KPassa
Member Since 2012
Previous Condo.
:dizcat Oh, boy! It's been an insane week. Where to start? :dizcat
Last week, my brother's girlfriend's best friend ended up in the hospital in a coma for a few days, so his girlfriend drove home early from school and arrived last Friday (this is the reason my brother ended up not going snowboarding).
So, because of my brother's schedule, I bumped Michelangelo's shot time up from 7 am to 9 am over the previous few days before leaving mid-afternoon on Monday for my business trip. pc_work
Everything normal till Tuesday morning when my brother took Michelangelo's AMPS and he was 79, 89, and 86, so my brother didn't give him his morning shot. :thumbup (A similar thing happened twice the week before, resulting in me lowering Michelangelo's dose from 1.25u to 1u.) Then Tuesday afternoon (was that only yesterday??), my mother's husband (and my brother's sometimes-boss) had a heart attack and they induced a coma and hypothermia until this Saturday.
Because of that, my brother ended up in the hospital all last night and had to take over his boss's work today, leaving him completely unavailable for Michelangelo.
:YMHUG: Here's where things get awesome (if that's even possible): The friend I had trained when my brother was supposed to be gone immediately stepped up completely last minute and headed over to my house and tested Michelangelo and gave him his shot at around 9:30 pm last night. Then, this morning, my brother's girlfriend swooped in on the action and googled ear testing and insulin shots on youtube and tested him and gave him his morning shot at 10:45 am. (She would have given it at 10 am, but she wasn't sure what numbers to look for and was waiting to hear back from either me or my brother on whether or not to give Michelangelo his shot when his AMPS number was 314). :YMHUG:
I got home around 4:30 pm (about an hour ago) and tested Michelangelo at around 5 pm and he was at 60.
Now, I'm trying to sort through all the numbers written here-and-there on scraps of paper by various people at various times and the no-shot and the delayed dosages and everything else and figure out what the heck is going on and how much insulin I should be giving him at what time tonight, especially since I have to work tomorrow morning at 8:30, so I can't be giving him his AMS at 11 am! I was thinking of doing a reduced dose tomorrow morning at his original, usual 7 am time (that is, if he isn't too low again).
confused_cat If he's been on 1u for the last few days, hit 60 at his AM nadir (I think?) and had a skipped shot because of too low AMPS yesterday morning, then.... heck, I don't even know what to ask or where to start?!? Help!
:dizcat Oh, boy! It's been an insane week. Where to start? :dizcat
Last week, my brother's girlfriend's best friend ended up in the hospital in a coma for a few days, so his girlfriend drove home early from school and arrived last Friday (this is the reason my brother ended up not going snowboarding).
So, because of my brother's schedule, I bumped Michelangelo's shot time up from 7 am to 9 am over the previous few days before leaving mid-afternoon on Monday for my business trip. pc_work
Everything normal till Tuesday morning when my brother took Michelangelo's AMPS and he was 79, 89, and 86, so my brother didn't give him his morning shot. :thumbup (A similar thing happened twice the week before, resulting in me lowering Michelangelo's dose from 1.25u to 1u.) Then Tuesday afternoon (was that only yesterday??), my mother's husband (and my brother's sometimes-boss) had a heart attack and they induced a coma and hypothermia until this Saturday.
:YMHUG: Here's where things get awesome (if that's even possible): The friend I had trained when my brother was supposed to be gone immediately stepped up completely last minute and headed over to my house and tested Michelangelo and gave him his shot at around 9:30 pm last night. Then, this morning, my brother's girlfriend swooped in on the action and googled ear testing and insulin shots on youtube and tested him and gave him his morning shot at 10:45 am. (She would have given it at 10 am, but she wasn't sure what numbers to look for and was waiting to hear back from either me or my brother on whether or not to give Michelangelo his shot when his AMPS number was 314). :YMHUG:
I got home around 4:30 pm (about an hour ago) and tested Michelangelo at around 5 pm and he was at 60.
Now, I'm trying to sort through all the numbers written here-and-there on scraps of paper by various people at various times and the no-shot and the delayed dosages and everything else and figure out what the heck is going on and how much insulin I should be giving him at what time tonight, especially since I have to work tomorrow morning at 8:30, so I can't be giving him his AMS at 11 am! I was thinking of doing a reduced dose tomorrow morning at his original, usual 7 am time (that is, if he isn't too low again).
confused_cat If he's been on 1u for the last few days, hit 60 at his AM nadir (I think?) and had a skipped shot because of too low AMPS yesterday morning, then.... heck, I don't even know what to ask or where to start?!? Help!