Suzanne & Cobb(GA)
Member Since 2013
Yesterday
Julie and Ella (and Rusty, of course!), thanks so much for your encouragement last night. Once you pointed out we've only been doing TR for a month, especially after the possible overdoses from the vet and dry food, etc., I was much less discouraged, although I chalk some of that up to my not feeling well either!
Here's a recap of last night:
PMPS:395
+2: 433
+7.5: 65 OR 415
+10: 379
So, my husband took Cobb's BG at +7.5 this morning. He's (Cobb's daddy) does very well with the ear pricks and doesn't usually have a problem getting blood. Plus, the ReliOn meter won't read the BG if there isn't enough blood (something the iPet meter would, we think). So his first reading was a 65. He figured (based on history) that he had done something wrong so he did it again and it was at 415. That is well outside the 20% meter variance that we've discussed. I've taken two readings back to back within the last week and they were fairly similar so this is a bit confusing. Did something go wrong with the meter? Could the reading really have been 65? Given Cobb's history, I highly doubt it, but I wanted to give y'all all the information we have.
Also a few updates on Cobb's eating, behavior and litter box habits.
My DH is the one that changes the litter box (thank you pregnancy and toxoplasmosis fears, haha). He told me yesterday that he has used 1/2 the amount of litter that he had been using prior to us changing food and doing TR protocol. So that's good news, yes??
Also, Cobb has only been eating 1/2 of what I've been giving him in the mornings. I know I've been overfeeding, but he has seemed so hungry. So this morning I only gave him 1/2 a can, as opposed to the whole can I've been doing previously. Do you think his body is adjusting and he's not starving any more? I know we'd like to get it to 1/2 a can twice a day. We definitely aren't there yet. With the 1/2 can in the morning, we'll be down to 2 cans of the Friskies Special Diet a day. I'm thinking I may be able to reduce his 8pm feeding as well, although right now he is eating all of that.
Finally...behavior change. I usually rock the baby to sleep in his room. The past two nights Cobb has come in to the room and stood by the chair to get some love as well. (I'm always nervous because I don't want him using the baby's room as a litter box like he had been doing to our living room downstairs -- although that also stopped when we switched to wet food and we got obsessive about cleaning the carpet, which we'll eventually have to replace).
So although his numbers aren't reflecting it just yet, I'm guessing the 3 changes I mentioned above point to Cobb feeling better, yes? I know he's more than numbers, although I'd like those to fall in line as well. But as mentioned able, putting everything into time perspective, I'm much calmer and less frustrated about it now!
I'd love to hear your thoughts on the low reading at +7.5 this morning...
Julie and Ella (and Rusty, of course!), thanks so much for your encouragement last night. Once you pointed out we've only been doing TR for a month, especially after the possible overdoses from the vet and dry food, etc., I was much less discouraged, although I chalk some of that up to my not feeling well either!
Here's a recap of last night:
PMPS:395
+2: 433
+7.5: 65 OR 415
+10: 379
So, my husband took Cobb's BG at +7.5 this morning. He's (Cobb's daddy) does very well with the ear pricks and doesn't usually have a problem getting blood. Plus, the ReliOn meter won't read the BG if there isn't enough blood (something the iPet meter would, we think). So his first reading was a 65. He figured (based on history) that he had done something wrong so he did it again and it was at 415. That is well outside the 20% meter variance that we've discussed. I've taken two readings back to back within the last week and they were fairly similar so this is a bit confusing. Did something go wrong with the meter? Could the reading really have been 65? Given Cobb's history, I highly doubt it, but I wanted to give y'all all the information we have.
Also a few updates on Cobb's eating, behavior and litter box habits.
My DH is the one that changes the litter box (thank you pregnancy and toxoplasmosis fears, haha). He told me yesterday that he has used 1/2 the amount of litter that he had been using prior to us changing food and doing TR protocol. So that's good news, yes??
Also, Cobb has only been eating 1/2 of what I've been giving him in the mornings. I know I've been overfeeding, but he has seemed so hungry. So this morning I only gave him 1/2 a can, as opposed to the whole can I've been doing previously. Do you think his body is adjusting and he's not starving any more? I know we'd like to get it to 1/2 a can twice a day. We definitely aren't there yet. With the 1/2 can in the morning, we'll be down to 2 cans of the Friskies Special Diet a day. I'm thinking I may be able to reduce his 8pm feeding as well, although right now he is eating all of that.
Finally...behavior change. I usually rock the baby to sleep in his room. The past two nights Cobb has come in to the room and stood by the chair to get some love as well. (I'm always nervous because I don't want him using the baby's room as a litter box like he had been doing to our living room downstairs -- although that also stopped when we switched to wet food and we got obsessive about cleaning the carpet, which we'll eventually have to replace).
So although his numbers aren't reflecting it just yet, I'm guessing the 3 changes I mentioned above point to Cobb feeling better, yes? I know he's more than numbers, although I'd like those to fall in line as well. But as mentioned able, putting everything into time perspective, I'm much calmer and less frustrated about it now!
I'd love to hear your thoughts on the low reading at +7.5 this morning...