12/19PapayaAMPS=371 +3.5=32 +4=238 +6=126PMPS=563 +4=272

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy & Papaya (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday

Yesterday I tried feeding small meals every hour or two until 5.5 h after shot (when I went to bed!)
Today started off high, but when I tested later, WOW had she dived. I fed 12% carbs with 1/4 tsp of honey, which she ate and seemed satisfied. Will be retesting shortly to see if that was enough.
Have a vet's appt anyway at 9:00 for checkup so he should get a surprise from those numbers too! Life is never dull . . .
 
Re: 12/19 Papaya AMPS: 371 +3.5: 32 too pink to too green!

You may want to take a look at this post on handling low numbers. The information is also in the Shooting & Handling Low Numbers sticky.

By any chance did you re-test that 32? Sometimes, if there's not enough blood on the strip but enough to register, you'll get a low reading (vs. an error message).

Please test no later than +4.
 
Re: 12/19 Papaya AMPS: 371 +3.5: 32 too pink to too green!

Hi Amy

What a dive :shock: Looking at her SS, she does seem to like the "high-board" on occasion :smile:
 
Re: 12/19 Papaya AMPS: 371 +3.5: 32 too pink to too green!

There wasn't a problem with the blood - I know it can look that way, because she gets some erratic numbers. That's just my cat. Often when she goes that low I test every 15 min and can see the numbers slowly coming up.

The low numbers stuff has been magneted to my fridge for the last month . . . I handle the lows with moderately high carb food at first plus a little bit of honey, just didn't have time to type the details in the first post because I had to recheck her around trying to get ready to go out shortly. She seems to need the honey because even the higher carb food doesn't move her numbers much esp. this early in the cycle.

I just retested at +4 and now it's up to 13.2. Obviously I did a little too much honey, but I suspect that will wear off again. I'll be at the vets in another 1/2 h so will get another reading there.

And now I need more sugar on my oatmeal because I'm shaky from the stress :roll:
 
Re: 12/19 Papaya AMPS: 371 +3.5: 32 too pink to too green!

FWIW, I use honey by the drop -- usually 2 - 3 drops to bring Gabby's numbers up.
 
Re: 12/19 Papaya AMPS: 371 +3.5: 32 too pink to too green!

I don't think I've visited before, but WOW...that is QUITE a drop! It sounds like you've already got some experience under your belt with those low numbers - glad to hear it.

Welcome to LL!
 
Re: 12/19 Papaya AMPS: 371 +3.5: 32 too pink to too green!

I know it's hard to think a few drops of syrup/honey can have such a dramatic effect -
I usually overdo it too :oops:, but your suspicion is usually correct... it doesn't last when kitty is on a mission ;-)
 
Re: 12/19 Papaya AMPS: 371 +3.5: 32 too pink to too green!

Looking at your spreadsheet, it looks like it's time to reduce the dose to 1.25. It shows you did that on the 16th for a couple of cycles, nut then bumped back up to 1.5? Probably when you saw those two days of really high AMPS numbers? If you reduce, even if you get higher numbers at first, try to stick with the dose for a few days. If those "blacks" are due to bouncing caused by the green numbers, they'll go away on their own. Your mid-cycle numbers indicate "reduce", especially a number in the 30s.

Carl
 
Re: 12/19 Papaya AMPS: 371 +3.5: 32 too pink to too green!

Thanks, Carl. Yes I think I should have been more patient with the 1.25. It was just hard to see those blacks. But after this morning's dive I will definitely be reducing. I happened to have a vet's appt this morning, and he was definitely for reduction. He actually suggested I might want to skip the PM shot - but I'm not planning to do that as I know the numbers will be up again. He probably has to suggest that for people who are not monitoring so closely, for safety's sake. Anyway at the vet her BG was down from the honey bounce, to 7.1 at +5.

@ Bruce - yup, it's hard to ration the honey when I'm scared! But compared to the first time I got a scare from really low numbers, I am learning more about how to just feed a bit at a time - I do 1/4 tsp of honey instead of a tablespoon, at least!

Hi other-Amy, thanks for the welcome, and for the suggestion of drops of honey, Siene.
 
Re: 12/19 Papaya AMPS: 371 +3.5: 32 too pink to too green!

Hi guys, dont think I've been to your condo before so welcome from us! And yes, that was quite the dive this morning .. bet the vets eyes pop at that :lol: have a great day guys!
 
Re: 12/19 Papaya AMPS: 371 +3.5: 32 too pink to too green!

Amy,
It's not too late to ask Santa to leave a new pair of "patience pants" under the tree! :lol:

Carl
 
Re: 12/19 Papaya AMPS: 371 +3.5: 32 too pink to too green!

I agree with Carl. It can take a few days for a bounce to clear after low numbers, so I would reduce to 1.25 and don't even think about increasing before giving that dose a few days to settle out. :mrgreen: The bounce may be ugly, but we need to see if it will clear out on its own. My guess is that it will.

Glad you got that test!
 
Re: 12/19 Papaya AMPS: 371 +3.5: 32 +4: 238 +5: 128

Hi Peter! It's funny you should say that, because I did get the sense I had the vet's more-than-full attention this morning. He and a tech were both poring over my spreadsheet. I think he's kind of enjoying the challenge of being involved in this.

Somehow the vet reaction today reminded me exactly of the look on the face of a doctor in Taiwan once when he took my temp and saw I had an over 104 deg F fever, and called his nurse over to look at the thermometer too lol.

Hey Carl - I am Christian, but I actually don't celebrate Christmas. But I'll work on the patience, esp. with everyone here to remind me ;-)
 
Re: 12/19 Papaya AMPS: 371 +3.5: 32 +4: 238 +5: 128

Thanks, Libby, I'll grit my teeth and wait out the bounce. The +3 test was totally thanks to Carl's suggestion a few days ago, and boy was it a lifesaver again today.
 
Re: 12/19 Papaya AMPS: 371 +3.5: 32 +4: 238 +5: 128

Amy,
Well, we won't consider this a Christmas present, but they are yours to try on...



:lol:
Carl
 

Attachments

  • patience pants.jpg
    patience pants.jpg
    18.2 KB · Views: 397
Re: 12/19 Papaya AMPS=371 +3.5=32 +4=238 +6=126 PMPS=563

Wow, 563? I think that makes Papaya the bouncer of the day. ;-)
Even though the number is high, every kitty clears bounces on a schedule known only to them, so the +3 idea is still a good one.
You can also see by the numbers that the honey pushed her up quick, but it also wore off and her numbers were back down somewhat a couple of hours later.

Carl
 
Re: 12/19 Papaya AMPS=371 +3.5=32 +4=238 +6=126 PMPS=563

Sooo glad to know we're "special" :?
After today's numbers, I will assume nothing! I am planning to test in a couple hours at +3 and will post the numbers as soon as I have them. Meanwhile I'll put on my Patience Pants . . .
 
Re: 12/19 Papaya AMPS=371 +3.5=32 +4=238 +6=126 PMPS=563

It's an impressive bounce. (I'm not going to say it's not the biggest bounce we've seen since I don't want to throw the gauntlet out to Papaya as a challenge.) It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear. Hopefully, Papaya will take her time clearing the bounce and you can get a good night's sleep.
 
Re: 12/19 Papaya AMPS=371 +3.5=32 +4=238 +6=126 PMPS=563 +4=

+4: 272; at this point I won't complain about yellow. It looks like she's coming down pretty well, but not alarmingly fast. She's quite contentedly sitting here grooming so I think she's feeling well, too.
 
Yellow is much nicer to look at, isn't it? Looks like it might not be a long lasting bounce.

Carl
 
Hi Amy

Sorry I didn't get to welcome you yesterday. Looks like you have been seeing all all colors lately.

I really like to see members always get a +2 if their cat is on lantus. If the +2 is much higher then the preshot, it's probably going to be a quiet cycle. If the +2 is similar to the PS, then you should be prepared for a typical, active lantus cycle where numbers will come down. If the +2 is much lower than the PS, you should be prepared for an early drop and very active cycle.

You may see some more diving for a few cycles as any given dose can affect up to six subsequent cycles due to the depot.

Glad you are with us and please ask questions.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top