12/19 Buddha AMPS 121 -- prefilled syringe question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna & Buddha

Member Since 2009
Last condo ...

Good morning and happy Sunday before Christmas!

I have a quick question. I want to leave the house and not be back until after pmps. I know Lantus isn't supposed to be prefilled into syringes, but I have done so when shot time is an hour or less away. (My dh and I are most comfortable with this arrangement. I know he is quite capable and that I can be a control freak, but it works for us.) I haven't noticed any changes in bg due to prefilled syringes, but we haven't had one sit for for longer than an hour. Does anyone else out there bend the rules a bit too? Can I prefill 6 or 7 hours ahead?

Thanks!

Donna
 
Re: 12/19 Buddha AMPS 121

I don't pre-fill syringes given the info about insulin stability. However, if I have someone else shoot, it's a vet tech who knows how to measure a dose.
 
Re: 12/19 Buddha AMPS 121

OK. Given what you know about insulin stability, would length of time from filling syringe to using it be a factor?

I'm fairly new to Lantus. I was able to use the first cartridge to the last drop and well beyond the 28 day mark without an appreciable difference in potency. Buddha seems to be very sensitive to dose size though and just a drop in either direction can either mean pinks and reds or greens and blues.

Thanks again!

Donna
 
Re: 12/19 Buddha AMPS 121

Found this answer (courtesy also of Gabby and Sienne) to a previous queryby another fdmber:

"Aventis Pharmaceuticals does not recommend prefilling syringes with Lantus and storing for any period longer than needed for application. In addition BD states the following (9): “BD does not recommend that any of our syringes be prefilled more than a few minutes in advance of the injection. There are no conclusive studies to determine the safety or risks associated with this practice.”

Given that Aventis also recommends not using beyond 28 days or storing in-use carts in the fridge, I want to question this recommendation as well.
 
Re: 12/19 Buddha AMPS 121

I ran across this post too about Lantus storage and handling. It appears as if the prefilled syringe question was asked of, but not answered by a industry professional.

My gnp brand syringes claim to be latex free if that has any bearing on my question.

Thanks much!

Donna
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top