12/19 Tessa AMPS 251 +2 176 +4 265 PMPS 308 +2 258

tessa's mom

Member Since 2022
Yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-303-2-205-4-108-6-217-pmps-327-2-305.271988/

The test this morning was a bit easier, I changed to a different lancing device and that seemed to work better for getting enough blood but the top is wider so it's harder to aim. I need to find a device with a clear top or find a good way to mark the center of the lancing device I have so I can aim better.

Bad news - we definitely won't be able to get a new Libre on her today unless we put it on ourselves and we don't have any vetbond yet so we can't do that. The vet will be closing early today, earlier than my husband or I get off work and neither of us can take the day off or leave early unfortunately. My husband does have tomorrow off though so as long as Costco pharmacy has a Libre sensor in stock, we should be able to get one put on early tomorrow.

Unfortunately this means that she's stuck at 1.5u for another day though because I'm too chicken to increase her dose without the Libre.
 
Your aim will also get better with practice. Even without a clear top/mark to see the centre of the lancing device :)

Thank you! She definitely seems to do better when I only have to poke her once so hopefully I can get this down quickly.

She was at 176 at +2, should I get a test at +4 or would I be ok just keeping an eye on her today?
 
Yes. Feed at +3 and get a +4

Thank you!

Her +4 was higher than her AMPS which seems weird. I'm assuming that she needs to go up to 1.75u but I would like to wait to do that until she has a new Libre sensor because I'd like to limit the number of times I have to manually test her, if possible.
 
Costco is out of stock of the Libre sensors. :( I can't decide whether we should have the prescription transferred or not. It's only $37 from Costco vs $70ish from other pharmacies. We can afford it but we'd basically be paying double the price to get it a couple days sooner. But my husband is only off work tomorrow and Tessa needs a dose increase so we probably should transfer it.

Does anyone know if the Libre free trial coupon works for pet prescriptions? I just found it when I was searching for coupons.
 
I haven’t tried the free trial yet myself (just haven’t had the time), but I hear that to do so isn’t hard. It’s just designed for humans, so when you go to the Freestyle website and sign up for it, you have to put the patient info as though they are a human child, not a feline one. I guess they don’t really check?

I suspect it would have to be for the Libre 2 or 3 though. The 14-Day (the one Jack has right now) wasn’t approved for children, so it might give you trouble there.

I wish there was a Costco nearer to me!! That savings would pay for the membership in like a month!
 
I haven’t tried the free trial yet myself (just haven’t had the time), but I hear that to do so isn’t hard. It’s just designed for humans, so when you go to the Freestyle website and sign up for it, you have to put the patient info as though they are a human child, not a feline one. I guess they don’t really check?

I suspect it would have to be for the Libre 2 or 3 though. The 14-Day (the one Jack has right now) wasn’t approved for children, so it might give you trouble there.

I wish there was a Costco nearer to me!! That savings would pay for the membership in like a month!

I just joined the Freestyle Libre for Dogs and Cats group on Facebook and many people on there said that they get theirs at CVS for about that price. You just have to ask the pharmacist to look for discounts apparently?

Costco must have gotten a shipment after they said they were out of stock because my husband just texted to say that the Libre is ready for pickup! :D

I'm considering putting this one on myself, I've been reading posts on that Facebook group and it seems like it's not too terribly difficult and they are getting the full 14 days even without vetbond (they actually highly discourage the use of vetbond!) so I might give it a shot.
 
It may depend on your cat. Jack’s barely stays on with Vetbond - at least once he starts messing with it. If he’d leave it alone it would stay on better… when he was first feeling more sick and mellow, it stayed real good with just a couple drops of the glue, while still coming off nicely when done. (It’s harder to remove nicely when you over-glue, which I admit I have done in desperation.) I know some people use a shirt to help too, but I don’t think Jackson would appreciate that very much at all. (Although if he starts yanking at it again, I now am prepared to try it - literally; I have bought a harness with wide back pad that should cover the site, while hopefully freaking him out less than a full shirt.)

I would make sure to watch some videos of placement before attempting it. That made a big difference to me, And Re: my notes from before. Mistakes I have made, heheh.
 
It may depend on your cat. Jack’s barely stays on with Vetbond - at least once he starts messing with it. If he’d leave it alone it would stay on better… when he was first feeling more sick and mellow, it stayed real good with just a couple drops of the glue, while still coming off nicely when done. (It’s harder to remove nicely when you over-glue, which I admit I have done in desperation.) I know some people use a shirt to help too, but I don’t think Jackson would appreciate that very much at all. (Although if he starts yanking at it again, I now am prepared to try it - literally; I have bought a harness with wide back pad that should cover the site, while hopefully freaking him out less than a full shirt.)

I would make sure to watch some videos of placement before attempting it. That made a big difference to me, And Re: my notes from before. Mistakes I have made, heheh.

Abbott is sending me a replacement for the one that came off early (I filled out a form on their website, didn't even have to call anyone!) so I'll try with that one in 2 weeks. If it comes off early then it won't be the end of the world since it would have been essentially free. My plan is to use skin tac and apply the sensor, then cover with Tegaderm. The Tegaderm will be my early warning sign that she's likely to get the sensor off and I can put a shirt on her or something.
 
You must have a pretty big area shaved, to be able to use Tegaderm. If you have enough skin to stick to, not a bad idea. I admit, I tend to shave just enough area for the sensor itself… I wouldn’t have a place to really attach any kind of covering unless I widened the area a lot. Tegaderm is pretty gentle though, and something that doesn’t try to take skin and hair with it would be nice.

If you end up trying it that way, let me know how it goes.
 
Back
Top