? 12/2 Belle, AMPS 388, +5.5 253, PMPS 383

Status
Not open for further replies.
highest ever ... what to do??
Sigh, take a deep breathe, and carry on.:bighug: Belle is probably bouncing. There isn't much you can do but wait for the bounce to wind down. As Belle gets used to seeing more normal numbers, the bouncing will diminish.

Bounces are caused by either going too low, going lower than they are used to, or fast drops. Getting some spot checks for the evening cycle, whether it be before bed or just as you get up, will help fill in the picture.
 
the only thing different was the diet change. he changed from DM dry to EVO dry over the weekend
 
@Chris & China
20% variance?! that is a very high percentage for variance.

but in general, his numbers from these 2 days are in a higher range than before
makes me nervous...

i hope he can tolerate the curve tomorrow... so we can get a better picture
 
Last edited:
I know but that's the current variance allowed by the FDA...a home meter is allowed to be up to 20% off (higher or lower) than the result you'd get from tests done on really expensive equipment

There are newer meters coming out that are supposed to be closer to 15% (even 10%) but I'm sure they aren't as affordable as the Relion meters are....until they force the companies to be closer, you can bet that the meter companies aren't going to voluntary change things either :(
 
Yes....unfortunately it goes both ways

He may need to go back up to 2.5 but until he's been on the 2.25 for a week and you do that curve, it's safest to just hold him there. That's one of the big reasons I'm not a big fan of SLGS...you can't react as quickly to those higher numbers like you can on TR
 
He's still in a bounce - just stay the course. Don't increase his insulin based upon bounce numbers - you're looking at how low he goes in between bounces.

If he's eating dry food, SLGS is the dosing method you need to use. It's a safety issue - so don't sweat it. This is for his safety.

How are his ears today? Any better?
 
ok, will hold at 2.25 , pls let me know if i need to increase to 2.5 later

no, his ears are not getting better... maybe worse tho... so, really dunno if he can tolerate the curve tomorrow

either way, i would never increase the dosage starting at the PM dose. my own diabetic cat Pepsi, the vet told me to increase the dosage, and that night she went hypo, unconscious, rushed to ER. hypo aggravated her pancreatitis, and she passed away a few days later.
 
Last edited:
oh how very traumatic and sad. I'm so sorry you had that experience and lost Pepsi. Were you using Lantus with her?

As long as there are no ketones, and he has some numbers under 300 (ie, everything is not high and flat and over 300), then you'll probably hold the dose for 1 week. If ketones emerge, or everything stays over 300, then he'll need a dose increase. Right now it looks like you'll be able to hang onto this dose for the week.
 
Yes, Pepsi used Lantus too.
And i just loss my most beloved cat Charlene few weeks ago to pancreatitis + vet's wrong treatment.

What are ketones? how do i know if he has ketones or not?
 
Ketones are by-products that are created when the body starts to burn it's own fat. Too many act kind of like a poison and can kill quickly.

You test for ketones using urine test strips. Anything more than "trace" is a medical emergency and requires a vet.

The "recipe" for ketones is infection/inflammation + too little insulin + not enough food, but even cats with normal blood glucose numbers can have ketones (but it's more rare)....they're usually seen in cats with high blood glucose numbers

Here are some Urine Testing Tips for ways to get a urine sample....then you just dip a urine ketone test strip in the urine sample and compare it to the colors on the side of the bottle of strips
 
that is going to be very very challenging... :(

i don't think i would be able to do it with him...
 
Regarding Belle's ears....you might want to try stopping the Neosporin for a few days.....use a little plain petroleum jelly right before poking to help the blood to "bead up" (a very thin film is more than enough)

We've seen a few cats that have reactions to Neosporin....if his ears start to look better without the Neosporin, then you'll know that's the problem

@Marje and Gracie (if I remember right) has her Gracie that can't tolerate the Neosporin....not sure what else she might use though
 
Well you can try just stopping the Neosporin....it does help a lot of kitties, but if Belle is sensitive to it, it's not helping him!

Hopefully we'll catch @Marje and Gracie ....I don't remember if she uses something different or what. Her kitty has been very sick the last few days though so she may not be online much
 
stopped using neosporin

tested him PMPS 11pm, BG high @ 383 !!

curve tomorrow... keep my fingers cross... hope he is going to do well...

after the curve tomorrow (unless it is not successful), i think i might want to not test him at all over the weekend, so to let his ears rest and heal...
 
Last edited:
Marje uses Polysporin instead of Neosporin. Her kitty Gracie is allergic to the neomycin in Neosporin. You can get Polysporin in the US, which does not have neomycin, but I believe you can't get the kind with pain relief. I have been supplying Marje with Canadian Polysporin with pain relief.

I would still recommend getting tests at preshot time this weekend. His ears should still heal with those few pokes.
 
Jill recommends Halo Cloud Nine herbal healing salve. Sorry for no link but I am at vet hospital. Hope things improve.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top