12/19 Webster AMPS=409+2=416+4=355+7=376+11=346

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Going down - both BGs and blood ketones! :cool:
How is Webster today?

All 5 p's are present. His appetite has not been as strong as its been in the past few weeks. I feed him 4 small portions per meal and he usually inhales them within seconds and follows me around the house all day begging for food.

Today, he's been finishing his portions just before the feeder advances, so he's eating but at a slower rate. I'm hoping that his usual ravenous appetite is simply subsiding.

All else is normal. He took a good long nap during the day today.

Thanks for asking Sandy.
 
I"m glad he's eating. I hope his appetite will stay strong. How are his ketones later today? He's pretty flat BG wise.

Come down, Webster....slow and easy.
 
Marje and Gracie said:
I"m glad he's eating. I hope his appetite will stay strong. How are his ketones later today? He's pretty flat BG wise.

Come down, Webster....slow and easy.

Thanks Marje.

His appetite was a bit stronger this morning (12/20). He at all of his meal portion in one sitting as he has been doing.

I tested his ketones twice yesterdays and they were at 2.1 & 1.7. These seem to be improving as well as his Bg's. They both seem to be trending downwards, towards the 200's. Paws crossed. :cool:

I'm starting to run low on ketone strips and couldn't find any at Walmart so I'm trying to be more conservative with the use of the meter strips. With about 7 left, I'm going to look into getting more today. Plus, at $2 each, the cost of strips in addition to all other supplies and vet visits is really starting to add up. I know that its better than paying for a hospital visit but it's getting to the point where I'm going to have to start to pick and choose where I'm spending money.
 
julie & punkin (ga) said:
I'm seeing a 1.7 ketone test there just before pmps tonight. Glad he's under 2 now. that's good news - and progress!

Yes indeed. 1.7 and 2.1 sound a lot better than the 3.4 that we saw the other day.

I understand that this can change quickly and will continue to monitor. I believe that the additional insulin is really helping to knock back both his bgs and ketones.

I would really like to up him 1/4u to 1.50 to help drive off these ketones but I'm afraid that after only 3 cycles the full effect of the increase to 1.25 are not completely showing.

Increasing his dose really seems to be a catch 22. I don't want to raise his dose too fast because I might overdose him yet time is not on my side right now and the longer that I wait to raise, the greater chance of ketone development.
 
Sandy and Black Kitty said:
julie & punkin (ga) said:
I'm seeing a 1.7 ketone test there just before pmps tonight. Glad he's under 2 now. that's good news - and progress!
Indeed it is :cool:

PM+5.5= 230 . . easy does is Webster!

I wasn't up late enough to see how that cycle played out but looking at this mornings numbers, it seems like he had a nice little curve last night.
 
Based on the night before, he could have gotten into blue late last night. Let's see how he does today, fourth cycle, before we decide to raise. Raising after four cycles with yellow and a tiny bit of blue nadirs would be aggressive but we want to stay ahead of any issues with ketones.
 
Marje and Gracie said:
Based on the night before, he could have gotten into blue late last night. Let's see how he does today, fourth cycle, before we decide to raise. Raising after four cycles with yellow and a tiny bit of blue nadirs would be aggressive but we want to stay ahead of any issues with ketones.

I agree. Sounds like a plan.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top