? 12/19 MICIO: AMPS 244 / 176@ +6 / 163@ +8.5

MISSY + Simone&MICIO (GA)

Member Since 2021
Yesterday: AMPS 390 / 344@ +7.5 / PMPS 248 / 310@ +6
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2890354/

Micio's BG did rise in the last couple of days (probably due to tooth infection and currently on antibiotics and meds). I did a .25u increase this morning but now for the first time I'm seeing a quick drop and not sure what dose to do at next shot time if numbers will go even lower...SHOULD I DECREASE THE DOSE BACK TO 3.25u, KEEP THE SAME 3.5u OR SKIP THE INSULIN?
@tiffmaxee , @Bron and Sheba (GA), @Wendy&Neko , @Diane Tyler's Mom ,
Thank you in advance.
 
No. Do not decrease. This is what you want to see. Normal bg on a human meter is 50-100. You want to see blue and green bg numbers.
 
No. Do not decrease. This is what you want to see. Normal bg on a human meter is 50-100. You want to see blue and green bg numbers.
I kind of panic as all of a sudden number decreased rapidly and, because of his "tooth infection situation", I was wondering if there was a different dosing protocol.
Going to test him again in about 40 minutes before meal and shot. Tnx again
 
Great to see those blue BGs. I agree with Elise. Do not reduce the dose.
How is Micio?
Micio's doing much better today, he just had dinner and ate the whole meal at once and by himself...what a relief! He still makes some "snoring" noise when breathing but definitely way less than yesterday, still can't figure out what happened on his throat after I gave him the meds to cause all the gagging and regurgitation of saliva even when not eating and he still can barely meowing :confused:
 
Meter variance is 20%. How soon after eating did you test? Up to 120 is normal and higher from food. Does she have any symptoms?
 
Meter variance is 20%. How soon after eating did you test? Up to 120 is normal and higher from food. Does she have any symptoms?
I tested her a bit over 4 hours after eating, I don't think she's having any symptoms though...Missy is 13 yrs old, she has IBD and been on 0.3 ml Budesonide for a few years (I'm currently trying to reduce the dose to .25 and see what happens); she's been on raw meat diet as well for almost 11 years, but I figured she could eventually get induced diabetes from steroids...I hope not
 
She’s in normal range. Maybe start testing once a week or month.
I will try! I wanted to get confident with testing with Micio first and today I was able to sneak on her while she was resting and warm and I did it...blood drop at first shot! Crossing my fingers she won't get diabetes, she's a calico cat and doesn't like being touched or handled at all...she's already sent me to ER once :(
 
You don’t need to test weekly if that’s the case. Maybe once a month unless you see signs such as drinking and urinating more. I would not have suggested any more testing until I read the budesonide has been given for awhile. Many cats don’t have a problem with it causing fd like prednisolone but it is possible.
 
Last edited:
What a relief to read that Micio is doing so much better and eating on his own! I hope you got some sleep last night too! :bighug:

RE: your civie Missy, fingers crossed it is just meter variance as Elise has said. Congrats to you for testing her and being proactive.
 
Back
Top