
Thinking a curve will have to be on Thursday when I can do it. I'll try and get a few readings today although I'll be in and out today.

Any thoughts?
 
Re: 12/2 Blitzen AMPS 65 +12

I would skip today - good call. Looks like you might need to go even lower in dose to get something you can shoot twice a day. Maybe .5U if he's mid blues or higher tonight?

I've seen a few cats that only need a bit of insulin support to go OTJ. What are the odds you have two of them? Amazing!
 
Re: 12/2 Blitzen AMPS 65 +12

Maybe Blitzen was jealous of all the attention Dasher was getting and has decided it's not THAT special?....LOL

Good call on the skip....looks like you need to drop down to maybe a .5 like Wendy said and see if that'll let you shoot on schedule.

I wouldn't be surprised if he's done with this dance by Christmas Eve :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/2 Blitzen AMPS 65 +12

Wendy&Neko said:
I would skip today - good call. Looks like you might need to go even lower in dose to get something you can shoot twice a day. Maybe .5U if he's mid blues or higher tonight?

I've seen a few cats that only need a bit of insulin support to go OTJ. What are the odds you have two of them? Amazing!
I know people think I'm off base here but what are the odds that both would progress so quickly. I still think there was something wrong with the hard food that messed up the pancreas . I'm not count my chickens before they hatch on Blitzen but if he follows in Dashers paw steps I can't help but think I'm on to something. Just seems awfully odd to have two like this. Time will tell.
Thanks for the thousand times :-D
 
Re: 12/2 Blitzen AMPS 65 +12

Chris & China said:
Maybe Blitzen was jealous of all the attention Dasher was getting and has decided it's not THAT special?....LOL

Good call on the skip....looks like you need to drop down to maybe a .5 like Wendy said and see if that'll let you shoot on schedule.

I wouldn't be surprised if he's done with this dance by Christmas Eve :mrgreen:

Lol right ! Teach him to be jealous ! cat(2)_steam
 
Re: 12/2 Blitzen AMPS 65 +12

Robin:

I think in this situation your guess is as good as anyone's. You may be absolutely on target -- the food was the culprit. Or maybe it was the phase of the moon. Sometimes with cats, the best we can do is scratch our collective heads. The good news is that both of your kitties are doing well. I'd suggest following their lead and not tempt fate.
 
Sorry for the 911 but what should I do, I'm thinking of a 0.25 or a 0.10 ??? Hate not to shoot since he's eating is evening meal. I hate to skip a day this early in the game because you know he's going to rise.
 
Is the 91 before or after you fed him? You shot a 100 with .75u last night. This is the same number. he's up from his nadir. If you can monitor tonight, have supplies (strips, HC/karo),etc, I'm not sure why you wouldn't shoot the full dose.

However, you'll need to know how to handle low numbers (see the link in my signature) because I won't be able to stay up with you tonight; tomorrow is my work day. If you're comfortable on handling low numbers on your own, you could shoot as long as the 91 is not a food spike.
 
He seems to drop too much and I'm not going to be able to test him tonight. Gave a 0.25 it's what my gut hold me to do after looking at Dashers SS . I'll see where we're at in the A.M. and go from there.

I have the hypo info already.

Thanks for responding so quickly .
 
You're welcome.

One reason why I don't often suggest shooting a reduced dose is because it gives the caregiver a false sense of security. Because of the depot, you might see the same cycle as if you had shot the .75u dose. Often, the effects aren't seen until later in the cycle or in the next cycle If he goes up, he probably was going up anyway.

Because of the above, you will need to be sure you get some tests until he is safely headed up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top