12/19 Morgaine AMPS 174,+6 167 ??

Status
Not open for further replies.

skybar22

Member Since 2010
yesterday

Getting this post up late today.

Morgaine is a bit elevated but she is doing better and has been using her box. I did contact Beth and she basically believes that I need to neutralize the bedding completely before the behavior will be eliminated. As long as Morgaine can smell her own urine, she will continue to pee there. She has used the same spot. So, if anyone knows of a super duper neutralizer, please let me know. I will soak the spot with my peroxide solution again and have ordered something called F.O.N. as well as Feliway spray and diffusers.

Question: I have to have a medical procedure done in january and I will be gone all day, for a full cycle. I can leave food in Morgaine's feeder but is it best to just skip the shot for that cycle? One never knows with the type of procedure I am having done and I may end up spending the night in the hospital. It is an arterial blockage in my abdomen so they go in, much like blockage to the heart and do an angioplasty or use a roto rooter type device to open the vessel. Long term type 1 D is a real challenge for me. This artery feeds the right leg. In any event, I have had this done before and was home that night but the Dr. wasn't sure. So, she may end up missing 2 doses but I can get a friend to come by and feed her and clean the box. So, what do you experts suggest as the best course of action.

I am so far behind with reading condos and just want you all to know that I am thinking of you and wishing everyone here my very best. I've been a little preoccupied but I am doing okay and will try to keep up with you all and your wonderful kitties whom I hold close in my heart.
 
Of course I don't have any advice. That procedure sounds intimidating! I hope it all goes well for you. You'll let us know when you are going to have it, won't you? You know we will all want to send the appropriate vines.

I'm glad Morgaine is using her box now.
 
WOW...sending you the best of thoughts for your procedure...

I would imagine that folks will suggest you wait to see where her numbers are closer to your surgery date...

but I would lean toward skipping if she is in good numbers...so that even if you are home you can have some recuperation time.
we skipped a few random shots with binks, and he got right back on track.

We just treated it like a furshot.

I have used 'Urine Gone Stain & Odor Eliminator" (it's an As Seen On TV product)...
it worked quite well...Binks had some minor issues on the carpet for a couple of weeks
after we lost his two best fur buddies within a week...he was pretty confused and grieving,
and now I know he was diabetic then as well
and neither the vet or I realized it was more than a grief reaction :sad:

Oxyclean is supposed to be good too.
 
I would also lean towards skipping. I am happy to come by and give her insulin.....like half the amount if you like just to keep some insulin in her. But it would be tough for me to hang out to check her and she probably
wouldn't let me anyway since I'm the mean lady that took her to the vetty :-D

Please let me know if there is ANYTHING I can do to help you during this time.
 
I didn't realize Morgaine was having pee problems again :sad: sorry to hear that. We have had good luck with Nature's Miracle, I think it's an enzyme-type product. You apply it and leave on for a few hours then blot it up (as I recall, it's been a while). I'm pretty sure I got it at Petsmart.
 
Linda, I will let you know when I get it scheduled.

Marje, thank you! I am not sure when I will be home from this procedure and if i remember correctly, he wanted me to stay ovenight last time but I convinced him that I could go home. I am going to see if I can get a friend to spend the night with me and I will then easily convince the Dr. to let me go home. As the time gets closer I will let you know if there is anything Morgaine may need but I'm pretty sure I can handle it all. The reason they always keep you in the hospital for several hours after this procedure is because they enter through the groin and you have to lie flat for a few hours while it clots. I wish I didn't know as much as I do, lol. I have had a similar procedure multiple times over the years.

Melissa, I used Nature's Miracle last time and it has a very strong smell but apparently it didn't eliminate the urine odor. I am going to buy new linens for the bed and wash what she pee'd on several times and let them sit in the closet for a long time and then wash them again. I have been reading about this issue and a vet suggested that you just get new sheets/blankets/bedspreads. My main concern is the new mattress on my bed. I will neutralize the area and turn it around so she can't get to it easily. Nothing leaked through as far as staining but maybe she can smell it. i can't smell a thing and I can't buy a new mattress.

Celi, thanks for your suggestions. I am leaning toward skipping the shot for her AM cycle and I should be home by the PM cycle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top