12/2. Blitzen AMPS 65 +12, 91 +12

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kitty mom

Member Since 2014
Blitzen is 3 point lower then Dasher this morning. Needless to say I can't shoot this number.
I thought with Lantus you didn't see results so quickly...once again I'm scratching my head with these two.

Thoughts?
 
Re: 12/2. Blitzen AMPS 65 +12

In my opinion, looking at Dashers ss, that kitty is done with insulin. Congrats on day 10!! Blitzen looks like he may be next. I cant advise but paws crossed for them both! :-D
 
Re: 12/2. Blitzen AMPS 65 +12

Normally you don't see results this fast with Lantus. Blitzen may be trying to follow his brother to the falls. Of course time will tell, but you are doing everything right. When he's high enough to shoot, you shoot a reduced dose from the last dose that took him too low to shoot before. That really about all you can do until you either find a dose that you can shoot safely twice a day, or he just plain walks off the dance floor and moves in at the Falls with his brother. :-D

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 12/2. Blitzen AMPS 65 +12

Ok thanks Mel.....like I said before this is where I get so unsure . All is good then.
 
I wonder if you didnt have 2 cats who had a tummy upset or other infection that has now cleared. Blitzen for sure, if you SS is accurate and he has only had insulin for 5 days, is not diabetic in the true sense, as far as I can see. I think you have a double OTJ party on your hands.
 
I have said a few time I find this very odd and still think something was up with the hard food they had been eating. Even if it's wasn't the food we're truly blessed to have them responding to the Lantus like they did. However Blitzen is not out of the wood as of yet although he's doing great ....time will tell.
Dasher I think is going to get that party !....his SS was started a few days after treatment began , at the vet he was in the 400's
 
I'm going to agree I think Dasher and Blitzen will both be pulling Santa's sleigh to the Falls fairly soon. Sometimes all it takes is a few day/weeks of insulin and a diet change to put them in remission. My Maxwell is a good example, a few day on Lantus while his foster mom changed his diet, then withheld insulin to put him on the plane to come to me, got him home gave him two shots total and off to the Falls he went. Hasn't looked back in 4+ years and still going strong.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top