12/19 Frank PMPS 179/+2.5 113/+4 83/+5 79/+6 90/+7 103

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina and Boozle

Member Since 2013
Bouncy yesterday

Woke up this morning...He was 589. I am thinking today is going to be a bouncy day again. Went back to bed. Woke up four hours later, having skipped all morning tests, waited until his +6...and he ended up being 33. Wow? Teach me a lesson about assuming, why doncha, Frank?
 
Re: 12/19 Frank AMPS 589/+6 33

I think you need to add some karo to that, Tina, while you are waiting on the gravy from the store. I'd retest in 30 mins and stay on top of it.

I'm not sure why you raised the dose back up last night because he earned a reduction the night before and it looks like he's got some depot action here. If he comes right up, you can shoot the 2.25u tonight but if you are having to struggle all day keeping his numbers up, you might want to reduce to 2u. My gut feeling is this 33 is the 2.5u dose talking so you will likely be fine with the 2.25u dose but please don't increase the dose again so quickly. You don't want the depot to get ahead of you like it is today.
 
Re: 12/19 Frank AMPS 589/+6 33/+6.5 423

False alarm, apparently. False reading, maybe?

I didn't raise the dose. If my ss says 2.5, must be a typo. Got used to putting 2.5 in there. I will correct it now.
 
Re: 12/19 Frank AMPS 589/+6 33/+6.5 423

I mean...is there any possible way he could go from 33 to 423 in a matter of 30 minutes?
 
Re: 12/19 Frank PMPS 179/+3 113

I mean...is there any possible way he could go from 33 to 423 in a matter of 30 minutes?
Extremely unlikely (unless he was on a dextrose drip ;-) )

But when it doubt, poke again. You really had no idea what to expect though, and whenever a number is scary low, you have to react to it. Next time, just test again, and see what you get. Any time you see a number that just doesn't seem to make sense, a 2nd test is a good move.
 
Re: 12/19 Frank PMPS 179/+2.5 113/+4 83

Maybe since his drops are rather gradual, we'll see a nice even green tonight, rather than a drive off a cliff. :lol:
 
Re: 12/19 Frank PMPS 179/+2.5 113/+4 83

Looks encouraging right now. Much nicer than cliff diving. :smile:

Frank, here's the plan:
A little more of this -

And no more of this -

And just for fun, there's no need for any of this -
 
Re: 12/19 Frank PMPS 179/+2.5 113/+4 83/+5 79

hi tina!

i'm wondering if that 33 was a bad strip. Looking at his ss, if you ignore the 33 you've got a steady decline as he cleared the bounce - from the amps of 589 to the pmps of 179 to pm+5 of 79. that makes me think the strip was bad. it happens occasionally, although i wouldn't say often. sometimes if you don't get enough blood on the strip immediately it won't read it right.

anytime you get a number that makes you look like :shock: or scratch your head because it's so odd, retest it. i think it would be safe to say that this one probably was a false alarm. hindsight always lets us see more clearly what might have been going on.

we encourage people to always have supplies in case the cat does go low, though - plenty of strips (many people keep an unopened pack of 50 set aside) and gravy cat food or karo syrup. fortunately you didn't have a genuine crisis today without supplies.
 
Re: 12/19 Frank PMPS 179/+2.5 113/+4 83/+5 79/+6 90

I had kayro and HC food here. There just wasn't a whole lot of gravy coming out of it and I was afraid there wouldn't be enough in that one can. Now we have a full box of it. :lol: So I know we are fully prepared for another episode. Looks like he is surfing nicely on his own tonight. :-D
 
Re: 12/19 Frank PMPS 179/+2.5 113/+4 83/+5 79/+6 90

ah - gotcha.

one trick that people do is to open the can, then put the lid back on it and squeeze the gravy out. it kinda gets on your thumbs, but it does do a better job than anything else i've tried. i started out trying to use a spoon to kinda press out the gravy. the lid is much more effective! :lol:
 
Re: 12/19 Frank PMPS 179/+2.5 113/+4 83/+5 79/+6 90

anybody ever tried using a garlic press?
 
I opened the can the night before and put it in the fridge with a plastic lid... no can lid :? . I will keep that in mind for next time though.

lol@garlic press. I wonder if those weird jars of gravy would work...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top