12/19 Jackson AMPS 125 +3 41 +4 LO +5 79 +6 76 +7.5 157 PMPS 351 +4 272

Skye & Jackson

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...5-222-9-28-pmps-259-2-180-3-236-6-181.271995/

Lowest preshot ever. I probably would have angsted over whether to give it, if I’d been more awake/mentally functional when I did it. Instead now I get to angst over how he does on it. Crossing fingers he doesn’t go too low this morning!!

Good news: apparently maybe this dose is going to do some good after all, this time! He had a nadir of about 110 on his graph last night, only about half an hour before I woke up; I added it to the spreadsheet for bigger-picture nadir tracking.

Considering the nadir just happened, it is possible Jackson will climb enough again before the insulin really onsets to make my concerns over the preshot a non-issue - or he may not be able to climb enough. I would consider it a worthwhile experiment if I could stay home. Instead I have to work:it’s my cousin again who will have to try to watch him - in between the Monday madness at work (from home) she’ll probably have to also deal with…
 
I hope Jackson surfs safely today. A lot of the time when you shoot a lower number they don't drop as much. They just surf. :bighug:
 
So I was hoping. Apparently in vain today. He scanned 41 on the Libre at +3, and is currently running at “LO”, which is anything under 40 ( probably in the 50s in reality based on prior tests against the Libre at numbers not quite this low). My cousin is panicking and plying him with honey, Party Mix, MC food because I don’t have high carb at the moment, and even glucose syrup. He is eating well, acting hungry, but nothing is bringing him up. I’m not home and can’t do a manual test. So far he has no symptoms.

Any advice other than what is already being tried? Other than an ear stick, because my cousin is too afraid to try.
 
How long has it been since honey? General advice is to give some honey and then wait 15-20m for it to kick in. What’s the reading now?
 
Honey was over an hour ago now. Still reading LO right now, under 40 (per Libre). I WISH I could get a blood test, I have no idea how far under probable-60 he really is. My cousin is giving him straight up fast acting glucose and he’s still not registering above 40.

And very shortly I’m going to have to go in the IV room here at the hospital and will be TOTALLY incommunicado for 2 hours or more. During which time all I can do is pray.
 
At +4.5 he is now finally reading 41 again. No idea if it will drop again.

Breaks my heart to admit it but there’s nothing else I can do right now. I have to go save some human lives. I’m taking the 911 off the thread. :arghh: It’s just up to him now…
 
Glad your cousin is there to have eyes on him! I hope he bounces back up while you’re incommunicado!
 
Unfortunately she will have to leave him for a good half hour now too. She has to take a meeting. She has to keep her job and so do I. (Cry)
 
Your cousin is doing right. As long as he keeps eating, the bg should surf even if it's a low surf. Keep monitoring him to see if he acts bright and normal. If monitoring is not available then leave some MC food out. Glad to see Jackson has come to a cooler color panel.
 
Just got out of the IV room and got an update, he’s now “76 and sassy”. Lol. Was 79 30 minutes ago. He seems to have stabilized. Thank God! I don’t know exactly how much carbs he got in total, but I think it was a lot. But he’s okay! :cat:

Here I was worrying that 1.25 units wouldn’t work for him, because that was where his reductions failed last time. :rolleyes: Well, I guess he’s making more progress, because now he gets to reduce to 1.0!

Looking at his spreadsheet… I can hardly believe this last week! Pinks and reds for months, and all of a sudden it’s yellows and blues and even greens! Even his bounces are yellow! Only two weeks ago he was nearing 500!

Is this kind of sudden breakthrough normal? I’m happy whether it is or not, just wondering!

Now, he just needs his greens to stabilize, stay in the safe range…
 
Last edited:
Congrats on the reduction! Glad your cousin was able to get him back up. She did good! I agree with Elaine, even if his numbers were still low he was likely surfing low and not dropping more, though it has to be nerve-wracking not to have a real number. The more time he spends in greens, the more his liver/pancreas will heal and you’ll see him start to respond more and more.
 
I would just prefer he stay in higher greens, especially when unattended! Lol.

Yes, having real numbers would help the anxiety level, if I could see if/that he really was staying above 50… Then again, I’d probably only get a couple of tests in before he just wasn’t having it anymore, anyway. Still, would be better than nothing. He wasn’t symptomatic other than very hungry, so that was a good sign at least…

I am happy however that he is healing. I was starting to worry if he ever would, as much red as he was showing just a couple weeks ago.
 
I would just prefer he stay in higher greens, especially when unattended! Lol.

Yes, having real numbers would help the anxiety level, if I could see if/that he really was staying above 50… Then again, I’d probably only get a couple of tests in before he just wasn’t having it anymore, anyway. Still, would be better than nothing. He wasn’t symptomatic other than very hungry, so that was a good sign at least…

I am happy however that he is healing. I was starting to worry if he ever would, as much red as he was showing just a couple weeks ago.
Kitties have their own agenda! When Biggie hit his breakthrough dose, he went from 2.75 down to .75 in the course of about ten days…for many cats there is a breakthrough dose after which they do start to speed down the dosing ladder…(lesson courtesy of @Bandit's Mom). Jackson may have hit that dose…time will tell!
 
He did this once before too - and then reduced too far, had to go up again, then back down. Looks like he may be doing a series of breakthroughs lol.
 
I’m not sure if it’s all the carbs today, or the bounce… maybe both? Probably at least partly carbs, since it was already ticking back down between +11.5 and +12. But, that preshot… I just hope it comes back down and doesn’t stay pink awhile again. (Then again, I have seen much worse up until very recently, and a bounce is a very small price to pay for him being okay earlier through his lows!)

He did get 1.25 units again tonight. Oops. In the insanity of tonight, here at the house, I didn’t get the extra pressed out of the preloaded syringe. I guess with a preshot in pink, it won’t hurt… 1 unit starting tomorrow morning instead, then.
 
I think I’ve seen people take reductions after an anticipated bounce but I am not sure and definitely not advising. Hopefully he will surf safely tonight!
 
I think I’ve been told to reduce right away, before. However, I am open to experienced advice! Hint hint… lol. I don’t want him to drop again, but also don’t want his body to get used to those higher numbers again either!

Going to see how tonight and tomorrow go before worrying though. There’s already early signs that he might not stay in the pinks.
 
I think I’ve seen people take reductions after an anticipated bounce but I am not sure and definitely not advising. Hopefully he will surf safely tonight!
I think I’ve been told to reduce right away, before. However, I am open to experienced advice! Hint hint… lol. I don’t want him to drop again, but also don’t want his body to get used to those higher numbers again either!
People following TR can "shoot through the bounce" which means you hold the dose for one more cycle after the one in which the reduction has been earned if the cat zooms to the moon. You don't want to do this for cats who are zooming down the dosing ladder like Biggie was at one point. With SLGS you would reduce immediately.

Congrats on the reduction @Skye & Jackson. Sorry I missed the excitement. :-)
 
People following TR can "shoot through the bounce" which means you hold the dose for one more cycle after the one in which the reduction has been earned if the cat zooms to the moon. You don't want to do this for cats who are zooming down the dosing ladder like Biggie was at one point. With SLGS you would reduce immediately.

Congrats on the reduction @Skye & Jackson. Sorry I missed the excitement. :)
Good to know holding the dose for a bounce is not advised for SLGS. Yes, Biggie wasn’t bouncing much at all by the time he hit his breakthrough dose so I definitely wouldn’t have done it for him!
 
Well, I accidentally gave one more dose of 1.25 units, anyway. I won’t make a habit of it; it was not really intended. Just running on autopilot for a minute or few… Good info to know, either way.

So far so good, tonight… I really hope it stays that way, because I am so tired I am about to pass out. (Short sleep last night plus a crazy day at work today and more chores and stuff upon coming home… I haven’t sat much at all all day heh. Really really sleepy.) But Jack is, so far, down to high yellows but currently on a fairly gentle slope.

Now I’m thinking more about it, I’m worrying, again (mildly this time, because, exhausted). I may just have to set an alarm to check him in a few hours, and go to bed in the meantime.
 
Back
Top